We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We landed at Canyonlands after getting frustrated with the outrageous prices that Moab hotels were quoting. There is something about $139 for a mediocre hotel room that can quickly send guests looking for alternatives. We were seeking an internet connection, a good shower, and a laundromat after several days of camping, and Canyonlands satisfied our needs. In addition, it is located right in town and very close to some decent restaurants. The showers were fine, the washing machines and dryers worked and the internet connection was fast enough for our reletively simple email needs. There is not much space between campers but we found the park quiet and peaceful. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Not a bad stop at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 401 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

They act like you should be grateful they let you stay there. They had mixed the sites up and asked us to move 3 nights in a row. When we complained to the manager and he was very ugly and not even apologetic. The management has let that rudeness trickle down to all the staff. The owners should look for a new manager.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canyonmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

We here at Canyonlands Campground worked hard to get this gentleman into our park at his request. When we took his reservation we explained the only way to make this work was to have him move more than once because we were almost sold out.
Two things happened when this gentleman arrived at our park. He belittled and berated our staff from the minute he arrived. Also, he forgot all about having to move around in order to stay in our park. After several days of his arguments and staff abuse, all of us here at Canyonlands regretted having tried to help this person in the first place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We just got back from a 7 night stay at Canyonlands Campground, and loved every minute of it. We loved it so much we added a extra 2 nts from our original 5 nt booking. We did this while we were there and it was no problem or hassle and they were very accomodating. We rented one of there cabins and it was just a perfect little home for our family of 4. It was nice to have hard walls to come home to at night. The little frig inside was very helpful to keep the babies milk cold...and the cabins also have a airconditioner and heater. the air came in very handy in the hot July heat of moab. Each space had a fire ring and picnic table. My in laws were right across from us in a tent trailer and it worked out perfect for them too. the bathrooms were ALWAYS clean and well stocked. That is always a welcome treat when you are camping.
The location of Canyonlands was perfect for us. After a long day of exploring the area, you could come back to camp, get cleaned up and walk right downtown. The walk to the main part of downtown where shops and restraunts are is only a 10 minute walk down the road. many other campgrounds were on the outskirts of town, which would of been more of a hassle for us. there is also a great city market a half block down which is a great little groccery store. The camp had a pool which was a nice treat in the hot afternoon and it was always clean and clear water.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely!! The only drawback is that the sites are close together. We were fine about this cause we were gone most of the day anyways. There is plenty of shade trees on the property to keep it cool too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinmja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We entered Canyonlands Campgrounds and had to have a fun little thrill when we drove right through a brook to get to our section of campgrounds, which were a few bucks cheaper because of their location farther away from the community bathrooms. At $33 a night, being right in the center of town—within walking distance of everything—and having the option of doing laundry was nice. This wasn’t exactly roughing it in the wildnerness.

The bathrooms were pretty nice for a campsite; it reminded me of a gym locker room at a nice college. Something electronic of mine needed to be charged, and the person at the convenience store of Canyonlands let me use it while I went out to dinner. Now that I think about it, what the hell was it that I trusted people so much to just leave it there?? The restaurants in Moab we went to also let us use their outlets to charge phones, cameras, etc. Nothing was stolen. No cockroaches. Friendly and helpful staff, though they close early (at least my permit was put in an envelope at the door)

It was June and very windy- our tent almost blew into the creek, even though it was held down by a cooler and other suitcases!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the back area, it is cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ShepGlennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is a cheap place to camp (tent) in Moab but not very pleasant experience. You're crammed in really close to other tents and set up on gravel. bathrooms were clean but tended to run out of toilet paper so bring your own just in case, pool was nice but small and crowded. The internet access was awful, you'd be on for 5 minutes and then the Tengonet service they use would drop access-we were there 3 days and the internet never worked reliably for more than a few minutes at a time. If you're only going to sleep here and stay away from the place most of the time, it's a cheap way to stay in Moab but we won't come here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This campground is great if you're not really looking for an outdoors roughing it type of camping. We stayed here just because the price of hotels and other rentals in the peak season is so high. I wanted inexpensive convenience more than anything.

We reserved one of the tent sites that has a partial covering (see the photo). Some sites are covered completely, some have a small covering like ours, and some are uncovered. This was great since it rained constantly for our two day stay. With a tarp, we could effectively cover both the picnic table and our tent- no worries about leaking in the rain. The surface of the camp sites is sandy, even under the coverings, so the ground was comfortable. There is a wooden fence between the tightly packed sites.

The showers and bathrooms were clean, much cleaner than many I have seen in campgrounds. There are 4 showers in the women's restroom, and they were a bit crowded in the mornings and empty most of the rest of the day.

The laundry was acceptable. Use the big dryers. They work faster than the small ones for the cost and you'll save a quarter.

There is definitely loud traffic noise at night, but our children slept through it. This campground is right in the middle of town. You pull into a gas station and take a driveway on the right side right into the campground. There is a high school behind it that you can see from the sites, but overall there is quite a bit of tree coverage so you don't feel like you're in a city, unless you listen.

The playground was great for my kids with 3 swings and a small play house. It's in an enclosed area too. They wanted to spend all of their time there (ages 3 and 1).

The only downside was an inconsiderate neighboring camper that was openly smoking marijuana outside his tent and smelling up the whole area. Since the camp sites are very close together it was troublesome for us. I tried to go complain at the office, but it had already closed for the night and he left in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bananalegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Overall the place was ok but it was impossible to upload all the photos I took because the internet was so slow.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.6 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 38 in Moab
1,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.8 mi away
Expedition Lodge
Expedition Lodge
#20 of 38 in Moab
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
0.5 mi away
Apache Motel
Apache Motel
#37 of 38 in Moab
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground

Address: 555 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range: $90 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground where you can unwind in unique accommodations such as cabins, high quality tent sites or in the comfort of your own RV. Enjoy the breathtaking natural surroundings of Moab with a variety of on-site amenities including a swimming pool, playground, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Canyonlands also allows guests to easily access both Arches and Canyonlands National Parks as well as downtown Moab's dining and shopping destinations. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience in the heart of Moab, look no further than Canyonlands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, PitchUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Campground Hotel Moab
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing