We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean place”
Review of Bowen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowen Motel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Eagan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great clean place”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Before arriving here, I was quite skeptical about staying 3 nights at the Bowen Motel - I was concerned why this property was priced so much lower than the surrounding motels - I felt there must be something wrong with it. When we arrived, I realized that my concerns were totally unfounded. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean room that is within walking distance to downtown Moab - the Bowen should work for you. There is no onsite laundry - but a very good laundry is located just around the corner. There is no onsite restaurant - but many great restaurants are just a very easy one/two block walk away as are Moabs many shops. The pool area is a little small - but it was clean and welcoming. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful! They took on the role of a concierge as they helped us arrange a Sunset Humvee tour that was fantastic. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! (Make sure one of your breakfasts is at 'The Jailhouse' just south of the Bowen -- incredible bacon!!!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for all the kudos. We are here to please and especially look forward to your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    302
    92
    37
    15
See reviews for
149
281
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a traditional motel at a great price. It is right in the middle of the main drag and you can walk to every restaurant and coffeehouse.

I would stay here again in a minute. And suggest you do the same :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkerman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind review and the recommend to others. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are looking for upscale, this is not the hotel for you. However, if you are looking for a motel in Moab that is clean, quiet and reasonably priced, this is it! The pillows are wonderful feather pillows, and the bed was quite comfortable. The hotel is convenient to shops and restaurants -- all are within walking distance. The desk personnel (Shanna I think) was great. I would recommend this hotel with no problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasadenanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing for what we are and offer, it is refreshing to see. Some people think we should charge what we do but expect the Hampton when they step inside. We appreciate your time for this review and be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerritos
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

One of the more affordable places to stay in Moab. Good clean room with a nice size fridge and micro. Only negative is the very noisy a/c. Too loud to leave on while sleeping but almost too loud to leave on at all. It was 100F when we were there and we needed it. Ice machine was broken but McDonalds was selling large bags for a buck so no prob.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangerinegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the review. I would like to point out that the A/C had a fast blower to keep you cool on those hot days but it is not noisy from being broken or anything. Most people don't really notice it but some do, I am just pleased you stayed cool. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The first night we had a room on the ground floor and were bothered by noise from other guests. Maybe we were trying to get to sleep too early as we had so much to do the next day. Many thanks to staff for changing our room. Second night on the second floor was very comfortable and the room was bigger. Air conditioner was quiet but needed because of street noise. Room had fridge but no microwave. Heated outdoor pool very nice after hiking around Moab's great parks.
Motel doesn't have breakfast but there a good breakfast place right next door. No laundry facilities but a laundry around the corner.
Good price, good service, clean and it is in Moab.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. I hate noisy neighbors too and at motels there is not much anyone can do about that unless we are notified, so I am happy you advised us and that you could be moved to a better location. I suspect you may have overlooked the microwave because every room has one. The road noise can be troublesome being on main St. but normally things are calm after 10pm. I especially thank you for noticing the good price, good service, and cleanliness. That is what we really strive for and have total control over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is where we chose to stay again while visiting Moab. Great price & good friendly service at the front desk. The room was very clean. It my be a bit older looking, but don't let that fool you. This is a great place that we will stay here again our next trip to Moab. I recommend this for a family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PokeSnaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Our room had a king bed, two recliners, 40 inch TV, fridge and micro wave. Good hot water and plenty of pressure in the shower. We were on the second floor, one room from the road. Thought there might be some problems with road noise, but we heard nothing. The room was fantastic and I would highly recommend it to anyone heading for Moab. All the other reviews were good about it and I agree. There is a small pool on the end of the building, just what you need after a day in the sun.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202, on the north side. The sun really does not shine in the windows and the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#23 of 35 in Moab
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen Motel

Property: Bowen Motel
Address: 169 N Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowen Motel is conveniently located downtown. Walk to all the great restaurants, shops, and outfitters for jeep or bicycle rentals, river rafting, hiking and much more. We are a few short miles from Arches National Park, and the hub for Canyonlands National Park and Dead Horse point State Park. Our goal is to provide friendly, professional service at a fair price. Choose Bowen Motel and enjoy your Moab vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bowen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen Motel Moab, Utah
Bowen Hotel Moab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing