We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen Motel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Reviewed June 15, 2013

older motel newly renovated, decent queen beds, fridge, microwave and satellite tv on 42 in flat screen. 5 minutes from the Arches National Park entrance. Bring your own breakfast they do not offer breakfast. They had the best price that I could find in Moab. This is not a chain motel but services equaled that of the value priced chains. Great location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsfirecrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you so much. You commented on exactly what we strive for, franchise comforts and independent prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 626 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

They were very helpful after a booking site screwed up my reservations. They were also the best deal I found in Moab for early June and their location is prime. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Best of all the air conditioner worked like a champ!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 213Beaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for the positive review, glad we could help out and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We chose it because it had the best/similar price in its category, and it is not a chain motel. Decent room with comfortable bed. Bonus: Big flat screen TV with dish network. Bathroom had a supply of high quality toiletries and the shower had good pressure and temperature control (important to me). Excellent location. One of the best breakfast places: Love Muffin Cafe is next door. The cafe is also good for high quality packed lunch sandwiches. (There are no eating places in Archer National Park). The other great place for breakfast: Jailhouse Cafe is only few minutes walk away. Minuses: Very noisy air conditioner. We stayed here 2 nights, and did not expect new sheets but our bed was not made. Floor mat was missing in the bathroom the next day. Very slow computer in the lobby. Took us 20 minutes to print our flight boarding passes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salk_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

I am surprised you rated low but yet you mention we have the best price in the category of value. My apologies for the minuses, I will be listening for the noisy AC, hopefully you let the office or maintenance know for the next guest. We will make sure to leave that bath mat next time and make your bed better (weird that it was not made)??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is in a great central location, with many shops and restaurants within walking distance. We stayed there while touring Arches and Canyonlands Natl. Parks. The room was very reasonably priced, very clean, and the beds were comfortable. The front desk staff were helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondie62884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we always appreciate them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 night as a start of our road trip along the national parks. The receptionist was not very nice but the rooms made up for that. Although they were not very big, they were clean, a good shower and a hair dryer but not enough towels (1 big for 2 people). The cleaning of the room was not very adequate (the bed was not made very nice). Te wifi was very good and although you are sleeping near the street, there is not a lot of noise in the rooms. Only the airconditioning makes a lot of noise. It is located near a lot of restaurants in Moab and near Arches and Canyonlands.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank slalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

I am surprised your rating was high since it seems not much was that great for you. We do normally give 2 towels by the way, also we do have larger rooms available and I will have a word with the desk clerk. Normally these things you mentioned are not an issue, must have been an off day and you have my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The town of Moab is the only town around for miles and just four miles away from Arches National Park and therefore it can be expensive. Bowen's was the most reasonable found on the internet and the motel did not disappoint. Facilities were good with large TV, coffee maker, fluffy towels and good selection of toiletries. Swimming pool was small but well maintained and lots of loungers around. Only issue was it's next to main road and all pedestrians have a view of you (not very private is all I am saying) but then most of the motels with pools also had them next to the road.
As the main road goes straight through the town then the traffic noise can be continuous but we had a room behind the reception building and were not disturbed during out two night stay. Also we were in the single story section and did not have to worry about 'heavy feet' from above. We did ask for extra pillows and these were provided with a smile. The motel is placed fairly centrally in the town and within a short walk you have retail outlets and many restaurants. I would recommend either the Moab Diner or the the Moab Grill which are both reasonably priced with great selections.
Looking at all the other motels that plaster the main road in Moab Bowen's was certainly the best valued for our stay.

Room Tip: Those on the second tier have to park their vehicles in the middle of the car park but those on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weekend_Roamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for the nice remarks, especially regarding the pool area. We have since thrown up some privacy shade. It is good to know you feel we are the best value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We actually stayed here 4 nights while touring Arches, Canyonlands and Dead Horse Point SP. Our room was large and the beds (2 queens) were the most comfortable of all the hotels we stayed in during our vacation in Utah. The toiletries were really nice and towels were fluffy. The TV was large and they had a great selection of channels. The room had a nice size refrigerator and a microwave. The only negatives I found was a noisy bathroom fan but we informed them on check out about it. Their pool was out of service but someone was working on it. If that is important to you I would clarify that it is working before booking a room. Since our room was on the end and had a wall in front of it our internet service was spotty. If we ever return to Moab I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for calling us a "gem" We are certainly glad you are appreciative of what was available. The wireless has since been beefed up and the signal is better. Also the pool is fully functional and my apologies for the downtime of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 37 in Moab
869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#23 of 37 in Moab
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
1.9 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen Motel

Address: 169 N Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $54 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowen Motel is conveniently located downtown. Walk to all the great restaurants, shops, and outfitters for jeep or bicycle rentals, river rafting, hiking and much more. We are a few short miles from Arches National Park, and the hub for Canyonlands National Park and Dead Horse point State Park. Our goal is to provide friendly, professional service at a fair price. Choose Bowen Motel and enjoy your Moab vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bowen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen Motel Moab, Utah
Bowen Hotel Moab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing