We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Day at the Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A group of friends and I were staying in Moab and wanted to spend the day at a spa resort. The staff at the Sorrel River Ranch couldn't have been more accomodating. Evan booked our massages, we were served drinks and food at the pool and the staff ran around finding books for us to read. I had an excellent massage by Tamara. The services are a little pricey but, worth it. The only sad part of the day was having to leave. Hopefully, we will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cboko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 833 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Most of what makes Sorrell a great stay is the location whereas the property itself is very good but not excellent, and certainly not at the price. It's a small property but it had a surprisingly institutional feel (perhaps because it is now run by a chain). It is an expensive, luxury hotel fitted out to look like a rustic ranch planted among some of the most spectacular scenery you will ever see.

Activities: we made the mistake of not having our own car. We took a car transfer to the ranch but this meant that we were stranded there and completely reliant on the hotel shuttle ($50 each way to Moab, the nearby town) and the activities desk, which is staffed by friendly people but the excursions are eye-wateringly expensive. A 3 or 4 hour trip into one of the nearby parks will cost you well over $100 per person. Worse, their revenue model is based on a minimum of 3 people on each excursion, so if you are only a couple you will also have to pay the price for the additional passenger, which means the price can be closer to $200 per person. And the guides are of variable quality; I was with a group of friends and we compared notes: some guides gave different groups completely different information / answers to the same questions. If I were to do it again I would have my own wheels and do the parks on my own. The activities desk is for people with more money than sense. Also, it is good to have your own car to be able to go into Moab for dinner (and some amusingly tacky shops), as the food at the ranch is fine and but I tired of it quickly. And it, too, is relatively expensive.

Sports: There are many mountain bikes available for use on nearby roads and trails and we loved that (especially as we had limited means of escaping the resort itself). There is a small gym room, basketball hoops, a ping-pong table, a comfortable pool, tennis courts and nice paths along the river for a bit of a walk.

Rooms:  The accommodations have a rustic design look but all the modern conveniences are built in. You will not be roughing it in the least. Our room faced the Colorado River and the dramatic mountains directly but the majestic mesas and mountains are all around the property so there really is not a bad view to be had. Some have larger front porches than others – we really enjoyed sitting on our porch in the early mornings and evenings.  It's the best living space you have.

Room Tip: Some have larger front porches than others - it's the best part of your living space. Ask when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A well run property. We stayed in a River room that was very large and rustically comfortable and elegant.

It is a long drive from Moab but being near majestic buttes and Mesa make the setting magical. Try and go when there is no moon as the sky is ablaze with stars. We sat out on our porch with a bottle of wine late in the evening.
This was our third stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDave175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Highly recommended for the friendly staff, delicious restaurant and fantastic location. 30 minutes outside of Moab, Utah, the Sorrel Ranch is a perfect located to explore Canyonlands, Arches National Park and Mesa Verde National Park. The drive to the ranch from Moab is an experience in and of itself. It is a working ranch in a beautiful valley surrounded by gorgeous cliffs and mesas. They have plenty of activities for children, including horseback riding, rafting, biking, tennis and hiking. Room are extremely comfortable with kitchenettes and porches overlooking the Colorado River. The best hotel in Moab, Utah.

Room Tip: Second floor accommodations have a lovely balcony overlooking the Colorado River, cliffs and mesa. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waveguy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed four nights at this wonderful ranch and easily wished we had four more. Somehow we managed to enjoy the pool, riverside dining, smores at night, evening horseback riding, the fitness room and mountain bikes and still have time to explore the Fiery Furnace in Arches National Park with Tyler (highly recommend) and the Island in the Sky at Canyonlands National Park. This ranch and Moab, in general, is such a hidden gem. The Peace Tree Cafe in downtown Moab was a great lunch spot. And when we did have time to relax back at the ranch, my favorite activity was just sitting in our porch swing overlooking the Colorado River and beautiful red and yellow mesas. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: River View Family Suites all have exquisite views was very comfortable for our family of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulA39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for for 4 nights at this beautiful ranch along the Colorado River for the 1st part of our Southern Utah tour, and so glad we did! We booked late, but the 3 of us (2 adults and 16 year old son) were fortunate to book a Double Mountain for the 1st 3 nights, and then were moved to a Deluxe King (plus rollaway) with fantastic views of the Colorado River, for the last night. Both rooms were great, but highly recommend river view rooms, although mountain view were absolutely fine. Although normally I do not like having to pack up mid-stay, the move was flawless and the staff arranged to move our belongings while we were out canyoneering in Moab, which were there when we got back late in the day! In addition to canyoneering (which was awesome and booked through Moab Adventures), we would also highly recommend doing the Westwater Canyon rafting trip through Moab Adventures, as well as the Fiery Furnace hike booked through the lodge. Andrew, the Sorrel guide who led this hike was incredible, and an Ohioan to boot. :) Although it is a drive to Moab (20-25 minutes), I would highly recommend this lodge over anywhere else in Moab, including Red Cliffs, where we ate for dinner only. Sorrel has a much more intimate "lodge" feel to it, and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If available, would highly recommend a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place has incredible views and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It's about 30 minutes out of Moab which we didn't expect, but after arriving we realized that the location was much better than anything in Moab. My husband and I are both experienced riders so their horse ride was a bit slow paced for us, but the trail and views were breathtaking. The restaurant was excellent and the drinks on the river deck were exceptional. Easily the most comfortable bed i've ever slept in at a hotel let alone a ranch in the middle of the desert.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are worth it. The light from the river dances on the ceiling in the morning, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
3 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,974 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
12.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 37 in Moab
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
11.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
11.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#10 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $474 - $820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst southern Utah’s spectacular scenery, Sorrel River Ranch Resort & Spa elevates the standard of luxury lodging in Moab, offering 160 acres of wide open ranch land along the Colorado River. Escape and discover extraordinary Arches and Canyonlands National Parks adventures, horseback riding, hiking, farm-to-table meals, rejuvenating spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing