We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No chemistry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tesuque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No chemistry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had heard a lot about the ranch but unfortunately did not read the reviews.
After staying at a resort very close by which had been a great location and a good value, we decided to stay at Sorrel River Ranch. We had planned on a few days but the arrival experience was kind of awkward. The place seemed empty and we asked for a complimentary upgrade to a river view. The answer was No. Although the place seemed deserted and it was 3pm the Front Desk Agent made it clear that check in time was only 4pm. I suggested she check her computer to see if a room was ready but she asked for 30 more minutes because housekeeping hat to put a pet amenity into the room. When we came back from a short walk I was asked by another staff member who had been present during our registration for the CC again. After the agent fiinally checked with someone in housekeeping we were able to get to the room. The room was nice but must have been located close to their septic system, so we did not use the porch. Why place someone into this room when occupancy was very low? I might have missed it but there was no path to the river, just bushwhacking it. The room server was very sweet but the rest of the staff seemed inexperienced or just not quite up to the room rate expectation. It did not help that we had just stayed at Dunton Hot Springs which was fabulous. We left after one night, too bad.

Room Tip: Not e 5 or e 6, too close to the Septic system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear HansL,
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your recent stay. Your arrival experience was not up to our standards. We apologize for your initial impression of the ranch and our team. We have discussed your comments with the appropriate staff. Please feel free to reach out to me at 435-259-4642.
Regards,
Linda
lcerra@sorrelriver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    178
    106
    64
    41
See reviews for
237
341
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It's hard to judge if a room is worth this price. However, the setting is so magical I'd do it again. Far from the road, on the banks of the Colorado River, with Monument Valley type rock formations, there is no other property like this. Our room was excellent and you get to have a good dinner with a view of all this. We ate dinner outside and then came back later for dessert outside. Some reviews complaint about the service. All I can say is that we didn't need much, but everyone we encountered was friendly and did what we asked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear JJO,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the food, and the views! Glad to hear you came back to enjoy one of our ranch made desserts!
We hope to see you again!
Regards,
Linda
lcerra@sorrelriver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The worst service in the best setting! Don't let the pictures fool you - this is a beautiful piece of property with a great layout and beautifully designed rooms and lodge. They also, at least during our October 2012 visit, had a great chef. As others have said, the prices are high, but MIGHT be worth it if you could get reasonable service. Front desk service was inaccurate, inconsistent, and rude, food service was VERY slow at best. Three miles up the road is a very similar property with friendly, competent, efficient service, an excellent resturant, and lower prices, in an identical setting. DON'T STAY AT THE SORREL RIVER RANCH RESORT unless you intend to wait on yourself. For the prices they charge service, working phones, and food delivered before your stay ends should be included. Owned and run by an LLC comprised of individuals who don't appear to care, limiting the ability of on-site (contracted) management to address the problems.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Spa River View Suite - second floor unit with stunning views over the Colorado River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were in cabin B5, a small room with a view of the walkway, road, and stables. The room had attractive furniture, but cramped space and, two small drawers for clothing, and reasonable hanging space. The toilet was so close to the bathroom door that someone sitting on the toilet would block entrance to the tiny bathroom. There was a small refrigerator, but a person sitting at the table/desk would block access to the refrigerator.

The food service was laughably poor. Our food came late, but without eating utensils. We asked for knives and forks, while our food was getting cold, but none came for ten minutes. We finally went into the bar area to get our own utensils. The waiter said he was filling up our water pitcher and couldn't get to the silverware.

The cost for the three nights, without food, was $1400, an outrageous cost for the value. Although the property is beautifully situated, we needed to travel 17 miles each way to get to Moab or Arches National Park.

Would stay in a motel in Moab next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brucie1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear brucie1660,
Thank you for taking time to let us know of your experience here at the ranch. We apologize for your food and beverage experience. Please know that we value your comments and have reviewed them with the team. Excellent guest service is critical and your experience did not mirror what we are trying to acheive. Appreciate the feedback.
Regards,
Linda
lcerra@sorrelriver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
302 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We drove out from Moab for dinner at this hidden spot along the Colorado River. The 17 mile drive was itself beautiful in the late afternoon. The ranch is located along the River and the facilities are well kept and inviting. The restaurant is upstairs where you can choose to sit inside or outside. Either way you have great views of the river and cliffs. We sat outside and enjoyed the quiet of the area. We split the Elk sausage appetizer which was delicious and spicy. Our entrees of duck & lamb were excellent; however, my duck was a little cold. The wine list is VERY limited which was a disappointment for such a nice place. Service was great up until the end when it got slow even though it was not a busy night. Regardless, we would return to enjoy this peaceful spot again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear FreedomBus,
We are glad to hear that you appreciated the peacefullness here at the ranch! You will be happy to know that we are reworking the wine menu as that has been work in progress pairing our wines with new menus. Appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We hope to see you again!
Regards,
Linda
lcerra@sorrelriver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The setting is spectacular. The staff are very friendly, yet respect your privacy and realize one comes to the ranch to get away. The rooms are very spacious and clean. I think the price is a bit high, but that actually keeps it exclusive. It is worth it to be surrounded by like- minded neighbors. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Kudos to the Chef for a beautiful presentation. Overall a wonderful experience. We hope to come back next year.

Room Tip: We had a river front room. It was wonderful to wake up and sit on the front porch with my coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Jeannie,

We appreciate your time in letting us know about your stay. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the scenery, meals and privacy! We hope to see you again, and thanks for posting!

Regards,
LInda
lcerra@sorrelriver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a disappointing experience! I would not recommend this "resort" to anyone. The service was terrible and the food worse!! Do not be fooled by the glossy photos, the marketing materials are outdated and unrealistic.
The river was pretty and the property has so much potential, they must have lost some key management and staff recently. Very unfortunate.

Room Tip: Stay closer to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michelle y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Deara MichelleY,

We are very disappointed in hearing about your stay here at the ranch and that you would not recommend the resort. Please know that we review all comments with the appropriate staff, and I would like to hear more details on your stay. Please feel free to reach out to me at 435-259-4642. Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Linda
lcerra@sorrelriver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
3.0 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
11.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
11.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
11.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Property: Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#11 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst southern Utah’s spectacular scenery, Sorrel River Ranch Resort elevates the standard of luxury lodging in Moab, offering 160 acres of wide open ranch land along the Colorado River. Escape and discover extraordinary Arches and Canyonlands National Parks adventures, horseback riding, hiking, farm-to-table meals, rejuvenating spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing