We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, perfect for Moab exploring...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Spent 6 nights here in August with my wife and two teen daughters.

Hotel location is great, surrounded by majestic landscapes, and right on the Colorado River which cools it down despite 95 degree heat in the region.

Rooms very comfy, we had a family unit that had 2 bedrooms. Bathrooms could use a spruce up, but all in all, no complaints.

Letdowns were few, but worth mentioning: breakfast was unimpressive for a hotel that styles itself as a luxury resort, was frankly more three-star than five. Staff was also rather absent and not proactive at all -- for instance, at breakfast, we were never asked if we'd like anything else (it's a buffet, but still...); by the pool, every day, I had to go in and ask them to send someone out to get drinks and lunches... not the level of attentive care on expects in a luxury resort. Maybe it was the heat...!

Still, very enjoyable, great setting off point to explore all the magic of Moad and Arches National Park and all the other otherworldy landscapes in the area... and clearly the most comfortable place the stay for miles. But they could do better...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayKhoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 833 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

My wife and I just spent eight days at the resort and had one of the most "pampered" experiences of our lives. Granted, this was in December and near the end of the season, but the entire staff, including the chef, got to know us on a first name basis and treated us like family. The chef altered his recipes to meet some special dietary requirements I have and everything still tasted phenomenal. It was among the best food we've ever had anywhere. This was our fourth stay at Sorrel and we intend to keep coming back. We never get tired of the spectacular scenery or service. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorrelRiverRanch, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to know our staff. I will pass along your feedback to the culinary team, as I’m sure they will be thrilled to hear your kind words. We hope you continue to make Sorrel River Ranch your home away from home in Utah! Please contact us at lcerra@sorrelriver.com if you have any additional comments or questions.

Best,
Sorrel River Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Wow. We were staying at the Red Cliffs Lodge (great hotel) and decided to go here. Make a reservation, esp. in the off-season. Anyway, we were literally the only guests on site, but server Joe and Chef Andrew Powers treated us to a special evening. We're from Chicago and lived in NYC for a decade, and this meal would be at home (though locally-inflected) to either city. Beginning w/ an amuse, and going through chile poblano soup, lamb app, buffalo fillet (awesome hominy) and the truly inspired chile-encrusted beef filet w/ lingonberry reduction (I've had plenty of scandinavian and Mexican, and never woulda thought)...each was better than the next. Really, one could die happy after a hike in the Arches, a MTB ride, and this meal.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerrFaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEBS10, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you for sharing these comments regarding your experience at the River Grill Restaurant. We strive to create the best fine dining experience in Utah and beyond by using locally sourced ingredients and regionally inspired recipes, so we are glad you enjoyed your evening with us. I hope your trip to Arches National Park was as enjoyable as your visit to The River Grill, and I hope you will make Sorrel River Ranch your destination next time you venture to the area. If you have any questions about our resort or restaurant, please email us at lcerra@sorrelriver.com.

Sincerely,
Sorrel River Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The lodge and the location are amazing! We went there for Thanksgiving and everything has been perfect; maybe the restaurant is far too expensive for the food you get, food is too much elaborated, not simple; full breakfast considering the price should be included. Other than that, it’s a one of the best place where we have ever been. Don’t miss it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEBS10, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

I appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at Sorrel River Resort. I am sorry our onsite dining did not provide the value you were looking for – we will take your point into consideration when making changes to our dining offerings and menus in the future. On behalf of the entire staff, I am glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving at our resort. We try to make every guest’s stay special, especially on the holidays. I hope your next trip to Utah includes another visit to our resort! Feel free to contact us at lcerra@sorrelriver.com if you have any queries or further suggestions.

Thank you,
Sorrel River Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were very pleased with the room, the view was amazing and then we went to dinner!
The food was very disappointing. Not only was the service slow but the food was cold when it arrived and not worth the long wait. Very overpriced for the quality!!

Room Tip: The river view is worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEBS10, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent experience at our resort. Although I am glad you and your family enjoyed our River View accommodations, it’s clear our onsite dining did not measure up to your expectations or our standards. We set the bar high at our onsite dining venues, and we will work to correct the service and preparation issues you mention in your review. I apologize for any inconvenience and hope you trust us enough to make a return trip to Sorrel River Ranch at a later date. Please contact us at lcerra@sorrelriver.com with any additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Sorrel River Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

One thing is certain about this place: The location is stunning. All in all, we had a lovely time, but the resort would do well to give a little more attention to details. We had just small gripes that weren't a big deal (moldy shower curtain, broken shade) but in comparison to other hotels that charge similar prices, the service, the details, and the food weren't nearly up to par. What we had for dinner was quite good but breakfast was lackluster for the prices. (Stale pastries, remarkably inattentive service.) Here, you are paying for the absolutely splendid location, but don't expect anything near the service you might get at another similarly priced hotel or resort. Also, FYI, an 18% gratuity is included on the restaurant checks and the waitstaff do not let you know this when they set down the check, which felt just a bit disingenuous.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good things first....

Emily, the horse wrangler, was a terrific trail riding leader. Horses were terrific, including Frank and Greta! Summer provided a great massage!

Scenery and setting of the hotel is fantastic. Would be very hard to beat. Rooms, and river facing porch, were nice. However, the water heater (we think) and heating was very loud and noisy. Gas fireplace did not work. No small "niceties" such as flowers or chocolates (which you normally find in luxury hotels).

Service was not what you would expect from a "luxury" hotel, even during off-season. For example, at breakfast, asking for coffee - - the response was "...coffee service is in the other room....help yourself....". This included paper cups.... We had a Thanksgiving dinner, and the food quality was good. Atmosphere in the dining room was not special. Dark and cold.

Overall, we do not believe the Sorrel River was worth $450 per night (off-season price).

Let's hope the NYC absentee owner, and Small Luxury Hotels Organization, reads these reviews.......

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobZ788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEBS10, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sorrel River Ranch. I would like to apologize that aspects of your experience did not meet expectations. We value your feedback and strive to provide the best possible experience for each of our guests. We take pride in the comfort of our accommodations and dining service, and the loud heating system and subpar breakfast service clearly fall short of our standards. We will do our best to remedy these issues, and we hope you will consider a return trip to Sorrel River Ranch.

If you have any questions or comments about improvements we have made, please reach out to us at lcerra@sorrelriver.com.

Sincerely,
Sorrel River Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
3 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,974 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
12.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 37 in Moab
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
11.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
11.8 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#10 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $474 - $820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst southern Utah’s spectacular scenery, Sorrel River Ranch Resort & Spa elevates the standard of luxury lodging in Moab, offering 160 acres of wide open ranch land along the Colorado River. Escape and discover extraordinary Arches and Canyonlands National Parks adventures, horseback riding, hiking, farm-to-table meals, rejuvenating spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing