We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Up the Creek Campground
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Denton, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The days are hot, the nights average in the mid-50s, and the campground was extremely clean. The owners maintain the campgrounds very well. The showers worked and had an abundant supply of hot water. The camp sites had a sand base and plenty of picnic tables to go around. The owners made sure that loud noises after 10PM were at a minimum. Awesome place to stay within close proximity to Arches and Canyonlands National Parks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_made
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
30
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well maintained, very clean, enough shade, online reservation, well managed, location was great.
You have your own picknick table, multiple grills are provided throughout the campground.
This campground was one of the best we encountered during our trip through the South-West USA.
We asked for a spot in the shade during the reservation and our wish was fulfilled.
Great moneysaver at 30$ a night compared to the motels and hotels in Moab.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arches NP was full and I wanted to avoid the "campgrounds" that include noisy RVs and such. I found Up The Creek to be a nice, mostly quiet alternative with good showers/facilities. I didn't meet the owner, but spoke with her and she seemed friendly and helpful. Once the nearby Friday night high school football game concluded the campground was consistent with my needs. Just be aware, on the off chance you stay in the fall on a Friday evening with a home football game, it won't be quiet or dark until the game concludes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Up the Creek Campground is located right in town, about 2 blocks from the main road. It is a tent only site and you have to wheel your things to your campsite because cars aren't allowed back there either. Our only complaint is that the ground is very rocky so it was difficult to get the tent stakes in. We found pounding them in at an angle worked best. The campground bathrooms were clean and the showers are great. There is a very nice dish-washing sink provided and also 3 propane grills are available for camper use free of charge. The campground operates on the honor system - with payment for sites or ice put into a money slot - and is very quiet despite being in town. There is not a worker on site so just follow instructions on the welcome board and you will be just fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at Up The Creek Campground on a May weekend. The campground has nice facilities, including good showers and a convenient sink to wash your dishes. The setting is beautiful with a stream and a bike/walking trail nearby and big beautiful cottonwoods. We did hang out for awhile on our first afternoon there, and it was pleasant just sitting around.

If you are not the type to be able to handle noise, though, you may want to look elsewhere because this is in the city and you do hear sounds of the nearby roads and businesses. The campsites are fairly close together, so you'll be right next to other campers (and this place is probably full every weekend). Our first night we did have to endure the juvenile chatter and noises of some other campers nearby, but they must have all worn themselves out the following day because they were quiet the second night. There are quiet hours, but some folks are just not going to honor those, no matter where you go. This is not the fault of this campground per se - my only point here is that if you don't want to be in close proximity to other campers and you don't like noise, I suggest looking elsewhere. Make sure you look well in advance of your trip, though, because campsites around Moab get taken up quickly, at least on weekends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdie-bird-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Desert Island
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Caterpillars falling from trees above. Highway noise. Campers talking and laughing until 2:40 a.m., in spite of calls to please respect quiet hours. There seemed to be no one in charge. We filled out the paperwork, left the $$ in the pipe, and never saw an owner/manager. We didn't find a way to get help in silencing the bicyclists who kept most of the rest of us up. One couple slept in their car to get away from the noise. It's a lovely site, but not nearly as quiet from highway noise as other reviews suggest, and we do not plan to stay there again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpTheCreekMoab, Manager at Up the Creek Campground, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Yes, one will encounter creep crawlies when camping outdoors and the caterpillars are out in full force this April. For those planning on camping in April, I would suggest bringing some kind of shade structure to provide some protection from the caterpillars. Yes, one will encounter neighbors and noise when camping in a campground in a city. I would suggest bringing earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Though it may seem no one is in charge, Sue459 made no attempt to contact me. There is a place to leave notes (the pipe safe where she paid – pen and paper provided), and I take calls and check emails 14 hours a day. When contacted, I will quickly respond to concerns and problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Peacefull campground located just 2 blocks from city amenities (laundromat, stores, diners, brew pub). The site is very shady thanks to a large grove of cottonwoods (allergy sufferers beware). We visited in early May, unusually cool in 2011, but still had plenty of caterpillars around the site; nothing a gentle brush can't take care of.

Advantages:
* Hot showers
* Shared BBQs (gas provided by hosts)
* Bike racks next to facilities building
* No RVs (nice to not have to wake up to someone's generator noise)
* Tent sites large enough not to feel like you are encroaching on neighbour.
* Pocket-friendly budget allowed us to splurge a little on dining and save foodstuff for later camping
* streams runs next to campground

Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chepenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.4 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
0.3 mi away
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
10.7 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Up the Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Up the Creek Campground

Property: Up the Creek Campground
Address: 210 East 300 South, Moab, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small walk in tent only campground with showers and flush toilets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Up The Creek Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing