We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day Exploring the Area Around Moab” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deep Desert Expeditions

Deep Desert Expeditions
Ranked #22 of 61 Tours in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Based in beautiful and remote Moab, Utah, Deep Desert Expeditions offers a chance for everyone to confidently explore the remote deserts, canyons and mountains of the American Southwest.We offer full and half day guided hikes, archeological, photo, and scenic tours, as well as guided backpacking trips through Canyonlands National Park.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Day Exploring the Area Around Moab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We used Mike last year to explore Sago Canyon and the area around Arches, and we had a great time. This year we set up the date in advance of our Christmas & New Years 11 day road trip. Mike was very accommodating and stated he would set up something that would be fun around Canyonlands. We saw where Thelma and Louise drove over the cliff from the movie, the Nike Michael Jordan jump Cliff, Greenriver Overlook, and numerous petroglyphs. There was even a great herd of bighorn sheep that made themselves available for photos. The weather did not cooperate because there were gray skies, but the day was a lot of fun. Mike does custom tours and you will see a lot in one day versus staying a week in the area and finding places on your own. Mike will even tell you some of the stories about his adventurous hikes and rescues as part of a emergency response team in Moab. If you want to enjoy your visit to Moab book your tour with Deep Desert Expeditions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    1
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
175 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I did fiery furnace in arches. We have done hikes with deep desert in prior years, and once again the experience was excellent. Fiery furnace is a maze, not a trace of a trail, as you walk over rock formations. Mike is a veteran guide-part of Moabs search and rescue teams-not only do you get an intimate look at fiery furnace-but you get conversation and insight into a very unique area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpm0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Good as Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have used Mike several times, occasionally for fairly strenuous hiking. This time I had a bum knee and two retired friends who had never seen red rock.

He handled everything beautifully. I needed a lot of help to navigate the Fiery Furnace (a don't miss experience in Arches) and he gave to it me.

Mike is also involved in Search and Rescue, which is comforting just in case something happens (it never has on any of my trips with him).

He just got a Land Cruiser which handles 4 wheel drive roads extremely well.

His prices are reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Njal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Deep desert rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

my daughter, I, and three grandkids, took a guided tour with mike from Deep Desert expeditions in the fiery furnace area of Arches National Park. This was a fabulous experience, so much better than hiking alone, and much more intimate than a ranger guided tour. Don't miss this experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hibridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are so glad we decided to use Deep Desert Expeditions to tour Arches National Park Fiery Furnace. Mike was fantastic. We have two kids, ages 10 and 14, and this tour was a highlight of both of theirs. Thanks Mike!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Srogag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Desert Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Deep Desert Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing