We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Family Colorado River Rafting Trip with Sheri Griffith Expeditions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheri Griffith River Expeditions Day Trip

Sheri Griffith River Expeditions Day Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No place has captured people's hearts and imaginations like the mighty Colorado River, her canyons and her tributaries - the Yampa River, the Green River, and the Dolores River.Sheri Griffith River Expeditions is the premier whitewater rafting outfitter offering " A Touch of Class" to all of our river rafting adventures on the Green and Colorado Rivers since 1971.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overnight Family Colorado River Rafting Trip with Sheri Griffith Expeditions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This outfit exceeded all our expectations. Never has camping and rafting with kids been so easy. The guides were excellent - fun, knowledgeable, amazingly organized and good with kids. I traveled with my husband, three kids (14, 6,5) and my mother (70, and first time camper) and everyone enjoyed it. They have made these trips into an art and a science with thinking of everything you could want. Sand toys, smores, wine, etc. Fun and comfort combined. The service was so personal and we ended the trip wanting to go on another one right away! This trip was worth every penny.

Alice, Brooklyn, NY

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    3
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just finished an awesome trip with SGE last week. This was way beyond what I expected. SGE goes above and beyond in their desire to be the premier rafting expedition through Cataract Canyon. Everyone we met from SGE displayed perfect customer service.\

We initially booked out trip in the Winter (when I turned 50 and realized I had a lot of things I wanted to accomplish), we had called several other tour companies who either could not, or would not, accommodate our needs. One call to Kristi at SGE and she made everything come together. Can you have someone shuttle our vehicle to the pick-up point?? No problem! Can you accommodate a Vegan diet?? No problem! Will we have to pay for the air flight back if you shuttle the car instead?? NO!! A wonderful person to deal with!!

We drove into Moab the afternoon before the trip and hiked through Arches National Park - BEAUTIFUL! About 7pm that evening we met our tour guides Marshall and Jen, who told us everything we needed to now about getting ready and provided us with the bags we would need to pack up our belongings for the trip (prior to the trip they email a very concise packing list). Marshall made a few optional suggestions, which turned out to be very helpful.

The next day they took us by van to the entry site and we began our adventure. The natural beauty of this trip is truly astounding and the depth of knowledge of Jen and Marshall was way beyond what I expected. These are not guides who have simply "picked-up a summer job", both of them have been doing this several years and are highly experienced.

There are optional hikes that they will take you on (all included in the price) and they were all very interesting.

Tents are provided with pads and sleeping bags also provided - we elected to sleep underneath the stars at the camp sites, next to the river. The sounds of the river and the brilliance of the stars lulled us into a great nights sleep.

All food is provided, as well as water, soda, ice tea mix, gatorade mix OR you could bring your own beverages (soda, beer, wine, etc.).

THE FOOD IS OVER THE TOP !!!! This is one thing that I did not expect at all - seafood salad and cold cuts, with fresh fruit, hummus, fresh veggies, peanut butter and jelly for the first lunch break. Breakfasts included things like Blueberry Pancakes (fresh berries), bacon, coffee, breakfast burrito (not the frozen, ready-to-eat variety - they made EVERYTHING FRESH). Grilled steak with portabella mushrooms, sweet corn on the cob, etc. They even baked a pineapple upside-down cake one night. To make it even better, Marshall brought his guitar and played music until the last person went to bed.

Everyone needs to take this trip with SGE. I am definitely going back again!!

Great job guys!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GasManOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“westwater canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

spent a beautiful day end of may, fun rapids, great guide (max) & our fellow rafters were from holland & germany, always nice to meet people from other countries & get their take on visiting/vacationing in the u.s. lunch was good, had a blast yet felt in capable hands. we would like to do cataract canyon our next trip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingrose64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Professional Rafting Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just finished a 5-day rafting trip on the Colorado Riv in Cataract Canyon with my 14yr old grandson. What a fantastic experience. One we will remember for a long time. SGE is a tremendously efficient, professional, and safety-conscious operation. It is first-class all the way from reservations, directions, planning, orientation, and throughout the trip. All details are anticipated and arranged. You will be left wondering how you can have such a great experience, peace and solitude, and incredible meals hundreds of miles from civilization. Great guides who are professional chefs, tour guides, biologists, and conservationists. These are not just river-runners but people who love the environment. If you ever thought about such a trip, this is the company and now is the time. High-water or low-water, does not make a difference.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDude10535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Still One of the Best After All These years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have run the Westwater and Catarcact Canyons on the Colorado and Desolation Canyon and the Gates of Lodore on the Green River with Sheri Griffith River Expeditions off and on over the past 20 years or so. I don't recall how many times I have made river trips with this Outfiiter; but of the numerous Outfitters I have used over the years on rivers in Idaho, Utah, Oregon, Colorado and California, they have been the most consistent in giving 100%+ in service and care. I have even taken my "non-camping" wife on their Premier Gourmet trip down Cataract Canyon, which was an unbelievable experience (she still isn't convinced God meant her to camp out or He wouldn't have made so many nice hotels) from the excellent food & wine to the "comfy" camp set ups. Safety is a big issue with them and their gear has always been in top condition. Though Sheri sold the company a few years ago, little has changed. For the most part, the staff are long term employees and are highly trained, professional, energetic and enthusiatic about the river experience. This is consistently professional outfitter that offers a great value for the money.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CAPTAINCUISINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheri Griffith River Expeditions Day Trip also viewed

 

Been to Sheri Griffith River Expeditions Day Trip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing