We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“restuarant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch

The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch
Ranked #49 of 82 Restaurants in Moab
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vernal, Utah
1 review
“restuarant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

dined ther oct 16, 2012. first of all, poor service. did not know who our server was. 4 different other server were present. hated the trout, but seemed the servers did not care. left hungry. lovely attmoshere. very dissapointed with the service for such a high price.. remember mystery diner.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    16
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great dinner with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went to the restaurants for breakfast and dinner. I was hesitant to go when I read the review on the Trip Advisor, but was actually surprised when the food was good. Again, the price point was expensive, but when I go to a 4 Star resort, that is what I expect. Our server for dinner was a nice young blonde girl who explained the menu to us, was super attentive, and had a bunch of great suggestions. The chef sent us out a little complimentary bite to eat, I had the steak and my wife had the trout. Both were hot and well prepared, not over the top, but still good. We finished the dinner with a cobbler and ice cream. Our waitress told us that most of the vegetables came from the garden and the meat was all local. It was a nice touch. One thing we noticed is that the gratuity is added to the bills. Watch out so you don't double tip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, terrible ambience and terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Given that this is supposed to be the best hotel in Moab, we were expecting great things. We had asked when making our reservation if we could be seated on the balcony overlooking the Colarado River and were told that it was first come, first served. When we arrived in the evening, we were the only people in the restaurant so we didn't exactly have to fight for our balcony seats. Our waitress was friendly enough but the food, given that the restaurant is selling at top notch prices and the chef is billed as being an Executive Chef, was quite frankly disappointing. My husband's food was sent back because it was cold (even though we were the only people in the restaurant) and the rest of the meal was lacking in any inventiveness. Despite sending back the food, we were charged the whole amount and had the gratuity automatically added to our bill. Wouldn't eat there again. It's a shame as it is a lovely setting and they could really do so much more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roobarb_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Heard good things about this place so we made it a point to stop. The scenery is beautiful, right on the Colorado river. The food is average. I do have a complaint about the automatic gratuity added to every bill. Tom was our server and one of the most unfriendly servers we have ever met. No smile or welcome just a what can I get you. Service should be rewarded and with automatic gratuity staff don't have to try.Will not return or recommend to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank carissa9664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's unfortunate that the service was so poor because I really wanted to like this place. It's one of the finer places to dine in the Moab area. A peaceful patio that over looks the Colorado River. An upscale resort with upscale dinner prices. But the service was horrible. it took almost 15 minutes for someone to even acknowledge us after we were seated. Slow to bring drink and to take our order. The food was over priced for what you get. Go here for an appetizer, take some pictures and find another place for dinner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverLisaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch also viewed

 

Been to The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing