We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moab's Best Event”

Canyonlands Ballooning
Ranked #8 of 62 Tours in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For THE adventure of a lifetime, come join your professional FAA pilot Lou Bartell for a hot air balloon ride over the Canyonlands in Moab, Utah. Imagine ascending to greet the sunrise as you drift among geologic wonders that were being created when dinosaurs roamed the earth. The fragile sandstone of Arches National Park and precarious rock towers drift past, each one defying gravity with you. Your trip to Moab would not be complete without flying with us on this unique and unforgettable balloon adventure. The whole family is welcome. Enjoy this once in a lifetime opportunity... in the safety of the latest "state of the art" equipment. No two flights are ever the same. Most guests, ranging in ages from from 95 to 5, tell us it's their most memorable event of their vacation. Come fly with us at Canyonlands Ballooning for your hot air balloon adventure.
Elk Grove, California
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Moab's Best Event”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I had flown on three balloon flights (including Canyonlands Ballooning in June, 2012) and signed up for another this year when we figured out we'd pass through Moab. The two flights we've now completed with Lou, the pilot, have been among our most wonderful and valuable attractions in our long years of traveling. Luckily, one of our flights was southeast over Arches NP and the other was the opposite, northwest a bit north of Island in the Sky. Since there is control only over up or down, the pilot and those with us in the basket are in nature's hands, itself a delight. Aside from standing for more than an hour -- alas, no chairs in the basket -- we were always comfortable. The temperature was about seventy when the sun arrived and so we were able to wear light shirts and shorts. Wonderfully, a young Dutch man proposed to his girlfriend in the middle of the flight, causing crying and laughing for all of us to share. We did have a minor crash at the end of the flight, when wind picked up and tipped the basket over when we landed, dragging it over sand for about 50' while we all held on while sitting in the basket. We saw no injury or discomfort for any of our flight partners, and Lou had been very competent in giving us a warning as to what would happen and how to protect ourselves. In all respects, Lou is friendly and knowledgeable, giving everybody pleasure and security. (Amazingly, he remembered us as prior fliers with him even though it had been more than a year since he'd seen us.) Cost is higher than most events, but worth all of it; the only other "bucket" event we could compare with lifelong memories would be helicopter flight. Fly Canyonlands Ballooning when you can ever be in Moab; you will never forget it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunsmurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    24
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shildon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Graceful and wonderful”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a graceful and wonderful experience this flight was from start to finish, and surely is a “must do” for anyone visiting Moab.
Lou, Mike and the rest of the crew were very friendly from the start when we met at the rendezvous point before 6am, all the way through until Mike dropped us off again over four hours later.
If you’re nervous about flying in a balloon for the first time, then don’t be. There really is nothing to it, because Lou has everything under control. It is a great experience floating high above the ground, and looking at the magnificent scenery from a different angle.
Our flight lasted for around 90 minutes, and Lou was a perfect guide, pointing out all the different landmarks along the way. And after we landed, out came the champagne and soft drinks, and Lou delivered a perfect speech.
This is certainly one of the best trips I’ve ever had on vacation. Thanks so much to Lou and his crew for a memorable day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RaySimpsonShildon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I took my wife and two daughters (22 and 24) for this once in a lifetime ride. Captain Lou put us at ease and we had a great time. It was beautiful scenery and I even got to help hold the line while the balloon was being inflated. We got up to 3000' above the ground but never felt unsafe. The landing was really cool and champagne toast afterwards was the icing on the cake. I wish the winds would have blown us over Arches NP but that's something nobody can control. Even the support crew was very friendly. One more thing to check off the bucket list and I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rbare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Balloon Luck”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My whole family loved the hot air balloon ride and it was the highlight of our trip (just like people have said)! We were so lucky, the winds were such that the balloon sailed beautifully over the canyons giving us fabulous views the entire time. Pilot Lou was friendly and informative. His father was flying a plane near to us and we waved at him for extra fun. We recommend this to anyone. My husband thought he had a fear of heights but had no problem on the balloon ride. The landing was especially fun and not scary.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrina_spangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Up in the air under morning sunshine over the wild West!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hot air ballon with Canyonlands Ballooning is a wonderful experience. Lou "the pilot" is so experienced so we had a smooth takeoff and landing - even my nine year old niece can easily handle it. Once in the air, the direction largely depends on where the wind takes you to, so the views are dynamic without a fixed agenda. The valley is just beautiful in early morning sunshines. I recommend if you have a camera with Panorama function, even a iPhone 5, take it! You will regret for not having one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zoomzoom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyonlands Ballooning also viewed

 

Been to Canyonlands Ballooning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing