We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full day private tour”
Review of Rim Tours

Rim Tours
Ranked #7 of 112 Outdoor Activities in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Would you like to ride your mountain bike on super sweet trails in some of the most beautiful locations in the western US? Would you like fun, experienced and knowledgeable guides to show you the way on the trail, cook up incredible food at the end of the day, and teach you things you never knew about? You should join us on a Rim Tours Mountain Bike Adventure!Since 1985 Rim Tours has earned our reputation by offering the very best professionally guided mountain bike trips to Utah's Canyon country, Colorado's Rocky Mountains, Arizona's Grand Canyon and Sonoran Desert and Oregon's central Cascade Mountains. Our tours showcase the most beautiful and pristine backcountry locations in the Western United States and our experienced staff will ensure that your time spent with us is a vacation to remember. We have pioneered backcountry biking tours with your safety and enjoyment our highest priority. Our backcountry ethic assures minimal impact from our travels so others may return time and again to unspoiled wilderness.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Great. Guide could ride, good vibe. Knowledgeable and flexible. Equipment was fine for a day ride. Nothing super but the price reflects that and they did offer me an upgrade. They could use those books they show you at the Hertz counter to offer a better car but a bike. But it was a perfectly good bike nonetheless. .Super chill.. But now I got the bug to do more of it and I'm 2500 +/- miles away.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank jonas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin S, Manager at Rim Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Hi Jonas,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. On the bike rental, we do have a page on our site that gives you info about our bikes, including the upgrade options to our higher-end bikes like the all-carbon Santa Cruz 5010 and Hightower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mountain biking"
in 84 reviews
"courthouse loop"
in 12 reviews
"dead horse point"
in 39 reviews
"single track"
in 16 reviews
"bike tour"
in 11 reviews
"rental bikes"
in 10 reviews
"bikes provided"
in 5 reviews
"skill level"
in 17 reviews
"brand trails"
in 6 reviews
"private tour"
in 13 reviews
"half day tour"
in 11 reviews
"biking experience"
in 5 reviews
"road bike"
in 5 reviews
"camping gear"
in 4 reviews
"morning ride"
in 4 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 5 reviews
"great ride"
in 11 reviews
Filter

198 - 202 of 379 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2016

I had a great time. Brian Lugers was an excellent guide. I did a whole day private ride. It was a good mix of challenging technical and a good work out. The bike was top shelf and in perfect shape, including drop post.
It was nice for Brian to arrange the cooling thunder storm and 1" of rain at the end of the ride.
Moab was on my bucket list and now with Rim it is on my redo list.
Thanks for the memories. I still hate thin loose deep sand however not as much of it as the Sonora.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin S, Manager at Rim Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Thanks for the mention. We'll pass it along to Brian. Weather arranging is his specialty ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

My wife and I were in Moab for a couple of days during an 8 day trip to visit the National Parks in Southern Utah and spent most of our time hiking but made time for a half day mountain biking trip to Dead Horse Point State Park as a change of pace. The trip was highly enjoyable and was geared toward the skill level of the people in our tour group. The guide assigned to our trip was so helpful getting everyone comfortable with riding a mountain bike and also offering bits of information on the area and highlighting things to see that we would have missed if not for her. I would totally recommend this for anyone interested in getting out on a mountain bike in the Moab area.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank scottu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin S, Manager at Rim Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Thank you Scott,

We're so happy that you and your wife enjoyed the mountain biking on Dead Horse Point Singletrack. It's our most popular tour, for exactly the reasons you stated. We hope you come back again so we can show you the Klondike Bluff Trail, which would make a great next step in your new adventure with mountain biking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Just got off the trail after 4 incredible days of mountain biking in the most beautiful, awe inspiring place I have ever seen. Although I'm a novice mountain biker, as a fitness and road riding fanatic, I thought I'd have an easy time. NOT. The trail was extroadornarily challenging, and tested my strength and endurance. I loved it! The guides, Beth and Mike are special people. Beth, a professional mountain bike racer, gave me many pointers on technique that improved my experience and ability immensely. Mike, who (and forgive me for saying this Mike) looks like an old hippie, is in reality,, a 68 year old energizer bunny. He can ride up, come back down, and back up huge mountain passes, that most of us, could not even get close to completing. After a day of really tough, exhausting riding, when the group was passing out, Beth and Mike wouldn't rest for a second. They would prepare gourmet dinners and fantastic desserts. They set up portable washing areas to get the road off of us and even handed out hot wash clothes (a great indulgence). Both guides were incredibly knowledgable about the desert, the original inhabitants and geology. They led us on, among a few excursions, into a slot canyon and taught us how to navigate what first appeared as non- passable areas.
This trip inspired me to become a capable mountain biker and left me with wonderful memories.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank PerryFreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin S, Manager at Rim Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Perry, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and helpful review. It is a very accurate reflection of what many riders feel after the experience - though they were in very fit shape from years of road cycling, the off-road nature of Moab mountain biking was a challenge. And that they were glad to have had the help of the skilled guides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Had a great ride with Brooks today. He and I were well matched in age and ability (i.e. He is not a young hotshot out to set records). He explained the capabilities of the bike and showed me a lot of techniques. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank L5797UQjohnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin S, Manager at Rim Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

John, I've passed along your comments to Brooks, who will be very happy for the feedback. We hope to ride with you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rim Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing