We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the heat!”

La Sal Mountain Loop
Ranked #11 of 95 things to do in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just outside Moab, Utah, through the La Sal Mountains that can be seen from Arches National Park.
Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Escape from the heat!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It has been high 90's up to 103 in Moab during our visit. We heard about the La Sal Loop drive so decided to escape from the heat for an afternoon and take the La Sal Mountain Loop Road. It was in the 70's at the highest elevation we travelled. The views looking down onto Cathedral Valley were gorgeous! We started the loop on Highway 128, turning South at the well marked "Cathedral Valley" turn. This are is so lush and green, the beautiful views, cooler temperatures were great. As we descended the road towards Moat we took a side trip to the well marked Oowah Lake Campground. The 3 mile gravel road to Oowah Lake had great forests and the Oowah Lake was cool and refreshing. Lots of campers and folks fishing. Another cool respite from the Moab heat. We stopped at most of the viewpoints on this loop road and took lots of photos. Note there are no services on this road. Bring food and water. We took 4 hours and enjoyed our side trips and the great photos.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dunn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    118
    25
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Road”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A different perspective to the red rocks at lower altitudes. An interesting scenic road, with both rebuilt sections, and stretches in need of repair. Accessible with 2-wheel drive vehicle. Good views, and cooler climate - still some snow at higher elevations - not on the road

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A break from the heat of the valley”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The mountain loop is a great drive. Stop at Warner Lake for a nice lake view or Oowah Lake to fish. You can hike the mountains too for the more adventurous. Do NOT hike from Warner to Oowah, big mistake, you go down and then steeply back up. Also, bring water from wherever you came from, there is none closeby and none in the campgrounds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous drive excellent”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Connect with hiway 128 stop milepost 14 for free movie museum and winery..loved the twisty roads, spectacular views. Highly recommend for motorcycles

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelerRoatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Respite”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great chance to drive up out of the kiva like heat of Moab. Beautiful views and some places to camp and cabin in the mountains. Just a lovely, relaxing drive to get above it all. Can't wait til summer to go up again

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sal Mountain Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing