We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slickrock Campground
Ranked #32 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Salt Lake City
1 review
“Felt like home”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed in a cabin over the weekend with a big group of friends, some of whom camped in tents. We had a great time and the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The mattresses were sealed (a must these days), there was ample picnic space and plenty of parking. The pool/jacuzzi and a big playground area are away from the sites in case of noise. There's also a big buffer from the highway; I never heard a car.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slickrockcampground, General Manager at Slickrock Campground, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We love Happy people! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    48
    57
    70
See reviews for
81
77
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The staff was kind and curteous! There was ample room in our camp site with a picnic table and grill. With a pool for the kids, showers and toilets I was very happy! I could also use the wifi at the shop, it was more then I expected from a campground for the price! My husband and I enjoyed the hut tube in the evenings, this was such a nice end to a busy day! Close to the Arches and Canyonlands National Parks, perfect for day trips to both! HAD A WONDEERDFUL TIME!!! I will definitely go again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slickrockcampground, General Manager at Slickrock Campground, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We love Happy people! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

They just don’t care. For the same money or less, there are plenty of other campgrounds in town. My wife and I were promised a reserved spot when I spoke to a girl on the phone. I called again to confirm and let them know I was going to arrive after hours. I was told my spot & reservation would be on a board outside the office. We arrived. No reservation for us. We picked a spot and in the morning I spoke to a young girl (same person as on the phone), and when I asked her about our spot/reservation, she said “yeah, don’t worry about it.” Whatever that meant.

Note that the bathrooms/showers here are disgusting. Someone might go in and pick up the trash but it can’t be more than that. And for some reason, they don’t bother emptying the trash. The trash near our campsite was overflowing on the ground and really smelled.

That night there were two groups partying until midnight. The staff did nothing. There are signs indicating hours of silence, but apparently it doesn’t matter if you violate that. The sign reads “call the police if there’s noise,” not the staff. Again, the staff doesn’t care. A TV from a camper was blaring all night. Around 2am, I got up and found the trailer, I banged on a window but no response and just gave up. The next day I spoke again with the young girl in the office. Here’s where it gets funny. After describing the location of the camper, she admitted that it was hers. I was really upset that an employee would break their own rules and her response was that she was really trashed and when she went to her trailer she just passed out. This was unacceptable in my view by she was unapologetic, defensive, and snotty. Be prepared to deal with her and her friends as they run the place. I’ve read the other bad reviews and this is definitely the same girl.

I indicated I wanted to leave early and was told there would be no refund. I demanded to speak to someone else and after some arguing, I got a 40% refund. I’ve read the responses from the campground staff to the bad reviews and they are all accusatory. Expect this if you go, which you shouldn’t.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank intohotair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slickrockcampground, Owner at Slickrock Campground, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Again, we apologize for not being able to please everyone. If you want a full service hotel.... they start at $149 + tax and go up to over $400 a night! At $49 a night we feel our property is perfect for the intelligent and budget minded travel. After all we are a "Campground".

There is a sign as you enter the office that jokingly states: "This Ain't No Hotel and Spa"! This is designed to promote a little laughter but there is also a little truth behind the saying.

I encourage everyone to come in and see our facility. We have over 50,000 guest a year in our park alone. 49,995 leave happy campers. We stand on our reputation as Moab's oldest and largest campground. 38 years and running strong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for three nights in September. The welcome at reception was friendly, and the pitch was well-sited under shady trees, in the far corner away from the office/shop/pool (this is a big site). The ground was bit hard though, but that's to be expected given the climate. Each site had a picnic table and grill - we only used ours for toasting marshmallows, but others cooked full meals on them.

The toilet/shower block was showing signs of wear and tear (and only had locks on the showers, not the toilet cubicles?), but was always clean. There was a small, not especially well-stocked, shop on site, where you could get free morning coffee and use the wifi to check emails. It even had a couple of sofas and a TV, if you really needed to veg out. There was also an unheated but very welcome swimming pool and a couple of hot tubs. The hot tubs didn't seem to work properly, but even sitting in the very warm water was nice after a day's exploring.

We had two different sets of nearest neighbours during our stay, both of whom arrived after 10pm and made a lot of noise setting up (and the second lot seemed to have brought arc lights to illuminate the whole campsite), which was a bit annoying, but we didn't feel we could go and complain. The office had a sign in suggesting clients call the local police station if they have a problem with noise, which suggests it might be a problem...

All in all, a good campsite, close to Arches and Canyonlands National Parks, perfect for day trips to both. It's on the edge of Moab though, which is relatively expensive for eating, although humming with choice. We liked The Peace Tree for breakfast, although it wasn't cheap. Campsite cost was $20 per night for our four-person tent, I think.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Slickrock Camp Ground has gone way down hill. The woman who took our reservation got it for the wrong two nights and was quite nasty about it when we arrived. We had a confirmation number and had paid by credit card but weren't able to make it before the camp closed.

We parked in one of many empty spaces, waited until the office opened and were told that would be our space, we then paid for a second night. Only then did my husband unhook our trailer, connect the hook-ups.

That afternoon we found a note on our door to please check out as soon as possible as another rig was scheduled for our spot. We did check-out the next morning.

When I tried to explain we had paid for a second night (that very morning) the woman in the office was again extremely rude and refused to acknowledge this was their error. It was somehow all our fault We talked with several people who were treated rudely. We heard people complaining about the cleanliness of the facilities but did not see this ourselves as we were self-contained.

While having dinner downtown, we asked our server if she was familiar with Slickrock campground, as we wanted to know if it had changed hands recently (we have stayed there before and recommended it to friends) She did not know but told us her girlfriend had worked there and quit because the employees did nothing and the resulting customer complaints got to her.

The owners chide posters on here who are dissatisfied with the campground saying it's not a hotel and basically if you don't like the place.....tough. Rudeness is rudeness whether at a hotel or a campground or in a posted response to a customer service issue. It's obvious where the attitude of some of the staff comes from.

The store was not stocked and the staff seemed overwhelmed by the number of campers. That was surprising to us as this was UEA (Utah Education Association) a 4 day week-end that happens every year on the same week-end. The weather was forecast as great and it was. Everyone took off for a final trip before winter. That this was a surprise, surprises me and if I had been running the place I would have been to the market in town buying up soft-drinks and a few things to have in the store for my customers.

Please don't judge the fantastic city of Moab by this campground. Moab is heaven on earth and the rudeness and inconvenience we encountered at Slickrock Campground couldn't and didn't affect the great 4 days we spent there.

We will just do what unhappy customers do and simply never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slickrockcampground, Owner at Slickrock Campground, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Again, we apologize for not being able to please everyone. If you want a full service hotel.... they start at $149 + tax and go up to over $400 a night! At $49 a night we feel our property is perfect for the intelligent and budget minded travel. After all we are a "Campground".

There is a sign as you enter the office that jokingly states: "This Ain't No Hotel and Spa"! This is designed to promote a little laughter but there is also a little truth behind the saying.

I encourage everyone to come in and see our facility. We have over 50,000 guest a year in our park alone. 49,995 leave happy campers. We stand on our reputation as Moab's oldest and largest campground. 38 years and running strong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for a week in September 2011. This is a campground people...not a hotel. The bathrooms were ok, but most people there are there for the 4 wheeling and of course it is going to be dirty, but it was not nasty. Our site was on the end so we did not get a lot of the dust from the gravel road, but we had lots of shade, the staff was very helpful and we met lots of friendly people.We would stay here again. Thank you slickrock for a very memorable vacation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whyldflower68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

After a 400 mile day on motorcycles my friend and I were looking forward to getting some rest and hitting the parks the next day. We "upgraded" from a double tent site to a cabin due to it being a very cold and wet May in Utah. All I can say is we stayed dry. Two double beds, mine was a box spring and my friends was some kind of foam. I'm glad we had our sleeping pads for camping. They cabins were probably 10x10ft, so not much room for gear or even turning around.
Checked out the showers, the north showers were very dirty but the south showers were cleaner and in better shape.
Definitely not a Holiday Inn, but could be nicer with not to much work.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firemanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slickrockcampground, Owner at Slickrock Campground, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Again, we apologize for not being able to please everyone. If you want a full service hotel.... they start at $149 + tax and go up to over $400 a night! At $49 a night we feel our property is perfect for the intelligent and budget minded travel. After all we are a "Campground".

There is a sign as you enter the office that jokingly states: "This Ain't No Hotel and Spa"! This is designed to promote a little laughter but there is also a little truth behind the saying.

I encourage everyone to come in and see our facility. We have over 50,000 guest a year in our park alone. 49,995 leave happy campers. We stand on our reputation as Moab's oldest and largest campground. 38 years and running strong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.4 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
0.7 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
8.7 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
6.5 mi away
O.K. RV Park & Canyonlands Stables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slickrock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slickrock Campground

Property: Slickrock Campground
Address: 1301 N Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-2046
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moab's Oldest and Largest Campground. We are family owned and operated. Feel free to stop in and look at our facilities. Hope to see you soon.We Love Happy Campers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Slickrock Campground Hotel Moab
Slickrock Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing