We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Air Conditioning and No Fridge”
Review of Hampton Inn Moab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Moab
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Faulty Air Conditioning and No Fridge”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was a frustrating experience staying here. The staff were nice and tried to be helpful, but they were overworked and there was insufficient staff at the hotel. The wall control for A/C unit in our room did not work, and the controls on the unit itself did not work properly. It was impossible to either keep the room cool or even keep the fan running to have some air movement.

The hotel seems pretty new, and the rooms are in good shape otherwise and clean. The room was quiet. The pool is small but functional. The breakfast is standard Hampton Inn fare.

It seems very petty that they charge extra for a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C unit works properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lstollsteimer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Moab, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    436
    144
    31
    12
See reviews for
389
550
63
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Parachute, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We checked in on Sunday after getting married the afternoon before. The gentleman that checked us in was wonderful, very friendly- I wish I would of remembered his name! We were exhausted and got a great nights rest, enjoyed the hot tub and relaxed! The breakfast was good, and almost every staff member we came across greeted us! I work in the hotel industry so I definitely understand how important communication with guests is! Hampton Inn Moab is wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aitkin, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Always a friendly place to stop in Moab! The staff are welcoming, have great suggestions for places to eat in the area and along the way. We love staying there! The service and staff are very consistent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank mranders0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as part of our Grand Circle trip. Of all the hotels we stayed at during this trip, this was my favorite. I am a diamond member with Hilton but unfortunately did not receive an upgrade. Other than an extra vitamin water and a chocolate bar, there was not anything extra for diamond members. We got a regular double room and I used my points for the stay. I did find the normal room rate for this hotel to be high and not good value for the money. Luckily I was able to use points for the stay.

The bathroom is nice and big and the room felt clean. There is a nice flat panel tv in the room. The only thng missing in the room is a fridge.

Breakfast is pretty bland but common for most Hampton Inns. The hotel still feels new and location wise, it is excellent. We visited Dead Horse Point, Canyonlands and Arches and they are all in close proximity. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family stayed at this Hampton Inn in Moab for four nights. Although it appears to have been fit into a narrow street space, the hotel itself was spacious and comfortable. This is one of the newest hotels in Moab. We think it is well done, but still experiencing a few initial pains.

Highlights:
+ Location: Walking to the center of town (Visitor Information Center area) was only ten minutes. Both sides of the street are fine to walk, even if the sidewalk isn't always there. There is also some food (Sweet Cravings, great for lunch) next door, and a bike store (Poison Spider) just across the street. This is definitely "in town" and convenient.
+ Pool and hot tub: New, well maintained, and nicely done. Plenty of towels always available. Both are heated, so we were able to use the pool even when it wasn't hot outside. Both were sparkling clean.
+ Breakfast: while the food selection was fairly typical of this class of hotel (cold breakfast plus some selection of eggs and potatoes or sausages), the dining area for having breakfast was clearly not an afterthought. It is roomy and well appointed, not jammed in like some hotels.
+ Room decor: the rooms are also well appointed (granite, duvets cleaned daily, nice shower).
+ Noise: per reviews here, we requested and got a third floor room overlooking the pool. It was dead quiet! Note that there are two quick elevators. We never waited at all to get to the third floor.
+ Staff: all of the staff we encountered were helpful and courteous. My guess is that the management is paying attention to the employees' morale so that their customers have a good experience.
+ Parking: ample and free off-street parking.

Areas for improvement:
- No fridge. Not sure I can think of the last time we had a hotel in Moab without a mini-fridge. Even many of the cabins in the campgrounds provide one. This was a hassle.
- Heating/cooling. We spoke with the front desk about this after the first night. They're working to fix it. The thermostats in at least some of the rooms have been disabled. Our wall thermostat control was powered off, the cover panel on our window unit had been removed, and two of the slats in the vent of the wall unit had been broken (i.e. obviously our heating/cooling system had been seeing some attention - we reported the damage to the front desk the first morning so we wouldn't be charged). The AC/heating unit (built in below the window) was temperamental to say the least. It worked fine for several hours, then shut down. We woke up in the middle of the night with warm temps. Even setting it to 62F wouldn't cause any cooling to come on. As other reviewers have commented, switching to just fan did still work at least. In the morning maintenance was going to come up to have a look, but I couldn't get it to malfunction again during the day. However, the next night it failed again. And, repeat for all four nights (perhaps it only malfunctions when it's somewhat cooler outside at night?).

Recommendations:
+ Above all, call first (or read TripAdvisor) to verify that the heating/cooling systems are revamped and functional.
+ Ask for a room on an upper floor. At least in our case, we had a great room with a view and no noise.
+ Compare prices and take into account that the lack of the fridge could cost you some for food storage (we couldn't keep food). We'd pay $10-20/night more for a fridge at a comparable property.
+ If you have a "normal" bicycle, use the bike storage room and lock it to the bike rack provided, no hassles getting in or out. If you own a high end, expensive carbon bike, realize that anyone with a room key can get into bicycle storage without supervision. You might want to lock those covered inside of your vehicle? We didn't have any such bikes, so locked ours in the bicycle storage room without incident.

This is a nice, newer property that we have high hopes for. If we'd had a fridge and properly functioning heating/cooling in our room, I would've rated this property five stars no question. We will stay here again, but will wait until after the heating and cooling issues are fixed. The addition of in-room fridges would help a lot too!

Room Tip: Higher floors, facing the pool or the back appear to be the quietest. Be sure to ask about the cooli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Live4VacationTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a great stay, very friendly staff :) We stayed in the King suite, it was very roomy. My kids loved that the pool stayed open late. The staff rewarded us with a Starbucks gift card for parking our trailer in its own spot instead of taking up 4 spots.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hampton Inn is very well placed for visiting The Arches NP. Our room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet and away from any road noise. The room was also spacious and the bed comfortable. The aircon was noisy though. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
1.6 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Moab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Moab

Property: Hampton Inn Moab
Address: 488 N Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Moab
#7 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#8 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Moab 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Hampton Inn in Moab, UT offers a new level of hospitality to travelers seeking to enjoy the best Moab has to offer. Located close to Dead Horse Point, Island in the sky and Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. We are walking distance to many restaurants and businesses in the downtown area. If you are seeking to find a hotel that will go above and beyond your needs, offer you amazing service and the world known "Cloud 9" bed as well as a full hot breakfast to start your morning off right, look no further than the Hampton Inn. We are located at 488 N. Main St Moab, UT 84532 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Moab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Moab
Hampton Inn Moab Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing