We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, needs a few adjustments still”
Review of Hampton Inn Moab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Moab
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family stayed at this Hampton Inn in Moab for four nights. Although it appears to have been fit into a narrow street space, the hotel itself was spacious and comfortable. This is one of the newest hotels in Moab. We think it is well done, but still experiencing a few initial pains.

Highlights:
+ Location: Walking to the center of town (Visitor Information Center area) was only ten minutes. Both sides of the street are fine to walk, even if the sidewalk isn't always there. There is also some food (Sweet Cravings, great for lunch) next door, and a bike store (Poison Spider) just across the street. This is definitely "in town" and convenient.
+ Pool and hot tub: New, well maintained, and nicely done. Plenty of towels always available. Both are heated, so we were able to use the pool even when it wasn't hot outside. Both were sparkling clean.
+ Breakfast: while the food selection was fairly typical of this class of hotel (cold breakfast plus some selection of eggs and potatoes or sausages), the dining area for having breakfast was clearly not an afterthought. It is roomy and well appointed, not jammed in like some hotels.
+ Room decor: the rooms are also well appointed (granite, duvets cleaned daily, nice shower).
+ Noise: per reviews here, we requested and got a third floor room overlooking the pool. It was dead quiet! Note that there are two quick elevators. We never waited at all to get to the third floor.
+ Staff: all of the staff we encountered were helpful and courteous. My guess is that the management is paying attention to the employees' morale so that their customers have a good experience.
+ Parking: ample and free off-street parking.

Areas for improvement:
- No fridge. Not sure I can think of the last time we had a hotel in Moab without a mini-fridge. Even many of the cabins in the campgrounds provide one. This was a hassle.
- Heating/cooling. We spoke with the front desk about this after the first night. They're working to fix it. The thermostats in at least some of the rooms have been disabled. Our wall thermostat control was powered off, the cover panel on our window unit had been removed, and two of the slats in the vent of the wall unit had been broken (i.e. obviously our heating/cooling system had been seeing some attention - we reported the damage to the front desk the first morning so we wouldn't be charged). The AC/heating unit (built in below the window) was temperamental to say the least. It worked fine for several hours, then shut down. We woke up in the middle of the night with warm temps. Even setting it to 62F wouldn't cause any cooling to come on. As other reviewers have commented, switching to just fan did still work at least. In the morning maintenance was going to come up to have a look, but I couldn't get it to malfunction again during the day. However, the next night it failed again. And, repeat for all four nights (perhaps it only malfunctions when it's somewhat cooler outside at night?).

Recommendations:
+ Above all, call first (or read TripAdvisor) to verify that the heating/cooling systems are revamped and functional.
+ Ask for a room on an upper floor. At least in our case, we had a great room with a view and no noise.
+ Compare prices and take into account that the lack of the fridge could cost you some for food storage (we couldn't keep food). We'd pay $10-20/night more for a fridge at a comparable property.
+ If you have a "normal" bicycle, use the bike storage room and lock it to the bike rack provided, no hassles getting in or out. If you own a high end, expensive carbon bike, realize that anyone with a room key can get into bicycle storage without supervision. You might want to lock those covered inside of your vehicle? We didn't have any such bikes, so locked ours in the bicycle storage room without incident.

This is a nice, newer property that we have high hopes for. If we'd had a fridge and properly functioning heating/cooling in our room, I would've rated this property five stars no question. We will stay here again, but will wait until after the heating and cooling issues are fixed. The addition of in-room fridges would help a lot too!

Room Tip: Higher floors, facing the pool or the back appear to be the quietest. Be sure to ask about the cooli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Live4VacationTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a great stay, very friendly staff :) We stayed in the King suite, it was very roomy. My kids loved that the pool stayed open late. The staff rewarded us with a Starbucks gift card for parking our trailer in its own spot instead of taking up 4 spots.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hampton Inn is very well placed for visiting The Arches NP. Our room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet and away from any road noise. The room was also spacious and the bed comfortable. The aircon was noisy though. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice hotel, the price was quite affordable as well. Only thing I wish the walls weren't so paper thin.. Could hear everything my neighbors were talking about at night. The staff was nice and the breakfast lady was helpful as well
Will stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyF259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On many levels, this is a very nice hotel, it was new, clean, and in a good location. Almost everything about the room was very nice (although unlike some other Hampton Inns, id did not have a fridge in the room), but we had a terrible sleep both nights due to the horrible Air Conditioning units the hotel uses. When we first checked in, the air conditioning seemed to work great cooling the room. We went to bed around 9:00, and by 10:30 woke up to find the room warm and stuffy with the Air Conditioning unit off! We had tuned the fan from Auto to Low (only choice) but even that was ignored. I will give the desk the initial credit of offering to move us to a new room, but we chose to just run the fan (if A/C was off, the fan option worked!). They offered to move us for our second night while we were out exploring the area. Got back to the new room and once again, the A/C worked well until later in the evening, then it maybe was on 5 min in an hour period. Warm and stuffy once again. I’ve noticed that many Hampton Inns seem to be getting worse and worse A/C service in the rooms and I would not stay in this hotel again. Breakfast was also below the Hampton Inn standard.

Room Tip: A/C units in two different rooms did not work at night (turned off), could not sleep in stuffy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apljavaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lstollsteimer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Moab, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the HVAC system not working in your room. I've worked with our maintenance team to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean, modern hotel with excellent amenities, close to Arches National Park, nice facilities, good size rooms, quiet. Looks to be relatively new, with pool, spa, and work out facilities. I had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjuantech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The heating and cooling system in our first room did not work. The room was hot and very stuffy. The wall thermostat had been disabled and the window based unit would not stay on. In our second room, the thermostat dis operate the the unit and the room did cool off. However, the unit would not shut off and the temperature shown was clearly wrong. Also, the ice machine was broken. We understand that it had been broken for over a month and the thermostats in other rooms had to be disabled. This hotel appears to have high occupancy due to location. Staff were very responsive, but clearly maintenance was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlt46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lstollsteimer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Moab, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the HVAC system not working in your room. I've worked with our maintenance team to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 38 in Moab
2,993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 38 in Moab
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Moab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Moab

Address: 488 N Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Moab
#7 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#7 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $92 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Moab 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Hampton Inn in Moab, UT offers a new level of hospitality to travelers seeking to enjoy the best Moab has to offer. Located close to Dead Horse Point, Island in the sky and Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. We are walking distance to many restaurants and businesses in the downtown area. If you are seeking to find a hotel that will go above and beyond your needs, offer you amazing service and the world known "Cloud 9" bed as well as a full hot breakfast to start your morning off right, look no further than the Hampton Inn. We are located at 488 N. Main St Moab, UT 84532 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Moab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Moab
Hampton Inn Moab Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing