We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Virginian Motel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Loved the kitchenette, and the fact that is was right in town. Rooms were very clean, staff was very nice. Had to look hard for it because there is a sign on the corner that blocks the motel's from main street so keep an eye out.

Room Tip: Don't always go by the ratings. You can find great motels that aren't even rated sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 134 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have stayed at The Virginian several times over the past 15 years. It makes a great, economical base camp. The local eatery Moab Diner is right across the street, for great green chile and breakfasts. Downtown is an easy walk of a few blocks. The rooms are simple but adequate. Many rooms have kitchenettes, which is great if you want to fix a few meals to save money. It tends to attract the hiker/mountain bike crowd. People get out early, ride hard, and settle down to quiet nights by 9 or 9:30pm.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room here. It's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family stayed here for two days. It was such an awesome hotel, I could not ask for a better experience! The room was huge, and very very clean! Huge bathroom with a full kitchen, and they are pet friendly. The staff was very nice, the lady at the front desk was really down to earth and made it feel like home! It's within walking distance of so many shops, and 3 minute drive to the Arches National Park. The best part was the price! If we would have stayed at the expensive hotels we would not have gotten nearly as much as we did here! Every time we come to Moab we will be staying here! Don't waste your money on the chain hotels, this one is by far the best to stay at in Moab!! Very private and quiet, with a small creek behind it!! Very very happy with our stay! Thank you for making our Moab experience great!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristymyets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hoel really surprised my goup of 10 folks coming back from Bonneville speedweek. This budget friendly place was super clean and had the brand new comfy matresses that others had mentioned. The location and parking cannot be beat as we were able to walk to Pasta Jays and the Moab Diner. Both by the way I would recommend highly. We pass thru here every year for speedweek and and can assure this was a nice chwnge from teh Apache and will definately return. The front desk receptionist was not too friendly but was efficient with checking in all of us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choptopmerk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I are traveling for 8 weeks with our dog. The Virginian is dog friendly. We loved Moab but there are many nicer places to stay. The room was basic and clean. The front desk greeter was surly and looked like she had just rolled out of bed. There is nothing special to note about this hotel. We stayed one night and that was enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherlock621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here two nights while hiking in the area. This place fit my budget, which was not easy in Moab. The room was very clean and comfortable. The mattress was brand-new, which was a nice feature. The hotel was right next door to Canyonlands Jeep, where I was renting a vehicle for back-road driving, and across the street from my favorite Mexican restaurant in Moab, Fiesta Mexicana. This meant that the location, price, and quality were perfect for my needs. The price may be lower because they are off the main drag and not as easy to find as other locations in Moab. However, it is worth the effort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanyonTrekkerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location excellent for walking main street of town..manager very helpful and friendly. Room very clean..frig, micro, coffee maker, hair dryer. Moab lodging is very pricey. This was a great bargain for 2 with 2 queen beds at $69 plus tax per night. The mattresses were okay. Plenty of parking..noticed pet friendly. Definite recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTravelerRoatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.5 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
846 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#28 of 35 in Moab
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#21 of 35 in Moab
860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#2 of 35 in Moab
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginian Motel

Address: 70 E 2nd S, Moab, UT 84532
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range: $67 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Virginian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Virginian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Virginian Hotel Moab
The Virginian Motel Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing