We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Choices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Virginian Motel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

It's dark and the snow is blowing horizontal and the only vacancy you can spot in Moab is the Virginian. OK, take it. But if you can plan ahead, the Big Horn nearby is a much better choice. We moved to the Big Horn at the same rate and found it much better value. We stayed at the Virginian in 2010 in the new building which was pretty OK. This year(Sep 2011) I was offered the older original building which featured a kitchenette. Seemed like a good idea but in fact the place was a bit run down and just didn't "feel" clean. The kitchen was inadequately stocked and my wife sez "unaceptable". Proprietor was not particularly welcoming or attentive. Answered the phone while checking me out and took about 3-5 min to end what was actually a solicitation call. Beds comfortable and the place is quiet.

Room Tip: forget the older units with kitchenette. new building is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here on and off for 25 years before we go on our annual canoe trip down the Green or the Colorado, and afterwards. It is an old place but always clean. We like it because of the kitchenettes as we often have food we want to keep frozen before we get on the river. Prices have always been very reasonable especially since a lot of the chains have come in. You can walk to any eating place in town that you would want to go as well as one of the best bookstores, Back of Beyond. City Market is only a few blocks away if you need groceries, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueJZab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

A decent mid range motel. Well positioned in a quite side street off the main drag. Spacious rooms and with comfortable beds. Proprietors helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthYorksBeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is not a fancy motel, but it is clean and more than adequate for average needs.for people on a travel budget. It also idoes not directly face the main busy street, so is a bit quieter than some others. There is no pool, which is one reason that the rate is relatively lower. Proprietors are friendly and helpful. Air conditioner did not work well but I think that is an anomoly. More or less centrally located and within easy walking distance of good restaurants and the most interesting part of downtown Moab. There is a balcony so one can sit outside the room to enjoy the evening, plus a small grassy picnic area. I would stay there again

Room Tip: Call around, check reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecotraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

There are two types of rooms at the Virginian. In the buidling with the office all the rooms have kitchenettes, the ones in the rear building (newer) have a microwave, small refrigerator and a 4 cup coffee maker.

They allow dogs for and extra $10.00. This is a great deal!

They are 1/2 block east of the Main Street on a dead end, so you do not hear the traffic. I have never heard my neighbors in the rooms next to me. There is a walking/biking trail behind the motel that runs along Mill Creek. You can go miles either way.

I have stayed here often and have always had a clean room, always had good water pressure, quiet sleeping and always had GREAT SERVICE!

I have stayed here over and over again over the last 10 years. It is a good bed a hot shower and in the middle of town. You can walk to most of the stores in Moab from here.

There is no pool, no room service and no attached restaurant but I rarely use a pool, room service is always mediocre food for too much money and I like walking to some great little local restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arivergoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Not bad at all. Only $39 a night in the winter but was clean, quiet and had microwave, refrigerator, and wireless internet. Bed was comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GBGB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Clean rooms, good location & most importantly--quiet. Fridge & microwave a nice convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckiekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.5 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
846 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#28 of 35 in Moab
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#21 of 35 in Moab
860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#2 of 35 in Moab
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginian Motel

Address: 70 E 2nd S, Moab, UT 84532
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range: $67 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Virginian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Virginian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Virginian Hotel Moab
The Virginian Motel Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing