We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lil pricey but clean, big suite and equally appointed outdoor pool and hot tub.”
Review of The Gonzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gonzo Inn
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Normal, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lil pricey but clean, big suite and equally appointed outdoor pool and hot tub.”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Great stay albeit just for one night. Was a little pricey (~$220) but the suite was clean and spacious and was situated right across the street from the state-run liquor store (great prices BTW). Also very close to downtown bars and restaurants. IIRC, there was a fridge and stove and microwave in the kitchenette.

On-site laundry was clean and cheap. Pool was clean and well maintained.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlypage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    235
    46
    14
    9
See reviews for
182
369
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Completely adquate but too costly in my opinion. Yes there are a couple of cool accents that make it unique (excellent walk in showers w/ good pressure) but not by much. Maybe it was cheaper in the past but $159 + tax seems a bit high for what it is. There is a cont.breakfast that offers a bit more (included hard boil eggs and biscuits & gravy) which is convient for most. If you like a big breakfast like we do the hotel is located steps away from the Pancake Haus and the Moab Diner where my husband had the best vanilla malted ever.
If you do go may sure you ask for a second floor room since the people above us were extremely heavy footed. Remember people wake up very early in Moab. There is also a convient laundry room ($1 per machine & soap) but unless you want to hear the water pipes all day & night opt for a room away from it. Actually all the water pipes seemed loud.
There are a lot of hotels along the strip of Main Street price them out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed in a suite during our recent visit to Moab, Utah.

The hotel was well run and the suite overlooking the back garden and pool was superior. We liked the easy access to the center of town and the helpful advice offered by the front desk.

My only reservation was the quality of the complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I found the Gonzo Inn using trip advisor because I liked the fact it looked a bit different from the usual Best Westerns etc. On arrival that was what I got! It's a cool, quirky sort of hotel, different from the norm. That said, the staff were attentive, the rooms clean and more than big enough. The fridge in the room was a nice touch for us too. The pool was great when we needed a break from hiking in the 85 degree heat! Breakfast was ok, nothing much, but enough to get you started. Location is fab in Moab. Minutes walk from shops, restaurants, bars etc. I never had a problem finding a parking space outside our room either. It was also quiet. We loved the cool, almost outdoor style shower it had in the room, it was huge! Only drawback was the coat hangers in the room were really old style metal which stuck out, and twice I caught my arm on them, which really hurt. They have them also in the bathroom which is fine, so why have more inside the room in a awkward place! But that's the only real drawback to the Gonzo in my opinion! We'd happily stay again should we get to Moab again...and we do have unfinished business with False Kiva in Canyonlands!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish_captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

1 block off a main street, 2 blocks from central. Great location. Good rooms, VERY nice pool. Fridge in room. Breakfast OK. They even served up at 6AM when we needed to go mountain bike riding early.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patmazuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Gonzo inn was a good treat after a several days of rough adventure in the Four Corner canyons. The decor is unique with wooden beams in the ceiling (as if we were in a cottage) and the shower area was also nice. A few problems we find during our stay: 1. there aren't a lot of parking spaces, there always seems to be one or two left, but not a whole lot. Maybe it was fully booked when we're there, 2. shallow bathroom sink, watch out if anything gets wet, because that shallow and small basin will make the counter flooded. 3. morning lawn mowing noise - the last day of our visit, we would have wanted to relax before we hit Canyonlands and the wild southwest, but the lawn mowing machine woke us up. Maybe it was from the adjacent building, but it was heard from the room i stayed. Nonetheless, it is a clean, good-valued hotel, with internet access, (touch of civilization), decent, albeit not impressive, breakfast, and well above average (but not beyond par) hospitality. Oh, did I mention no-frill? good. Last not but least, the backdrop of the hotel is a magnificent. It was beautiful looking outside of the window. That alone makes some of the downsides compensated. If we go out to Moab, we will probably go back to Gonzo. Wait for us!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depttop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

There are cheaper places in Moab but none compare to the Gonzo Inn. Its a one off and unique hotel with its own style and quirkely decorated with something different catching you eye all the time. Bed was real comfy and the suite was well equipped. The pool and spa were a well come relief to the heat. Cost $169 for one night but well worth it. Close to all amenities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
2,762 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 34 in Moab
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
785 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonzo Inn

Property: The Gonzo Inn
Address: 100 W. 200 South, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#6 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gonzo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gonzo Inn is designed with comfort and fun in mind. The eclectic expression of southwest influences, retro 70's and industrial era is entertaining and tantalizing to the senses. All rooms are uniquely decorated with superior furnishings,vibrant colors and hand-selected materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Gonzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gonzo Hotel Moab
Gonzo Hotel Moab
The Gonzo Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing