We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special in Moab.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gonzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gonzo Inn
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Something special in Moab.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

On a recent trip to visit several National Parks in Utah we stayed for three nights in Moab at the Gonzo Inn. Ideally located close to but not directly on the Main Street in town. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the linens were perfect and having a balcony or patio gives you the opportunity to enjoy the warm evenings. The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaRosaKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    226
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
177
358
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been pleasantly surprised how spacious and really nicely decorated rooms are. We stayed in quite a few inns and lodges during our road trip and The Gonzo Inn by far was the best. Very clean room, very friendly staff, good wifi coverage, peaceful. Really one thing I regret is that I didn't stay there for longer...we are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alewis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoMermaid
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this inn! Super clean, amazing bed, great sheets and pillows! Cool concrete shower, nice small patio porch off of room. REALLY good breakfast (a big step above the normal free breakfast offered at most hotels with a great assortment of healthier choices).

Great service at front desk. Artwork located here and there is fun and a great touch.

We are looking forward to returning to this cool inn as soon as we can and spending more than a night. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gonzo Inn and found it to be eclectic, funky and comfortable. We chose a Gecko Suite for our two day stay. In the main room there was a sofa, hidden tv, fireplace, table and chairs plus the kitchenette...which opened onto the balcony. In the bedroom we had a second hidden tv, comfy bed and another balcony. The bathroom was large and well appointed --- except the jetted tub is really for one person, not two. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. It is located near the center of town, but was surprisingly quiet. We will stay here on our next trip to Moab.

Room Tip: We loved the Gecko Suite overlooking the pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family loved this hotel. Great location, nice pool and lots of funky/cool artwork all over the place. The room was great, it accommodated our family of 5 very well. The staff was friendly and the morning breakfast was an added bonus.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with 2 balconies facing the pool. The ground floor pool-facing rooms would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for one week with the family at the Gonzo Inn. The hotel is in the middle of downtown Moab, but tucked away in a side road, so the place is quiet, yet conveniently located if you want to explore the town walking. Moab Adventures is right across the street, which was great for us since most of our tours started there.
We had some kind of appartment, two connected rooms, one a traditional bedroom, the other one had a kitchenette, a dining table and a sleeper sofa. Rooms ok in size, furniture in good condition, a very hard working aircon (which was much needed at 35+ degrees Celsius throughout the day).
Breakfast was included (bagels, cereals, bananas, coffee, juice etc.) The pool is not supersized, but clean and wonderfully refreshing after a day of hiking or cycling.
The people working at the Inn were very friendly, and made us feeling at home right from the start.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Gonzo Inn during April 2013, and we had a nice room. However, the breakfast was not so good.

We knew that we were paying a moderately high room rate, but we accepted that rate rate when we booked the room. When we checked out, we found that a significant additional charge ("resort fee") was added. That's ridiculous. This is hotel in the middle of town. I have no idea why they would charge a "resort fee" when it does not appear to be a resort.

Room Tip: Lunch at Quesilla Mobilia down the street. Yummy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ognog1, General Manager at The Gonzo Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your standards. We have recieved alot of great compliments on the Breakfast items served here, however we would love to hear your recommendations on any changes. To clarify we do not charge a resort fee that is hidden. The resort fee is included and quoted in your rack rate and is emailed to you at the time of booking, and there is no additional charges at check out. Please feel free to email us with your feedback to gonzoinn@gonzoinn.com. We value our guest and their experience with us and hope we may have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
9.5 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonzo Inn

Property: The Gonzo Inn
Address: 100 W. 200 South, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#6 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gonzo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gonzo Inn is designed with comfort and fun in mind. The eclectic expression of southwest influences, retro 70's and industrial era is entertaining and tantalizing to the senses. All rooms are uniquely decorated with superior furnishings,vibrant colors and hand-selected materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gonzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gonzo Hotel Moab
Gonzo Hotel Moab
The Gonzo Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing