We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place...”
Review of The Gonzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gonzo Inn
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Gonzo gave us a great last minute deal on a beautiful suite. Staff is super friendly and the rooms are as big as
small apartments. Great place for an extended stay in Moab. Location is perfect as well. Stay there, you wont be sorry....

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 756 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Pet friendly. Felt cozy in the bedroom, but overall a very spacious room. We had a balcony and with lots of useful things: fridge, coffee machine, sink, table, chairs, almost an entire kitchen actually. We were there in the middle of winter and it snowed overnight during our stay. Never felt cold at all inside of the room, lots of blankets. Great location in center of Moab. The front desk is not manned 24/7 and that was a small downside. The breakfast voucher was not as useful because some of the venues were actually closed and the clerk, once we connected with the front desk, was unaware of that. Minor obstacles, overall enjoyed the say greatly.

Room Tip: Upstairs is good because the balcony will have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

While on vacation we tend to wing it without reservations and try to try different places, but this will be our standard stay next time we visit Moab.

Like others said the styling is eclectic but in a tasteful way and just the name to me conjures up images of Hunter S. Thompson and his wild ways.

The room was well designed and the location is good for walking into town. Our first floor room had a small patio outside which was nice just to relax in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrWilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent 6 nights here and would go back in a heart beat! Freaky styling throughout the whole place....the backwards clock as an example..
Was afraid the lobby hrs was going to be a problem....closed from evening to 7 am, but it work well for us. The lack of a breakfast on site was quickly remedied by the food voucher they give you. We used ours at "the love muffin"....hand made, up scale pannini's every morning...very pleasant surprise.
The walk in shower was a pleasant surprised too...This is not your chain type hotel! We sipped wine on our balcony.
Frig and microwave only in our room..but we were on vacation and in room food prep was not on our to-do list....
The state run liquor store within walking distance was perfect for our evening wine runs.
It was allittle more expensive than the chain hotels on the fringe of town, but we liked the fact we could walk half a block and be in town.

Room Tip: Second floor may be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've stayed at the Gonzo Inn at least four different times on my visits to Moab. The units are owned by various people and managed by the hotel. Most units have a 1 bedroom suite attached through a lock-out to another studio. The suites have a mini-kitchen (most lack a stove) but have a fridge and microwave. I prefer the upstairs units since they have high ceilings and no-one is walking above you. The pool is nice and they have a free breakfast or a coupon for a diner in the off-season. The advertised rates can be high, so sometimes it is better to just walk-in and negotiate the rate, especially in the low season since many of the other hotels in town (and the Gonzo) are basically empty.

It is a quick walk to many of the restaurants and shops in town, but the property is located off of the main road so is a bit more quiet than other places.

Room Tip: You may not have a choice, but try for upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scottporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions on the main drag in Moab. We stayed here in January and paid a very reasonable off-season rate. Our room was spacious (king bed in a bedroom and pull-out sleeper in the living room) with a compact kitchen area... perfect for reheating left-overs and afternoon snacks. The pool was closed in January but our family enjoyed the large hot tub. The in-room coffee was actually drinkable (we're coffee snobs). Fast, wireless internet was provided at no charge. My only (very minor) complaint is that the kitchen was stocked with paper/plastic only. A real glass coffee cup to put in the microwave would have been greatly appreciated!
Thanks, Gonzo Inn. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tagesuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Gonzo is a boutique-style hotel just off the main street of Moab. It has a Southwestern style architecture and the rooms are nicely appointed on two floors - but beware! There are no elevators! The rooms all have flat-screen TVs, mini-fridges and microwave ovens. The beds are super comfortable. Most of the upper-storey rooms have a small balcony but unfortunately, there is no view. There is a lovely outdoor pool and spa at the back of the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and offers lots of advice. For the reasonable price, I definitely recommend the Gonzo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
9.5 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
846 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
2.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 35 in Moab
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonzo Inn

Address: 100 W. 200 South, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#6 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $141 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gonzo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gonzo Inn is designed with comfort and fun in mind. The eclectic expression of southwest influences, retro 70's and industrial era is entertaining and tantalizing to the senses. All rooms are uniquely decorated with superior furnishings,vibrant colors and hand-selected materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gonzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gonzo Hotel Moab
Gonzo Hotel Moab
The Gonzo Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing