We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”
Review of Aarchway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aarchway Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
prescott,arizona
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Have not stayed here for years and decided to stay here on recent trip. Trip had to be delayed due to adverse weather, which when we rescheduled was a Friday night- bad news in Moab for lack of accommodations and weekend prices.. So we took the "room" which was an apartment on third floor- huge...no elevator yet, but one promised this winter. Luggage trek was not fun coming or going, but doable. Furnishings were comfortable, including the bed and it was very quiet. Location is on edge of town, which is not convenient, but ok. Kitchen was well appointed, but could have been cleaner. In spite of size and large quantity of furnishing (dead wall clock), there is no proper desk at which one can work, so I set laptop on kitchen table. This was tile with deep spaces between them and many crumbs occupying them- probably could easily have been vacuumed out. Did not have their breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sueprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Hohnstein, Guest Relations Manager at Aarchway Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Aarchway Inn. Along with the addition of elevators, we have decided to renovate and restyle our apartments as well. We hope the new floor plan is more vacation friendly for all of our guests. We hope you have the opportunity to pass through Moab again and choose Aarchway Inn as your vacation home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    482
    145
    39
    9
See reviews for
547
462
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A delightful two night stay at Aarchway Inn. The hotel was clean and had great decor. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and the beds were comfortable. The price was fantastic and half the price of a chain hotel next door. We will definitely stay here again when back in Moab.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Hohnstein, Guest Relations Manager at Aarchway Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Wow! What a joy to read your review of your recent stay with us. It has been shared with our entire staff. We want all of our guests to view Aarchway Inn as their vacation home away from home when visiting Moab. I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Two of us stayed one night on both November 15, 2013 and again on November 20, 2013. On Nov 20, everything was near perfect. We entered Moab without a reservation and noticed a $69 room on the sign at the Aarchway Motel on the north end of town. After a swing through town to look at other hotels from the outside, we returned to the Archway. Of course, the $69 drew us back, but so did the presentation of the motel itself. The outside was well kept, nicely painted, and it looked as if it was new. The desk attendant was friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and quiet which are my highest priorities in a hotel room. We were located on the second floor facing inward toward the courtyard and swimming pool (closed for the winter). The two queen beds were nicely firm, but not hard. The room was very clean and nicely fitted with extra towels, wash cloths, double the soap and lotion. The shower had plenty of hot water with good flow. After a long drive from Denver, we retired about 9:30 pm. There was some noise from the courtyard area which I did not like, but I knew we were in bed earlier than most people, and that it could be expected. At nearly 10:00 pm sharp the party broke up. I don't know if the people were spontaneous in leaving the courtyard or if the management asked them to observe a 10:00 pm "quiet hour". At any rate, it was quiet the rest of the night. We did not hear much of the typical hotel "hall noise" such as the beverage machine, doors closing, elevator rings, etc. We were very pleased with our room.

The continental breakfast the next morning was average. There was a pancake machine, dry cereal, fresh oranges and apples, OJ, coffee, hot chocolate, the typical scrambled eggs, sausage, potato triangles (like Arby's), and biscuits and gravy, and several kinds of breads - somewhat dry. The "fresh" fruit mix was mushy and tasted like it was leftovers from the day before, and the day before, and the day before that, but the canned peaches tasted OK.

Overall, we were impressed with this hotel our first night there, especially for the $69 winter special. We came to sleep, not for the food.

Our experience on the night of November 20 was slightly less rewarding. On our return trip from the Grand Canyon, we stopped at the Aarchway again based on our first stay a week earlier. As we entered the room, #123, we noticed right away that both queen beds, just by looking at them from the door, were sagging. I mentioned it to my friend and we wondered if we should request a different room. It was late, and we were very tired, so we decided to give this room a try. Again, the room was clean and nicely fitted with towels, extra soap, extra lotion, etc. After showers, with plenty of hot water, we went to bed and noticed right off that the beds were like lying down into a big bowl of mush. There was absolutely no support whatsoever to either bed. The edges were hard but within three inches from the edge the bed sagged to the middle from all angles. Finally, towards morning, I found that if I lay with my head in one corner, the hard edges would form a sort "trough" into the soft and bottomless center while my legs rose from the center to meet the opposite corner. It was the best position I could find during my tossing and turning all night. It was very much like sleeping in a hammock.

The continental breakfast the following morning was pretty much the same as it was the previous week except that I think they were still using the same loaf of dry bread from the week before. I have had much better continental breakfast at other motels, but this one was OK. I would say it was average.

Upon check out, my friend told the desk attendant about the very poor beds. The attendant said she would "note" it, but did not write it down, at least not immediately.

My advice for this hotel: 1) Check the beds for sagging before you "soil" the room. Ask for another if you don't get the type of bed you want. After all, you are here to sleep, not to toss and turn all night long just to get up with an aching back. 2) If you want the most quiet location, try to get a room on the outside of the courtyard, especially if the pool is open (summer months) and you want to retire early. Outside rooms might have some highway noise, but Moab is a small town and the Aarchway is located on the very north end of town so traffic should be light after about 10:00 pm. There is a large parking area on the north side of the motel which might accommodate large trucks that could start early in the morning. I suspect the most quiet rooms would those on the south side. The south side has a small green space between the motel and the competition motel parking area next door. The winter season has so few tourists that I think just about any room in the Aarchway would be quiet.

This review sounds picky but my first priority is a clean room. The Aarchway has that. My second priority is a quiet room. The Aarchway has that. My third priority is a good bed. The Aarchway gave me one, but failed on the second night. I do not go to motels for the food so even though my review of the food is picky, it is not a priority of mine. I wrote the review for others who rely on the continental breakfast.

If not for the very poor beds on the second stay, I would have rated this motel a five. As it turns out, I liked this motel very much and will stay at it again, especially if it continues to have competitive rates in all seasons. BUT, I will be picky about the bed.

Room Tip: Check your bed for softness/firmness before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klkks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Hohnstein, Guest Relations Manager at Aarchway Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your recent "stays" with us. Our front desk staff is very diligent in passing along all comments and suggestions from our guests and yours was no exception. ,The general manager ordered new beds or not only that particular room but a few others as well. We do keep track of bed purchase dates for all rooms, however, some rooms are rented out more frequently than others. Thank you again your detailed review of our hotel. We hope you have the chance to visit Moab again and give us the opportunity to provide you with great customer service and a wonderful night's sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very nice accommodations, close to attractions in Moab. Breakfast provided, standard kinds of breakfast foods. A kind of "rustic " atmosphere. Shuttle provided to downtown. Recommend staying at Aarchway Inn if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelawareDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Hohnstein, Guest Relations Manager at Aarchway Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We really appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay. Your review has been shared with our staff. Moab has a lot to offer - great restaurants and so many adventures and attractions it's hard to experience everything during one vacation. We all hope you visit again and choose Aarchway Inn as your destination hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was not prepared for the niceness of this property! They have gone to great lengths to make you feel at home. Rooms were spotless, with little extras like a robe hook and curved shower rod. Beds were comfy. Offered a secure place to store bikes, as well as cleaning rags to wipe them off. Fresh cookies at the front desk, good wifi and tv. TONS of fun stuff for the kids to do outside....a playground, par cor course....a bball court (just check out a ball at the front desk). They had a BBQ available, we didn't use it but it looked awesome, all lighted at night. Even a fire pit!

The breakfast was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best "continental" breakfast I have ever been to! So many choices, all delicious! Sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, hashbrowns, eggs, pancakes, and more! The breakfast crew worked tirelessly to make sure everything stayed stocked (thanks, Helen, and crew!) and were so friendly. Will DEFINITELY stay here again, and recommend them to everyone!!! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68Shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Hohnstein, Guest Relations Manager at Aarchway Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
What a pleasure it was to share your wonderfully detailed review with our staff. Our goal is to have guests feel that Aarchway Inn is their vacation home away from home. We are pleased that you enjoyed all that we had to offer and hope you choose Aarchway Inn as your destination hotel the next time you are able to visit Moab. Thank you again - we really appreciate your taking the time to write such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our room was large and tastefully southwestern. The fresh baked afternoon cookies and gourmet coffee were a real treat. The full breakfast was much better than anticipated. Helen Hayes and her ladies kept the buffet clean and continuously replenished. The desk clerks were helpful and friendly. Our first visit to Moab was better because of he hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine7days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Hohnstein, Guest Relations Manager at Aarchway Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We all thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay with us. Your compliments were shared with everyone. We are especially happy you liked the décor of your room. We hope you visit Moab again soon and choose Aarchway Inn as your destination hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed one night in a King Room. Was very disappointed in the furnishings and the condition of the room - Lamp shades had burnt marks and the worst surprise came the next morning the the bathtub shower - long dark hairs. When I showed the hairs to the front desk, they just said "Sorry" when I asked for a rate adjustment. The other gal was taking a reservation for that night at a lower rate, as the Natl. Parks were closed. I had to ask for that lower rate which they then credited us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grvalleysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Hohnstein, Guest Relations Manager at Aarchway Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies and regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We continually strive to maintain a high level of décor, comfort and customer service. We update during our winter season and once again will be updating our rooms as well as adding elevators. Unexpected park closures were as disappointing for us as it was for our guests. As this had never happened before we were concentrating on providing alternatives and a discount if possible. As the closure continued we continued to provide alternatives for guests as Moab has a lot to offer in addition to the parks. I am pleased you received a credit for the matters you experienced as well. We hope you visit Moab again soon and give Aarchway Inn a second chance to provide you with the exceptional customer service and lodging you expected and deserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
8.9 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
2.7 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
816 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarchway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarchway Inn

Property: Aarchway Inn
Address: 1551 N Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-2096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Moab
#6 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aarchway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aarchway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Moab
Aarchway Hotel Moab
Aarchway Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing