We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic cottages close to Arches NP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Lizard International Hostel
Ranked #17 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic cottages close to Arches NP”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This hostel offers really cheap housing close to Arches NP. We stayed in a cabin, they are really cozy and made off timber. You get that hiking feeling without having to sleep in a tent. Considering the great location it's a surprise how cheap this place was. The only bad thing with the cabin was that it was really hot inside and you could not really have the AC on during the night due to it being very loud. There are showers and toilets on the campground.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_m_se_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    48
    20
    28
See reviews for
22
58
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

we rented the upper apartment of the house operated by lazy lizard hostel. (this review is not about their actual hostel operation but the upper apartment in their rental house property). I would not go back and i do not recommend for anyone to rent this place if you have just a few more dollars to spend on accommodation! the apartment was smelly, had broken walls and cabinetry, old ratty towels, dirty floors, ... overall unsafe feeling and queasy conditions. On the plus side, i did not see any vermin, and the place is in the town of Moab, close to a downtown strip of restaurants/bars and is very close to our destination of Arches National Park. We had reservations and arrived very late at night and left early the next day.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubwayRider82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

The Lazy Lizard is a lifesaver. As a hostel, it's no frills. But paying $30 or so for a private room for the night is amazing in Moab, plus there is a shower, restroom and wi-fi in the office. And a kitchen and oven. The bed and sheets seemed clean enough. The walls are paper thin and a little noisy, even if people are quiet. But hey, the price! Just wear ear plugs if it bothers you. If the restrooms are full, there is are outdoor shower and toilet facilities as well. The first night we had private rooms. There is a bed, dresser and hooks for clothes. I used wi-fi in the living room/office and watched a baseball game with other hostel regulars. People were cooking their own food, which we did in the morning, and there are laundry facilities on sight too. Parking was cramped but we found a spot everytime. There isn't much nearby but you can get to a grocer pretty quick. It is a warm and welcoming place, where the front desk staff are often outside smoking or hanging out with everyone else. We camped the second night for just $7, and it was a basic spot near the cabins. We could have stayed with other people in a dorm style for just $9 a night. If you expect the Ritz, then these prices should tell you otherwise. Staying in Moab for cheap and spending your cash on biking, hiking or other sports is priceless. Lazy Lizard Hostel is VERY cool!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulaguy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

National parks shouldn't be accessible only to the wealthy, which is why it's nice that there's an option to stay in Moab for half the price (or less) of other hotels. However, given the choice, I cannot say I would stay at the Lazy Lizard again. All I really need when I'm visiting a national park is a shower and a bed. But here my single room, while worth $25, was a little bit below acceptable (and I've stayed in some pretty awful places). There was a long dark hair on my bed, indicating that it probably hadn't been cleaned, and the shared bathroom looked like it hadn't been scrubbed in a while. The room walls were paper thin, so there was little or no privacy either.

That said, this place is probably a great place for students. There were some really friendly youngish-type persons staying there, and they were definitely into the old school hostel feel, swapping stories and hanging out with fellow travelers. For slightly older single travelers and non-students, I think you could stomach a night or two here, if needed. I didn't see what the cabins looked like, so maybe those are better for families and couples. I wouldn't recommend the rooms for families or older couples, though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkippyChunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

...the owners just don't care and just seem to milk it without reinvesting at least a little bit. I stayed in a cabin which was basic but perfectly fine. The big factor, however, that made me give this hostel a bad rating is the fact that the shared restrooms were not cleaned once during my stay. I arrived Friday night, and they were already dirty, and by Monday morning when I left they had deteriorated even further. So bring your own flip-flops. Fellow travelers who stay there also don't seem to care: is it really that hard to wipe away some spilled toothpaste, or to put a used band-aid into the bin?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Staying at the Lizard totally changed my trip plans. I met so many travelers there who had plans to see so much stuff that there was no way I could only stay three days as originally planned. Luckily the lizard is actually cheaper than most camp sites so I could also afford to stay and do stuff. It was just what I needed; a shower, a bed, and a place I could cook and keep my perishable foods. To top things off and finish my evening I enjoyed a soak in the hot tub and conversation with foreign travelers from three different countries. Just a typical night at the Lazy Lizard.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikey334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed in one of the bunk rooms and for $10/ night, there is no better deal. It is definitely not a luxury establishment, but if you're just looking for a bed and shower, this is worth the money. It would have cost more for a camp site and we would have to provide all the equipment.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.7 mi away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
3.5 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
3.8 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard International Hostel

Property: Lazy Lizard International Hostel
Address: 1213 S Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-3062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lazy Lizard International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Lizard International Hotel Moab
Lazy Lizard International Hostel Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing