We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hostel alright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Lizard International Hostel
Ranked #17 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is certainly a place to crash for a small amount of cash. I stayed in a private room which was small, stuffy and hot but cooled down some with the ac on. This place really does need a touch up and some serious cleaning. Roaches in the kitchen were not a welcome sight, the kitchen is probably the least clean area of this funky hostel. Staff was relaxed but only sort of friendly. It was a hot day. What I did like: the mattress was firm, not your usual hostel pancake

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

First of all I stayed in one of the big dorm rooms so I have nothing to add about the other accommodation options at the hostel.

If you have a car this hostel is perfect, quiet and slightly out of town. If you are walking you will definitely work up a sweat strolling into town.

The place is a bit run down and everything (carpets, kitchen utensils etc) is pretty well used. Bedding was provided and although old was clean and I did not have any issues with the dorm, apart from the fact that when it is fully booked there is not a lot of space for luggage.

The staff is kind of friendly but only to conclude business. Do not expect a Hostel International welcome with maps and a pretty girl at the front desk that's going to give you the "10 best things to do in Moab" blurb.

Like other reviewers have mentioned there is a fully functional kitchen, TV, computer, lounge area etc.

Bottom line: if you want the cheapest place in Moab (cheaper than most camp sites and includes bedding/bed/towels) and you don't mind that the last renovation was when they last still made moonshine there, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flip_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Lazy Lizard hostel is located at the south end of Moab, Utah. It's very old and somewhat rundown. However, the staff is friendly, they have satellite TV, a computer with free internet access, free wi-fi, a full kitchen with a stove, dishes, 3 refrigerators and a microwave. The rooms are slightly larger than the average hostel and they're air-conditioned. And it's $10.00 per night! They also offer private rooms and cabins. The Lazy Lizard ain't much to look at, but it's a great bargain for budget-minded travelers. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The only minor drawback is that it's located a mile or more from the middle of town, where all the action is.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefty78312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

First of all, for the price you really can't complain about this place. If you are paying $10 for a dorm bed don't expect the Mandarin Oriental! I have rated the Lazy Lizard as average as I think it could do with some tlc, a lick of paint here and there, catches on the dorm room doors and soap in the bathrooms! Seriously!? I must have stayed in close to a hundred hostels and i've never come across one which doesn't have soap available at the bathroom basins, by the time you've finished your business, realised there's no soap, gone to get your soap from your room, your germs have been unleashed on the other unsuspecting guests. Anyway, the location is good if you don't mind a short twenty minute walk to the town and the bed was squeaky but comfy. Some people may be concerned with the lack of locks on the dorms but I just left my valuables in the boot of my car, the town didn't look like it harboured many hardened criminals.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebigbrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Sorry about the lack of soap. You'd really like our new foamy soap dispensers in all the bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

the hostel is really economic in price, just $3X for a double room, the room is clean, at least can't see any bugs or insects, and there are towels and shampoo provided, which is unexpected as it's only a hostel. There are heater and air-conditioner in the room, but we no need to use either of them at night. there is kitchen to use, but there are cockroach in the kitchen cupboard, so use the dishes on the drying basket instead of inside the cupboard may be safer.
The resteoom is shared, sometimes there is out of order for one toilet, and the quality of showerhead is varied among the 3 showers in the female restroom.
anyway, the quality is acceptable for this price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

“Tourists don't know where they've been, travelers don't know where they're going.”

My friend and I stayed in a cabin at the Lazy Lizard and it was a perfect place to get some R & R and meet fellow travelers in between trekking through the amazing landscapes around Moab. It was comfortable & clean, and the kitchen was great for saving money on restaurants. (3 fridges and pots, pans, cooking utensils, etc) I would suggest bringing your own mess kit if its peak season, like most hostels, sometimes finding a spoon/fork etc can be a little challenging :-) Its one of those special places that the 'bad' reviews make someone like myself want to stay there. If you need coordinating linens, a mint on your pillow, and HBO, stay elsewhere! However, if you want to bump into a neat person and end up discussing your exploits around the globe on your way to the bathroom at 1am, if you want a place with character, if you'd rather save your money so you can stay longer or plan another weekend excursion, stay at the Lazy Lizard!! :-)

Room Tip: If you're new to the hostel scene, spring for a private room or cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

A very cool place. You can stay in the hostel, but they also have private rooms with simple porches looking out on the yard, and some very private cabins spread out over the property, which is extensive. All of this is part of a lively mix of people, conversations, decent kitchen, etc.

And it is not as far from downtown Moab as I thought. One mile, which is walkable and certainly bikeable. I have stayed in a number of places in Moab, and for the price and its overall character, this is one of the best.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.9 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
846 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
1.0 mi away
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard International Hostel

Address: 1213 S Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-3062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range: $12 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lazy Lizard International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Lizard International Hotel Moab
Lazy Lizard International Hostel Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing