We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Oaks Ranch
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Arches NP in Moab.
The drive up to the cabin was exciting and beautiful. Unfortunately we hadn't realised that the quickest road up to the cabin (45 min from Moab) was closing for roadworks. Luckily we got through on the first night when we arrived ( it was subsequently closed the next morning and we had to take the much longer route of 1hr 15min!). We had been emailed about the roadworks but it was one of 6 attachments and we must have missed it - i think this should have been mentioned in the main email and made very noticeable (e.g red, bold text!) as it had a huge impact on our stay and how long we spent driving to and from the cabin each day. That said I guess had we realised the road was going to be closed we may have cancelled our stay which would have been a mistake as it was the highlight of our trip.

All 3 roads up to the cabin were very scenic and quite fun to drive - we saw lots of wildlife in the mornings. We even tried the dirt road once but quickly regretted it - you need a 4 wheel drive. We held our breath the whole way and finally exhaled when we arrived without a puncture!

We stayed in the wildflower cabin which was adorable. It was very pretty & spacious inside. We loved coming home each evening and had fun cooking and eating dinner in the well-stocked kitchenette. Amazingly there was TV (upstairs & downstairs) and supposedly wifi internet but we were not able to get reception during our stay. The highlight was the outdoor shower - it was incredible! The bed was very comfortable and we had the best 2 nights sleep of our holiday. From the bed you could enjoy the gorgeous views but it still felt very private as the cabins are spread across the property out so you do not feel overlooked or have any noise from the other guests.

The whole experience was both exciting and relaxing and we can't wait to come back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Wildflower cabin was gorgeous, bed very comfortable, outside shower amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Front Office Manager at Whispering Oaks Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment, we appreciate your feedback and insight and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. In addition, we want to take the time to address your concerns:

First, regarding our procedure for notifying you about the road closures. We apologize for the misunderstanding and do feel it is very important to make sure our guests are as prepared as possible for the trip to the cabins. We have taken your comments under advisement and are reviewing our notification process.

Secondly, regarding the lack of wifi service. We try to maintain wireless internet service for the convenience of our guests, but recently we have had problems with the service and are working diligently with the provider to get the situation resolved.

Once again, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the cabin and all its amenities. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is the kind of place if it rains all weekend, you won't care. Bedrooms are individual resorts, there are plenty of couches and chairs thru-out house, and kitchen has every appliance and dish you can imagine. You'll experience the outside even when you’re inside due to the large windows and open floor-plan. We river-rafted one day and hiked Fisher Towers the next. The house is a long drive from both, but worth it, you just need to plan for that. We liked it because it wasn't easy for family members to be pulled away :) Each day was capped off with a long sit on the porch. When the wind was blowing in the front, the back porch was completely calm. WE LOVE THIS PLACE and for the price per head it was cheaper than anything else we compared. We will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Front Office Manager at Whispering Oaks Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful time!! We love to hear the experiences that our guests have and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Sagewood was a perfect three-day retreat for my husband and me. What you have to tolerate in drives up and down the mountain, you are repaid in full by the silence, views and presence of nature. I could sit at the little kitchen bar with a glass of wine and see snow-capped mountains and red valley views through the cabin windows. The Murphy bed was comfy enough, the kitchen quite efficient, and the overall decor of the cabin, a kind of cute-western--we loved the chandelier over the dining table! Great place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Front Office Manager at Whispering Oaks Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thanks for the positive review, it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I wanted to stay off the beaten path and I succeeded in finding the perfect place to go! I traveled with 2 of my sisters and my 14 year old son. He wanted to fish and was successful! The ponds were perfect. Small, and beautiful scenery with places to sit and wander. The Grey Dawn cabin looked just like the pictures and video. Perfectly quaint. Who needs a stove when you have a grill and hot plate? The cats were friendly! My son built a wonderful fire both nights. We could have easily spent a week there and wish we could have. I want to go back and explore some more. The bed upstairs was comfy, the pull out chair perfect for my son. The drive is gorgeous and you will want to take your time every time you go up or down the mountain. This was the perfect setting for us!

Room Tip: Grey Dawn perfect for 4 people. It was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Front Office Manager at Whispering Oaks Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Loving the Excitement and Enthusiasm!!! We couldn't agree more, thank you for taking the time to write a review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better place. The decor was lovely, the views incredible and all the furniture was very comfortable.For as small as the space is we were able to do a lot of living in it. As you can see from the pictures there is no oven and it does take 45 minutes to drive up from Moab, so factor that into your decision making. But for our family it was worth every bit of it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Front Office Manager at Whispering Oaks Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments!! We love to see all the different things people remember from their stay. As you mentioned it is a drive up the mountain and can take anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour but we have to agree with you that it is worth it. Thanks Again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The drive is worth it, its an amazing place to be after a day of exploration in Arches and Canyonlands NP's. The staff is wonderful and the feeling of being the only people on the Mt is grand. I can't say enough about it, you'll never know unless you go.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Front Office Manager at Whispering Oaks Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for the great review!!! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed in the Wildflower cabin, and really enjoyed the isolation. The cabin has a low impact profile to blend with the environment, but is delightfully furnished within. There's wi-fi & satellite TV, but no cell phone signal, so you can stay in touch one way or another if you need to. The living space is generous & cosy. Just to mention that the bed is small (and we're not big!) so may not suit all visitors.
We loved the drives up to the cabin....there are 3 options and all are scenic, particularly the dirt road. The walk around the property is lovely too. Saw heaps of birds.
Just one minor point. There are very limited views from the cabin & outside space. The trees obscure views down the mountain (but were not advocating cutting them down!). The upstairs windows are low so you have to bend down to look out, but you can catch the sunsets from there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Electra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
11.7 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,938 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
756 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
13.7 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 35 in Moab
1,376 reviews
22.2 mi away
Under Canvas Moab
Under Canvas Moab
#3 of 33 in Moab
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Oaks Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Oaks Ranch

Address: La Sal Loop Road, Moab, UT
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range: $159 - $965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Oaks Ranch is a gorgeous 50-acre private property located in the La Sal Mountains, just 20 miles southeast of downtown Moab, Utah. We offer 7 comfortable and inspiring cabins each with their own unique amenities, charm and decor. At nearly 8,000 ft elevation the views of the Moab area and the La Sal Mountain peaks are second to none. We are an excellent location for a romantic getaway, a family reunion event, corporate retreat or destination wedding! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Oaks Ranch Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing