We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Oaks Ranch
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better place. The decor was lovely, the views incredible and all the furniture was very comfortable.For as small as the space is we were able to do a lot of living in it. As you can see from the pictures there is no oven and it does take 45 minutes to drive up from Moab, so factor that into your decision making. But for our family it was worth every bit of it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Front Office Manager at Whispering Oaks Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments!! We love to see all the different things people remember from their stay. As you mentioned it is a drive up the mountain and can take anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour but we have to agree with you that it is worth it. Thanks Again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 144 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

The drive is worth it, its an amazing place to be after a day of exploration in Arches and Canyonlands NP's. The staff is wonderful and the feeling of being the only people on the Mt is grand. I can't say enough about it, you'll never know unless you go.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Front Office Manager at Whispering Oaks Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for the great review!!! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed in the Wildflower cabin, and really enjoyed the isolation. The cabin has a low impact profile to blend with the environment, but is delightfully furnished within. There's wi-fi & satellite TV, but no cell phone signal, so you can stay in touch one way or another if you need to. The living space is generous & cosy. Just to mention that the bed is small (and we're not big!) so may not suit all visitors.
We loved the drives up to the cabin....there are 3 options and all are scenic, particularly the dirt road. The walk around the property is lovely too. Saw heaps of birds.
Just one minor point. There are very limited views from the cabin & outside space. The trees obscure views down the mountain (but were not advocating cutting them down!). The upstairs windows are low so you have to bend down to look out, but you can catch the sunsets from there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Electra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Whispering Oaks Ranch, near Moab, Utah, is a lodge with several separate cabins, located in the mountains above Moab. It'snot easy to get to but is charming. Beautifully furnished rooms with very comfy beds, away from everything. You do need to bring food and drink up with you. You c an walk in the LaSal Nat. Forest from there.

Everything is self-service, there is a hot tub but no pool.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CarolPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We've stayed in Moab countless times but we've always camped. This time with a 4 month old we decided to stay in proper accommodation but we wanted something unique. We decided to stay in the Wildflower cabin at Whispering Oaks Ranch and we were not disappointed. The views were incredible that high up with the La Sals in the background. It was private, quiet and had everything we needed plus an outdoor shower which was great with the abnormally warm weather we had during our stay. The decor was cozy and inviting and if the idea of being too remote makes you anxious there's satellite TV. Only 30 min outside of Moab-the drive is stunning. This is definitely one of the best places Ive ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank targoszmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This place is up a mountain. The road is windy and slow. It is not the place to base yourself to explore the canyonlands.
It is beautifully furnished. The decor is impressive.
It is a lovely romantic retreat but not an ideal base for exploring Moab attractions. The owners are very up front about it's isolation; listen to them. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to be.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SABirder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed in Wildflower cabin for three nights and enjoyed being out of the heat and congestion of Moab. The drive up takes a bit of doing, but is totally worth it ( views!), and I agree with another review that suggested bringing up whatever you need for dinner because once you're there you won't want to leave. The cabin was very comfortable for two people and while there is some room for more, they would have to be OK with very little privacy.
The cabin was comfortably furnished, stocked with basics and had the added attraction of a very busy hummingbird feeder.
A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
15.8 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,985 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
12.6 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#7 of 37 in Moab
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Westside Flats
Westside Flats
#1 of 33 in Moab
165 reviews
14.9 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
23.7 mi away
Under Canvas Moab
Under Canvas Moab
#3 of 33 in Moab
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Oaks Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Oaks Ranch

Address: La Sal Loop Road, Moab, UT
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range: $159 - $965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Oaks Ranch is a gorgeous 50-acre private property located in the La Sal Mountains, just 20 miles southeast of downtown Moab, Utah. We offer 7 comfortable and inspiring cabins each with their own unique amenities, charm and decor. At nearly 8,000 ft elevation the views of the Moab area and the La Sal Mountain peaks are second to none. We are an excellent location for a romantic getaway, a family reunion event, corporate retreat or destination wedding! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Oaks Ranch Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing