We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Moab!”
Review of Pack Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pack Creek Ranch
Ranked #24 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I brought my parents to Moab for vacation. The three of us stayed at the Gates house. The cabin was very tastefully furnished. The view from the living room and the dining room was incredible. The kitchen was well stocked with very good kitchenware. We really enjoyed being able to cook our own meals. The bed was comfortable. It's a 15 minute drive from Moab but well worth it, because the view during the drive is incredible (part of the La Sal mountain loop). The owner was very friendly and helpful. One of them even gave us some wine for Mother's day dinner since we just arrived and the liquor store was closed on Sunday. I have traveled for a bit, and this is hands down the best place I have ever stayed. I would heartily recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmengrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

If you want a peaceful place to stay, this is it. It is 15 minutes southwest of Moab, right against the La Sal Mountains, very pretty and refreshing. I travelled here with my husband, my mother, my aunt and our 2 dogs. I wanted a quiet place that accepted pets. We stayed at the M4 cabin. Nice enough cabin, rustic, nothing fancy. Kitchen was well equipped and they had a gas grill outside & a picnic table. Nice grassy area for the dogs. Beds were mediocre. Floors are very creaky. The hot tub is about a 50 yard walk across the grass, very nice and clean, there are clean showers and restrooms in the building. Felt it was a little overpriced for the type of accommodation. It is on the opposite end of town from Arches and Canyonlands. It takes 30 minutes to get to the Arches gate and an hour to get to the Canyonlands gate. Nice road leading up to the ranch, cows grazing alongside. There are no TV's or internet and cell phone service is sketchy. We have Verizon and it worked ok.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pugchic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Moab, nearby, is a dull town close to stunning national parks. Stay instead at Pack Creek Ranch, just below the la Sal mountains. The setting is wonderful, the cabins clean, spacious and warm - log fires in winter and bbqs in summer. We visited when the snow was deep and the sky blue and the two nights we stayed were a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I traveled here with my sister and elderly mother, and stayed in the Meadow House for 5 nights. Although the ranch is a good 8+ miles outside of town, it was well worth the drive to be away from the noise and dust of Moab. Being just after Labor Day, the ranch was very quiet, except for the coyotes and crickets. This is not luxury accommodation, but very comfortable and a wonderful way to escape from TV, internet and the usual fast pace of life. The beds were great, the kitchen was well supplied, and there were lots of towels. The pool is beautiful - tucked away from the breeze, but it was Freezing.. ;-0 -

I have stayed also at the Red Cliffs Lodge. These are two very different properties. If you want more people around (and more services), go to RCL. If you want more living space and a change in scenery from the red rocks, go to the ranch.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Recently stayed at the Pack Creek Ranch while on a Southwest trip with our two grown children. The little log cabin, called Trail's End for it's location, was such a haven for us after returning from two days hiking in Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. Outside of the tourist town of Moab, in the mountains, this sweet ranch is the perfect place to unwind. We were only there for two nights but could have stayed for weeks. Sat on the porch each night with an unobstructed view of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen. The cabin had everything that we needed including a fully equipped kitchen. After eating on the road for days, I thoroughly enjoyed making a baked ziti for my family. After dinner we had our wine on the little porch where we enjoyed the sunset and the stars that fillled the night. I would recommend this little bit of heaven to anyone who is traveling in the Moab area and wants a bit of a retreat from busy towns and hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We had an amazing stay at the Pack Creek Ranch. We stayed in the Meadow House. The ranch location was fabulous and truly enhanced our visit to the Moab area. The grounds were beautiful. There were two horses in the field behind our cottage and we have a great view of the LaSal Mountains. The temperatures were a bit cooler than in Moab and Arches. The grounds were well maintained and very attractive.

The main living/common area of the cottage was the highlight of the accommodations. The stone fireplace, comfortable coach and love seat were a great place to relax after a day of touring. The large dining table was great for family meals. There was a full bathroom off of the living room.

Bedrooms: we had a large "master" bedroom that featured a queen bed that was comfortable; the second room called a "den" featured a full kitchen, a dedicated full bathroom and a sleeper sofa (the sofa was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in); and there are two twin beds in a great loft accessed via a stone stairway. All of the sleeping accommodations were fine except the sleeper sofa -- it was not usable in our opinion and since we planned on using the sleeper sofa we had to make other arrangements (closed the sofa and used the living room sofa). I highly recommend not renting the Meadow House if you plan to use the sleeper sofa.

The pool was very nice but very cold. The water temperature was 72 degrees which is too cold for all but kids! We did not use the spa, but it looked very nice.

Services were limited, but the staff on hand was friendly and helpful if you needed anything. There are no TV's, telephone or internet at Pack Creek Ranks (a plus for us!) Cell service was available but there was not a very strong signal.

I cannot emphasize enough how much we enjoyed our "rustic" stay at Pack Creek Ranch. Should we visit Moab again, we will book a room at the ranch.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed 5 nights at the Ranch House at Pack Creek Ranch, and loved it! The cabin was very spacious and comfortable, and felt like we were staying at someone's home, not a rental.
In front of the house is an apple orchard, and we saw deer come every evening to eat the apples which had fallen. We were able to help ourselves to apples and peaches right off the trees, and once a day would give the horses in the neighboring pastures an apple treat. At night we could hear coyotes across the canyon.
The view from the back deck was not as nice, as it overlooked the pool (which was closed for the season) and bath house. On the plus side, it was just a quick dash to the bath house, which had a nice hot tub and sauna -- great after long days hiking.
The cabin was stocked with plenty of books, magazines and games, and the kitchen had everything (except food, of course) needed for cooking, as well as a washer/dryer. It also came with a cat; we named him Aspen.
Overall, it was one of the most relaxing, peaceful places we have stayed. We would definitely go back the next time we go to the Moab area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jench65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
17.1 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 37 in Moab
2,958 reviews
13.7 mi away
Westside Flats
Westside Flats
#1 of 33 in Moab
163 reviews
14.9 mi away
Moab Springs Ranch
Moab Springs Ranch
#11 of 33 in Moab
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
24.6 mi away
Under Canvas Moab
Under Canvas Moab
#3 of 33 in Moab
510 reviews
15.8 mi away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pack Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack Creek Ranch

Address: Abbey Road, 1075 South Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range: $18 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pack Creek Campground is a family owned and operated business under new ownership! We offer affordable nightly and monthly rates for tents and RVs. The Pack Creek runs parallel to our property and the shade trees all add to a rustic camping experience. Campfires are welcome and so are the family pets! Come check out the new improvements at Pack Creek Campground in beautiful Moab, Utah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pack Creek Ranch Hotel Moab
Pack Creek Ranch Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing