We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Valley Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Moab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Everything about Castle Valley Inn was delightful. The rooms are attractive, the breakfast is marvelous, the landscape spectacular and the couple who own and run it are dedicated and friendly. It's outside of Moab in a a valley surrounded by red rock buttes and, for those who are not extreme sports enthusiasts, a quiet lovely end to days spend in either Arches or Canyonlands Parks.

Room Tip: There are no restaurants in Castle Valley, but nearby are two hotels and Jason will make you reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopitaboylston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    54
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
70
270
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Castle Valley Inn and we absolutely love it! It's located about 17 miles outside of town which offers so much privacy and peace and quiet.
The drive along the river is spectacular.
Jason and Jeanette are the nicest hosts. We enjoyed chatting with them in the morning along with their son Judah who is adorable!
Jason's blueberry pancakes and Jeanette's banana bread were amazing.
I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADeckerCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubeda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We couldn't find lodging in Moab, and so stayed here in July of 2012 for two nights. We were extremely pleased with our accommodations and surroundings, and glad to be out of Moab. It's about a 15+ minute drive to Arches National Park, and after a day wandering around there, Castle Valley Inn was a welcoming oasis. Beautifully planted with flowers and fruit trees, the inn is lovingly maintained. The friendly owners cook a tasty breakfast and offered an excellent alternative to one member of our party who is gluten free. The valley itself is incredibly picturesque.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat34675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Set in beautiful, secluded grounds and a short drive from the attractions of Moab. Very close to Arches National Park and just over an hour from Canylonlands. The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful, suggesting attractions and things to do. Home cooked breakfast on the terrace is a real treat.

Room Tip: The Wingate Room doesn't get the morning sunshine - so ideal if you like a lie in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Bed - 5 stars. Breakfast -5 stars. Both beyond our expectations. Bed - felt like a bed in Aspen Four Seasons, but with a better view & home style comfort. Breakfast - hearty, but healthy; plenty to eat for adventure energy. Hosts - J&J are there to please, just ask and they will do their best, fast. Sit with them at a meal and discover their life of intention. BONUS - outdoor hot tub to relax sore muscles and mind year round, day light or star gazing. Setting - remote, right off the Colorado River, easy to find. Website details accommodations well, no false promises. Rooms and prices for all types and ages. Going back next fall.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here in mid October as part of a trip through 16 states and plenty of B&Bs. Though nice, this did not compare to the first tier of places we stayed. if you like isolation this place is for you though we found it a bit too far away from things to do and attractions. We were given a nice welcome upon arrival, though never again spoke to our hosts (raising young kids and running a B&B taking up all their time). There is no large common area for guests to assemble so that we never spoke with other guests except at breakfast. However, breakfast tables a set for 4, so once again there was limited opportunity to socialize with others. yes, the setting is nice, the room was nice as well as clean. I have no complaints at all, however it doesn't have the extras which made a few other B&Bs stand out on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Castle Valley Inn for 4 nights in October. As with many other guests to Castle Valley, we loved the location, even though it is a long way from a town of any size. We enjoyed the fact that we couldn't get cell reception out there, and we ended up spending time in the hammocks outside, watching the birds and animals. The breakfasts were very good, and Jason and Jeanette work hard to keep the place running smoothly. They have a part-time on-site manager, as well as staff members to help with breakfast and cleaning the rooms. Previous reviews have brought up a lot of different topics, so I'll give you our take on them:
1. The rooster -- Yep! He's there, so expect him to start cock-a-doodling around 4:30. I sleep through anything, so he did not bother me, but he woke my husband up each morning.
2. Rooms -- We stayed in the Chenle Room (least expensive, with the bathroom out in the hallway beyond the breakfast room). It was small, and somewhat inconvenient to have to go down the hall for a bathroom, but I had purposely chosen that room because it was the least expensive, and their website makes it clear that the bathroom is down the hall, so that was a financial choice that I made. If you are uncomfortable going outside your room to get to the bathroom, you probably will want to sign up for a more expensive room.
3. Breakfasts -- Jeanette's breakfasts were very tasty, and the varied from day to day. The only suggestion I would make is to prepare extra food so that big eaters (my husband, for example!) get enough to eat. When we stay at b&b's, we usually count on a big, hearty breakfast so that we don't need to stop too early for lunch.
4. Location -- Yes, it is quite a drive from Moab or any other town, so you need to plan mealtimes accordingly. Like several other reviewers, we brought prepared food back to our room and had a cozy little "picnic" in the Chenle Room. As city people, we really enjoyed being away form the hustle and bustle of towns, and when we did want to eat in Moab, we did so fairly early to accommodate for the ride back to Castle Valley.
5. Setting -- This was one of the most beautifully-located places we stayed while in Utah. There are lots of wild animals and birds to watch, and walking around the grounds is fun in and of itself.
6. The management -- Jason and Jeanette are friendly, hard-working owners, and they work very hard to address guests' issues when problems arise. Jason said that he is "always learning," such as when they had lost power in September.
In summary, it was a lovely place to stay, and I wish Jason, Jeanette and their son all the best in running this beautiful oasis in the desert!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GroversMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvibnb, Owner at Castle Valley Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Just wanted to say thank you for such a descriptive and positive review! Also, we just wanted to mention that the rooster has "flown the coop". He and his family have moved to another town so don't be worried about hearing the cock a doodling at 4:30AM :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.4 mi away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#6 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
8.9 mi away
Cali Cochitta Bed & Breakfast
8.7 mi away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#3 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Valley Inn

Property: Castle Valley Inn
Address: 424 Amber Lane, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castle Valley Hotel Moab
Castle Valley Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing