We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean”
Review of Super 8 Moab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Moab
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Western Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not clean”
Reviewed August 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I, along with another couple, just returned from Moab (July 29-Aug 1) and we stayed at the Super 8. I would not recommend this hotel as we had several issues.
We didn’t check in until late (11 pm) and we wanted to pay cash, however the front desk told us we couldn’t pay cash because they had already put the cash box away. We had to give them our credit card and were told that we could pay cash when we checked out, which we did. When we returned home we noticed that there was a charge on our card for the 3 nights and an additional charge for $168. We called the hotel and they said they would refund the first charge since we have already paid cash and they said the second charge was for another room that was under our name that we never showed up for. We have no idea where this came from or why they would have had another room under our name, but they said they are going to credit our card back.
This hotel is on the edge of town, so you have to drive downtown to shop and/or eat.

Other issues:
-We had to get our room keys reset every day because they weren't working. The couple with us didn't have this problem, so I'm assuming it was just a problem with our door/card reader.
-The hotel is pretty dirty. It has a strange smell and the rooms were not clean.
-The couple traveling with us ended up with several bites, presumably from bed bugs. The breakfast area is always very crowded and is not that great (donuts, cereal, coffee, toast, bagels, juice, etc.) We only ate there one day and we saw the hotel staff restocking the donuts without any gloves on, so that pretty much ruined our appetite. We ate at Denny’s a couple times and it was very good.
-We heard a guest complaining about the WiFi not working.

Here are some other reviews about area restaurants.
Moab Diner-We ate breakfast there and Denny’s was much better. This place is not very clean.
Eddie McStiff’s-Overated. The food (we ate there for lunch) was not that great.
Moab Brewery-Very good! Great atmosphere and the prices were reasonable.
The Brandin Iron-Clean place with good food. We ate dinner here and would recommend it.
Wake & Bake Café and Moab Creamery-not impressed with their ice cream selection, they just have the basics (vanilla, chocolate, strawberry, rocky road, etc). We ended up getting some iced coffee drinks and there were good, but a little pricey.

We rented UTVs from Moab Outback and thoroughly enjoyed our time, even though we only had them for less than 4 hours. Next time we’ll get them for a full day!
We took the daytime jet boat trip with Canyonlands and would recommend it. Rory was a great guide and it was neat to see the river and the rocks.
We also visited Arches National Park and Deadhorse State Park. Both parks are neat and worth a visit.
We will be returning to Moab, but we won't be staying at the Super 8.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boddie_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at Super 8 Moab, responded to this review, August 22, 2009
Thank you for your posting. Our staff takes a lot of pride in offering a clean room. I could not find any cleaning problems reported by guests on Aug. 2, 2009. It is customary for us to help guest find an alternative room if they have problems with the room they are assigned to for whatever the reason may be; Unfortunately, what the hotel doesn't know, it can't help resolve. However, I have communicated your comment to the manager and he will follow-up with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    643
    490
    178
    118
See reviews for
664
586
116
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed one night in a room with two queens. It was okay but it had a moldy/ humid smell. Beds were clean though. Wouldn't want to stay there again if I wasn't desperate.
The kids enjoyed the pool though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurogirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMoab, Management Liason at Super 8 Moab, responded to this review, August 22, 2009
Thank you for your posting. We are asking our housekeepers to air out the room daily to periods of high season.
We apologize that this was not done during the morning of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moab hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

It was only $69 a night, and in my experience, you get what you pay for, so I was skeptical. The majority of the reviews indicated that it was older, basic, but clean. I was looking for a budget option, so I booked. I got older and basic, but I did not get clean.

I’m not a clean freak, but I do expect not to stick to the tables. The small table in the room was so covered in dirt that your clothes, skin, papers, etc. would stick to the surface. I took one of the washcloths and started a full clean. That white washcloth was a very gross brown color by the time I was done. I brought antibacterial wipes on the trip, and I used almost all of them on that room. There was some sort of goo stuck to the carpet, which I couldn’t completely remove. The worst part was the beds. I woke up the first night at 2am lying directly on the bare mattress. The bottom sheet was not fitted (which most hotels do for simplicity) and it was too small, so the slightest movement would pull it out, and subsequent movements would shift it out from under your body. I was so disgusted that I almost hopped in the shower right then and there. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, thinking it was just that one sheet, but this happened repeatedly.

The staff was friendly, but very poorly trained. We needed to have something mailed to the hotel. The girl at the front desk couldn’t tell me the address of the hotel to save her life. She ended up looking in the phonebook, which ended up being incorrect. When we checked out, a different employee couldn’t figure out how to run a credit card. The breakfast food was mediocre. I always ended up getting breakfast just before it closed for the day, and the place was disgusting by the time I got there. There were crumbs and trash all over the table. The staff must put it out at 6am and not touch it again until they have to clean up.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_happyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We only stayed one night in Moab. While on a road trip we made these reservations only 1 day prior to arriving and this limited us to availability in town. The was not very friendly or helpful. The room was old and the carpet was a bit shabby. The hallway had a terrible smell that thank goodness did not permeate into the room. Not sure when the last time the bedspreads had been changed or washed. While they offered a continental breakfast, we passed. OK if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegas_Travelers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We sayed here in May, it was kind of a last minute trip and this was the most reasonably priced hotel we could find. (109 a night). It was on the main road thru Moab but not right in the heart of all the shopping/ restaurants. Which was fine for us. It is actually on the end of town closest to Arches which was our favorite place :) The hotel worked for us because they accept pets. I think there was a $10 fee. They said they had High speed Internet in the rooms. The two nights we staeyd it wasnt working. They did have a good free breakfast in the mornings. Crowded but there was a lot of food to choose from. We dud not use it but looked like it had a nice outdoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We liked this town - it was very busy and unlike other tourist towns, the prices were reasonable. The hotel was very good. The breakfast was busy, but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmTeeNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
253 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I've stayed here a few times, and I like it every time. Relatively cheap for Moab, nice, clean, decent-sized (tho not huge) rooms. Plenty of vending, decent continental breakfast. Wifi worked great, there's a computer in the lobby too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moab hotels
1.8 mi away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
788 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
1.2 mi away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#21 of 34 in Moab
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Moab
Motel 6 Moab
#30 of 34 in Moab
456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Moab
Days Inn Moab
#28 of 34 in Moab
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Moab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Moab

Property: Super 8 Moab
Address: 889 N Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2162
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Moab 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern rooms. Comfortable and clean guest rooms with 47" flat screen TV's, Free Wi-Fi, large heated pool and hot tub all at a great value. Our hotel also has large ample parking for tow trailers.Enjoy a free continental breakfast at the hotel or walk next door to Denny's Family Restaurant for a cooked to order meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Moab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Moab Hotel Moab
Super Eight Moab
Moab Super Eight
Moab Super 8
Super 8 Moab Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing