We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location...ruined” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hole 'N the Rock

Hole 'N the Rock
Ranked #34 of 90 things to do in Moab
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 14-room home, built in 1945 by its eccentric owner, is a definite must if you're driving near Moab.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful location...ruined”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The massive whitewashed lettering "Hole in the Rock" is a blight enough on the landscape, but almost the least offensive thing I found about this nasty little money grabbing road stop. It is user and pet unfriendly in numerous ways. If a place (not just a person) can be obnoxious, this is the place. The source of my frustration is part was that it is a natural place to stop if approaching Moab from the east or the south and it has some wonderful natural beauty and interest about it that the site operators seem to both obscure and corrupt. There were a couple of pieces of interesting ironworks sculpture. The overpriced "no photographs allowed (because we want to sell you overpriced photographs)" tour of the house in the rock was interesting, hence my high rating.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gadfly_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    117
    74
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
211 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“quirky and delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

we saw the sign on the way to needles and asked a local about it, it sounded good so we stopped. A man and his wife carved a diner and later a home out of a huge rock, then he started collecting outdoor sculptures and signs, has to bee seen to understand Also has a zoo, didn't go in though

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank faye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfied, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very interesting. Worth the visit. Amazing and talented owners that made this. I enjoyed all the facts and work that had went into this. The worst part of the tour was that the person that took us through had just came in from smoking and smelled so bad that I had a headache by the time we left.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CountryTraveler1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Going Back in Time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is very interesting and a must see if you are travelling through the area. It has gift shops and a general store. We took the tour of the private residence chipped out of the rock. It is amazing someone could accomplish this feat. It is like you are back in the 1950's. The grounds outside are just as interesting, old mining equipment, old signs, even an old Diamond T "Mater" tow truck. There is a new zoo added recently but we did not check it out (raining). I loved this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kehoe356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Interesting but no pics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Fun quirky attraction south of Moab, worth the drive later in the day as it not far and quick drive. The house and old 60s decor is fun, clean and movie like. But your not allowed to take pics, its not like people will sell them, people would still go if they were there, not sure what the big deal is.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WelcomeMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole 'N the Rock also viewed

 

Been to Hole 'N the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing