We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B & B”
Review of The Babcock House

The Babcock House
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Appomattox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
170 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding B & B”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were looking for a nice B & B to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary while visitng site of Lee's surrender to end Civil War in Appommatax, VA. I saw picture of historic house in Appommatax brochure. I checked their website, called, spoke with Sheila (owner), was very impressed with pictures of rooms, menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and Sheila's willingness to accomadate our need for a 1st floor room and a gluten free menu. Our entire experience was outstanding. The room was beautifully decorated, with a large bathroom. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner - the food and service were excellent. Room and meals are moderately priced. We feel The Babcock House is a must for food and lodging if visiting Appommatax or just traveling through central VA. Treat yourself and spend a day or two here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank OttandBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tired and Untrue”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My college roommate and I have been meeting halfway between our respective homes in Roanoke and Midlothian for around 10 years. Appomattox and The Babcock House were the clear choice for a place to meet for lunch. After all, it's the only "game in town" and I believe that the owners are taking advantage of that fact! We stepped away from meeting here because their menu never changes, and we grew pretty tired of it! Unfortunately, we since have been forced to meet in Farmville (far for her) or Lynchburg (far for me). For several reasons, we decided to try this restaurant again. The surroundings are charming in this 150 year old home, the windows bring in much light and the waitress was inexperienced but pleasant and efficient. The owner stopped by to greet us asking if our meal was okay when my friend replied, "I had to ask for tabasco sauce because the Tuscan Chicken Sandwich was tasteless". The owner replied with, "Well, it's everyone else's favorite". She could have said,'Oh, let me take it off your bill' or at least say, 'I'm sorry it wasn't to your liking'. This sandwich was delicious years ago. I had the taco salad which was fine except the sour cream was anything but creamy. It ended up as dollops on the salad. We plan to never return!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annette037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great dinner menu, thursday 2 fers”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

comfortable setting good martinis, generally nice price, very good quality. highly recommend. less expensive than macie ds. sit down, table service with table service! best in Appomattox!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beowulftoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Babcock House Restaurant is located in a beautiful historic bed and breakfast and the restaurant open for lunch and you can also eat dinner their if you make reservations. The lunch menu has salads, excellent sandwiches, soups and daily specials. One of their specials is crab cakes on Thursday and they sell out quickly. The atmosphere is great and the quality of food is excellent. The prices are also very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneVa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Babcock House also viewed

 

Been to The Babcock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing