We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential”
Review of Longacre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Longacre
Ranked #2 of 4 Appomattox B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Potential”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Longacre Bed and Breakfast has a lot of potential. The owners are very nice and I really hate to give them a poor rating. We stayed in the carriage house which is very specious. The furnishings, especially the couch, are old and not very clean. The pool that is showed in the pictures of the carriage house is not for the use of guests. That was disappointing. The living room rug is just dirty. Breakfast was descent and we enjoyed visiting with other guests. Breakfast is only served at 8:30am. The bed was comfortable but it was small and just a metal frame, box springs and mattress. I mentioned potential. With some better furnishings and a thorough cleaning this would be a great place to stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Markoa320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

What a relief, after a very bad stay in Gettysburg, to come into Appomattox and find this fabulous estate with delightful owner/innkeepers welcoming us into their Tudor Mansion with southern charm that puts you at ease immediately. The rooms, the beds, the grounds, the meals, all exceptional. But the gracious manners that carried throughout our visit was one of the reasons for staying in a B&B in the first place. Rene and Dana seem to truly enjoy having guests in this home that Rene had dreamed of owning for years.
What a pleasure to be able to enjoy a part of her dream. Hopefully we'll be able to return and enjoy their hospitality for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the Magnolia is AWESOME.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed one night at the Longacre as a fun getaway for my husband and myself. We wanted to see Appomattox Court House and to be close to the great bike trails within a 30+ mile radius--it was a great location. The Longacre is very charming and definitely reminded me a English country house. The grounds were beautiful, even in fall with the leaves falling. Did notice a tennis court and an indoor pool, which would have been nice to use if we had more time. We stayed in the cozy and inviting Magnolia Room, which was charming and convenient with its own private entrance. The Innkeepers--mother and daughter, Renee and Dana, were very friendly and very helpful. We did take a previous reviewers advice and contact the Inn to verify our arrival, since it was a last minute booking. Dana was very responsive and gave us great directions in accessing the Inn. Though we were one of two guests staying that night, we felt like we had the entire place to ourselves, it was great. One minor suggestion for those that are very light sleepers, there are quite a few trains that "whistled" through town during the wee hours of the morning, I noticed it, however, my husband slept right through it--so if needed you may want to pack some earplugs or take a sleep aid. Also, there are a few good places to eat in town, but we wanted to venture out to Lynchburg and had dinner at a great Italian restaurant, La Villa de Toto--great food, great prices and great service--worth the drive (check out my review on tripadvisor, if interested). We even took a in a game of Miniature Golf next door to the restaurant--to work off our delicious meal.

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room is on the ground floor and can be accessed through the dining room. You would loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerichfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The choices in Appomattox are not many and most of them are very poor. This Bed & Breakfast is almost as charming as its owners and far superior to the motels in the area. The 2+ acre grounds are lovely, the accommodations are comfortable and clean, the location is good and the breakfasts are excellent. There is another B&B in the area that would be where you would want to go for noise and booze, and so we were not at all interested in it.

Room Tip: Since the operators are not always on site it would be best to make the initial contact with an emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

After spending 4 nights in ordinary accommodations in Harper's Ferry, I had a wonderful night's rest at the Longacre Bed and Breakfast in Appomatox. The home is very centrally located in Appamatox, not more than 3/4 mile from the Visitor's Center. I always approach B&Bs a bit cautiously since they run the gamut from extraordinary to unkept. My standards are not excessive - cleanliness, a comfortable bed, some privacy and bathroom facilities that allow private showers with basic ameniites. It is a bonus when the appointments are tasteful, a sitting area with suitable lighting for reading and hosts that are accommodating but respectful of privacy. Renee, our hostess was all of that and more. She offered us a room with maximum privacy, tastefully decorated and was sure to advise us that the enitre first floor was open for our use including the screened porch, large entertainment size TV, sitting room and the beautiful gardens outside. She and her husband were gracious and helpful with restaurant choices. Although breakfast was available, we were anxious to get an early start so we did not choose to stay for breakfast. Thankfully, the house was air conditioned since temps were at 105 degress on the day of our visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Mar
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I thought the house and the grounds were stunning at Longacre. I felt like I was in England, not Virginia, while there by the looks, but the hosts were warm and friendly with a great accent, that reminded me I was in the south! The room was clean, cute, and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious as well. Excellent price for what you get and less expensive than surrounding areas. Appomattox didn't have a whole lot going on, but since I was just passing through for the evening so I could visit the courthouse, it was great. I would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Where else do you end a Civil War tour but at Appomattox. We booked on the day and our first choice was gone, so we hoped we could get into Longacre. Longacre is a rather splendid 1930s Tudor Mansion, with a verdant sprawling garden. The rooms are comfortable , our room was well appointed, to standard that you would not normally see in a city chic hotel for under $200, a night. The bathroom was a 1930s marble art deco affair, reminiscent of the bathrooms at Claridges in London. ; and you are given the run of the house. breakfast was the proper how do you like your eggs deal and scrumptious. The lady who runs it, to my English ears has the most beguiling of accents, not normally a feature one would trouble with in a hotel review, but it certainly helped. I would certainly recommend it, as place to stay, and also a place to be beguiled by vowels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appomattox
1.1 mi away
Appomattox Inn & Suites
Appomattox Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Appomattox
109 reviews
24.0 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#2 of 5 in Farmville
26 reviews
17.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
335 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
20.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longacre

Property: Longacre
Address: 107 South Church Street, Appomattox, VA 24522
Location: United States > Virginia > Appomattox
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Appomattox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longacre 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Longacre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing