We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Friendly Park!”

Holliday Lake State Park
Attraction details
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Family Friendly Park!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Love this park! Has a kiddie slide and water toys for kids and also docks for the bigger kids. The beach is always very clean and boat rentals are very reasonably priced! There's a snack shack but also picnic areas with tables and charcoal grills you can use.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeaganStaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another excellent Virginia State Park”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We camped here for 2 nights in August in a pop up camper on site #7 in the Laurel Ridge Campground. We had absolutely no problems during out stay, even though the campground was completely full that weekend. Beach is clean and lifeguarded, there is a snack house and boat rental available. Cleanest restrooms in a campground I've ever seen. Maintenance staff is excellent and helpful. A lot of ranger and police presence, but maybe that's because it was a busy weekend, not sure. Either way, we didn't have any issues. Slept with the canvas unzipped all night and could only hear the tree frogs and crickets. Beautiful, clear, starry sky. Close to a lot of other Virginia historical tourist attractions. This is not a place for a primitive camping stay. It's a family campground with plenty of kids everywhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, VA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend camping”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Relatively large flat camp sites with water, place to hang garbage (or lamp), nice fire pits and picnic tables. Spots are within site on other campers but didn't bother us. Clean bathrooms. Nice camp overseer. Walk to lake is easy. Lake is clean and not too cold. Nice playgrounds. Several boat type rentals. Clean life guarded beach. Good snack bar. Really nice Forest Service staff with lots of neat information about the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank akafayth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem in the country”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went for the day during Memorial weekend. The sandy beach area was clean and large and the kids area of the lake has lots of play/float animals. They had an extensive menu snack bar and plenty of picnic tables/grills around the lake. The boat rental is reasonablly priced and all the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. The lake is beautiful and with the many coves and the wideness of the lake we felt like it was our own lake. Don't know that we'd stay at the campsite because they didn't look very private or spacious but would definitely go back to enjoy the lake!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice park but”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The park is beautiful, lake is beautiful, facilities clean, but if you are looking for a camping experience that does not feel like the suburbs, this is not the place. The 10 pm - 6:am quiet is not enforced. Rangers ride around endlessly during the day, but are nowhere at night. We got no sleep whatsoever because the tent sites are about 10 feet away from each other on all sides. I went on a trip advisor review that the sites were private, but there is not one private site in the whole place. This is a beautiful park, but with no sleep it's hard to enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Glowbtrahtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holliday Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing