We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Appomattox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We didn't stay at the Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn but had two evening meals there during our three day stay in Appomattox. What a find! Although we visited Appomattox in the quiet seasont the proprietor opened the restaurant for us even though we were the only customers that evening and what a superb meal we had and so reasonably priced. Better still, we returned the following evening for the weekly "Family Dinner" which was packed with locals and visitors. Again the meal was excellent, as was the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank two2go4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    20
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
68
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our stay at the Babcock House was very pleasant. We stayed in the Annie Laurie Room, which had a four-poster bed and a rolltop bath. Sheila and the staff were very friendly and the food we had for evening meal and breakfast were very good. Despite the reputation for being the 'best restaurant in town' the evening meals were very reasonably priced. The house is on a side street, opposite a school

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bainbridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was just what we needed after a long day of driving. Nicely appointed rooms, squeaky floors and all. We arrived too late for dinner but breakfast was wonderful. Quiet neighborhood. Unless you want a Super 8 or Budget Inn experience this is your only option in Appomattox. It is a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were in the Byron Room which is downstairs. We realized that we really prefer a king bed, but that is our choice. The bathroom is large which is very nice, though the bedroom is a little small. The Inn is beautiful and is the best restaurant in town. We had a dinner reservation and upon arrival were treated to a wonderful evening meal. My husband had roast duck for the first time....it was delicious as was the entire meal. The Babcock House is very convenient to the historical sites and the managers are great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Bradley Suite so that we could visit the various civil war historical sites in the area. The house is a very nice vintage structure. Do not expect it to be sound proof and squeak free! We enjoyed the extra sitting room so one person could nap and the other could watch TV after lots of walking and museum visits. The bed was bit firm for my wife but I thought it was fine. The bathroom was very small with modern plumbing and a small shower. No claw foot tub to negotiate. Breakfast food was great and we took both dinner meals in the on-premises restaurant also. The place was very clean and neat. We had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenC_Knoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamstown.ma
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here because of its proxity to the park. The inn is kept in fine shape. The rooms are large with comfortable beds. Dinner here was excellent.
My wife and I had the duc k. The Soup excellent. Dessert cake also.
A bargin.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wino873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I LOVED my room! I stayed on my bed reading and watching TV most of the time, but that's just what I wanted. Unfortunately there was no bath, but it was still peaceful! The breakfast and dinner was AMAZING!!!!!!!! I will hopefully be back soon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appomattox
1.0 mi away
Appomattox Inn & Suites
Appomattox Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Appomattox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
19.5 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longacre
Longacre
#2 of 4 in Appomattox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 250 Oakleigh Ave, Appomattox, VA 24522
Location: United States > Virginia > Appomattox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Appomattox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Babcock House is a family-owned bed & breakfast, restaurant and catering service. It has six guest rooms and and the restaurant can seat fifty seven inside and fifty more on the deck in nice weather. The restaurant's food is Southern style. Options for catering menus are pretty limitless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing