We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restful getaway with great lunches, as well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Appomattox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great restful getaway with great lunches, as well”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband wanted to stay here because he loves the writings of author Havilah Babcock, who grew up here. We liked it so much we stayed a second night. Beautiful old home with character. Quiet, comfortable, with great breakfast. One morning we had cajun crab omelettes, and the next we had blueberry pancakes. The day we arrived, they were serving lunch, so we had lunch and would recommend it as well. I had a chicken salad sandwich -- very good. We enjoyed resting on the front porch and reading. They have several of Havilah Babcock's books. I sat down and read one through before going to bed. All in all, a nice, restful getaway with great food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondvogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    23
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
72
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

What a lovely well maintained historical bed and breakfast! We had a delightful time enjoying the front porch in the evening and the scrumptious breakfast in the morning. Shelia and Jerry were wonderful hosts. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandriaSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very good (best) place to stay in Appomattox. Lots of antiques; bed was comfortable; clean; an outstanding quality for us was the value of the evening meal. The food itself was of high quality in a home cooked sense (I would not characterize it as fine dining). I had an excellent hamburger steak with gravy and mash potatoes...green beans too I think. I had a decent and inexpensive chardonnay. At least that night, the charge was two meals for $20. Appomattox itself was interesting. The little downtown has a fine independent coffee/book shop and nice visitor center. We found the Old Appomattox courthouse to be interesting and well presented. Unless you are a civil war enthusiast, one trip to Appomattox may prove to be enough, but everyone who cares about this country should go at least the once...and stay at the Babcock.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were in Farmville for our sons graduation from California, unable to stay at the Babcock this trip as they were booked, but just had to go for dinner. So we went for a pre graduation dinner with several other people we had invited, They went out of there way to take care of us and everyone in our party raved about the service and the great food...... This is the greatest find that we have found in our travels.... Highly recommend that if you are even near to go out of your way to at least eat here... Sheila and Jerry are like family.

Room Tip: They are all good, it doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were in town for a family member's funeral and needed a place to stay. There aren't a lot of places to stay in Appomattox, but I read several reviews for this B & B and decided to try it out. My in-laws ended up getting a room here, too, and we are all glad we found this gem! Sheila and Jerry are amazing. She is such a friendly and welcoming hostess, and he is an incredible chef. The house is completely spotless...not even pollen on the window frames (this is spring in Virginia and that's a rarity). We were able to relax during a tough family circumstance. Our 4 year old daughter was with us, and she kept saying how she wanted to always live here! We had blueberry pancakes for breakfast that were out of this world. We also ended up staying for lunch, and weren't disappointed! Sandwiches were fabulous and Jerry didn't hesistate to make our little girl something "kid-friendly". We have already made the decision to come back and stay for a longer period of time in the next few months. Thank you, Sheila and Jerry, for making your home ours for the night!

PS...also in my ratings I accidently checked that this home has a pool...TripAdvisor won't let me adjust that, but they do not have a pool. I am sure it would be fabulous if they did!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My sister and I spent a night here following an afternoon touring Appomattox Court House. We each had an upstairs room with a shower. Rooms are large with chairs or a small couch. Decor is charming. Sheila makes you feel welcome right away. This B&B has a restaurant attached, and we were lucky to be there on a Thursday night when most of the locals take advantage of special prices. Dinner and service was excellent. So was the breakfast (that is included in the room rate). Sis had a ham and cheese omelet while I had a cajun crab omelet. We spent Thursday eveing after dinner in the quaint parlor in rocking chairs drinking wine. Friday we were off to Bedford VA to see the D-Day Memorial. It's out of the way, but a moving tribute that everyone should visit.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MGgirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night in The Abbit Room. It was very clean and comfortable. The house is beautiful and very well located (right in town).

The breakfast was very good: fruit, orange juice, coffee, omelet with toasts and jam. The dinner is also very tasty and inexpensive. We had soup, salad, entree, dessert and coffee for $54 for 2 people! They give you warm bread to start, soft and delicious! The duck they serve is also excellent! I had salmon which was good, but the duck is out of this world!

If you go to Appomattox or Charlottesville, stay there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielaAndrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appomattox
1.0 mi away
Appomattox Inn & Suites
Appomattox Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Appomattox
95 reviews
17.7 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
855 reviews
23.9 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#2 of 5 in Farmville
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
327 reviews
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longacre
Longacre
#2 of 4 in Appomattox
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 250 Oakleigh Ave, Appomattox, VA 24522-8115
Location: United States > Virginia > Appomattox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Appomattox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Babcock House is a family-owned bed & breakfast, restaurant and catering service. It has six guest rooms and and the restaurant can seat fifty seven inside and fifty more on the deck in nice weather. The restaurant's food is Southern style. Options for catering menus are pretty limitless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Babcock House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing