We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It must be seen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
Save
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It must be seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Laurel Lodge
Harpers Ferry, WV

On a recent trip to Harpers Ferry
(Where car or Amtrak will you carry)
Twas there we stopped to spend the night.
See the Potomac from great height

Right from the Laurel Lodge’s porch
Where too you see the hills and gorge
While down below an engine moans
In mournful and in muted tones.

The lodge itself, it must be seen!
Twas the Mayor’s home in ’14.
With different woods the lodge was built.
With sturdy furniture it was filled

To which the landlord, without haste,
Has added pieces in good taste -
Such as the beds, chairs with straight backs
He found in the DEErondacks.

So if you go to Harpers Ferry
For biz, or make a bit of merry,
Stop at the Laurel B&B
You’ll find their breakfast… Well, you’ll see!

The Hungry Poet 2013

Room Tip: Probably a room at the back would have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHungryPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
102
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slanesville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent one night at the B&B, great setting super accommodations, very pleasant owner and staff. Mid week stay, enjoyed the common room, very interesting discussion with one other guest. The setting is very good, a bit out of the way but not that bad. Slow night as none of the interesting restaurants in HF were open, a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHamOperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our children treated us to a weekend away for our 30th wedding anniversary. Laurel Lodge could not have been a more special retreat for us. A red rose, chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne awaited us in our room. Over our two day stay we spent a good deal of time simply sipping wine, content with the scenery from the Cedar View Room. The back porch was a true luxury with the Blue Ridge Mountains in the distance and the Potomac River beneath. We spotted a bald eagle while drinking hot cocoa and nibbling on some of Ed's delicious maple cookies. The home with a history of its own has been lovingly and meticulously restored. Everything throughout the house is carefully placed and spaced to ensure the utmost ambiance.

To come to this place and escape from the stresses of an otherwise hectic schedule was an unexpected and welcome gift. Our stay at Laurel Lodge was blissful beyond words only added to by the gracious gentleness of the innkeepers Chris and Ed. The breakfasts are beautifully presented and heavenly to the taste. They are gourmet in every aspect and the coffee is divine.

If you get a chance, venture to Elk Mountain Trails and go for a horseback ride. The horses are well cared for and the guides friendly and professional. It's a pleasant way to spend a morning or afternoon particularly when you can return to the sanctuary of Laurel Lodge which embraces you with warmth and comfort.

Our stay at Laurel Lodge will be fondly remembered for years to come. It is truly a haven...quiet, restful, restorative and inviting. It is a place good and healing for the body, spirit and soul. Everything from the linens on the bed to the rosemary scented soap in the bathroom to the smells of fresh coffee wafting up the stairs and beckoning you to breakfast are elements of this elegant lodge and its thoughtful owners. A stay at Laurel Lodge is one to cherish.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms on their website. The Cedar View Room has its own bathroom. If you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeasten Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent one night at the Laurel Lodge and enjoyed our stay immensely. Chris, the innkeeper, greeted us upon our arrival. He gave us a tour of the house, told us about the history of the building and the various amenities and then showed us to our rooms. Our room was spacious with lovely views of the valley below. The bed linens were luxurious and the bed was comfortable. Our room had a TV and the Wi-Fi was as good as it gets - better than my high speed wireless home network! The porch was an inviting place to relax and to enjoy the amazing view. The house is beautifully cared for and everything is immaculate.

There was a wonderful chocolate tart waiting for us after our return from dinner as well as hot and cold drinks available anytime we wanted and the comfort of gas fireplaces to enjoy in the public rooms. We had dinner in one of the restaurants suggested by Chris which we thoroughly enjoyed. The living room had several newspapers and magazines from which to choose. Breakfast the following morning was scrumptious and the presentation was beautiful. Chris served some of the best coffee we've ever tasted. As well, he was genuinely interested in what our plans were for the day of our departure and offered some welcome information which helped make our trip very pleasant.

My husband and I thought that the hospitality and accommodations were simply wonderful and the attention to detail abounded. Chris truly made us feel "at home". Do not miss this place when you are in the area.

Room Tip: There are trains that run until about midnight which could be heard in the distance, but I love the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The inn is tucked into a quiet little street with a pretty view. The Lodge is restored with perfect touches. It is pristine clean. The host is gracious and the breakfast incredible. A little extra is delicious home baked treats along with coffee or tea. It couldn't have been nicer in this little rustic town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the Maple view room . It was very spacious and clean . The bed was comfortable .The back porch had a wonderful view . There were refreshments available anytime and delicious homemade treats . The breakfasts were large ! Chris showed us around his house and it was well cared for .He suggested a great route for us to drive to see the sights . We met some very nice people also staying there . It was a pleasant stay in a quiet street and we'd recommend it if you are staying in this area .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Incredible facility and hospitality. Great breakfasts, great mattresses and water pressure in the shower, gracious hosts who shared lots of info about the area, great location close to town and the surrounding natural and historical areas. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
8.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Property: Laurel Lodge
Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing