We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for a short getaway from the city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
Save
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
“Great for a short getaway from the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here. Since it was the off-season, we pretty much had the common area of the lodge to ourselves. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was amazing and the view was great...we'd love to see it in the spring!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
104
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Deptford, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Everything you've read about the Laurel Lodge is true. Food amazing, views breathtaking, inn keepers the best, location great. We tried it because of the online photos and rave reviews. Everything about it exceeded our expectations. Harper's Ferry attractions are all within walking distance, just park your car and tie up your walking shoes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We took our parents to Laurel Lodge this weekend as a thank you and had a wonderful time. The innkeepers don't overlook any detail from the wonderful breakfasts to the luminaries at night on the stairs. We stayed in the Pine View and Walnut View rooms with the shared bath. The bath is large and lovely and while I don't normally like shared baths, the rates were very reasonable so it was fine.

The breakfasts (as others have shared) were wonderful and filling. And the personal service was lovely too.

The only suggestion I'd make, is on decor--the furniture isn't of the cozy variety. I would have loved a cozy couch or armchair to sink into. That said, the wooden furniture is meant to reflect the decor and the home--and it's lovely. The bedrooms are seemed a bit dark but that didn't bother me too much.

We loved our stay and felt right at home. We'd like to return for some hiking--beware there is not a ton to do in Harpers Ferry. It's a small town.

Room Tip: Walnut and Pine rooms share a hallway bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurelLodge, Owner at Laurel Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We're glad you had a wonderful time in Harpers Ferry. To clarify for others, our Pine View and Walnut View rooms use the same detached bath. When one books, we block the other room so we may offer a private bathroom. We also offer both rooms as a suite at a discounted price, in which case they share the same detached bathroom. This bathroom, by the way, was originally the sewing room because it is so bright and sunny. In the 1920's it was converted into a bathroom. It still has the beautifully restored original clawfoot tub as well as a tiled walk-in shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our trip was in celebration of my birthday. The love of my life did a fantastic job of finding the absolute perfect place to stay! The lodge itself is not only rich in history but beautiful,warm, cozy, and inviting. The hosts Chris and Ed are amazing innkeepers. The little touches are so unexpected and yet so very appreciated. The buffet in the main hallway is always ready with teas, coffees hot chocolate and some sort of yummy treat. The bathroom (we had the claw foot tub!) is stocked with makeup wipes, shampoo, conditioners, and a delighful peppermint bodywash. The rooms themselves are just awesome...the ample pillows, down comforter, and robes are just some of the nice touches.
The breakfasts have to be experienced. I have never had a three course breakfast before....and on both mornings I was thrilled by the homemade selections. (no further details, you need to experience it).
We will go back because we didn't get to see the eagles that are on the island off the back porch!

Room Tip: The Pine room has a bath down the hall, for the pine rooms use only, but worth it for the amazing sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinnston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Laurel Lodge is an interesting experience. The rooms are large and well-appointed and the view from my room was awesome. It is an interesting experience to see the elements the builder incorporated into the structure. All sorts of unexpected items that I am not going to tell about - one must see for himself!

The grounds are a lovely mix of flowers, bushes, herbs and lawns that were immaculately kept. The common room is so comfortable and the view from the dining room was filled with Fall Color! Breakfasts were marvelous - the presentation was lovely and the food tasted even better.

Laurel Lodge is convenient to Historic Harpers Ferry, Charlestown, Martinsburg, Shepherdstown, and the Antietem Battlefield. A great "base camp" for a trip into the history the 150th anniversary of the Civil War. I look forward to returning when I can enjoy the history of the area.

Chris and Ed are attentive hosts who answer your questions, give suggestions, and leave you to enjoy. Perfect hosts!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenofbudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Thank you to our hosts for a wonderful weekend. Chris and Ed work very hard to make each and every guest feel special - and we did. We had a wonderful weekend and their restaurant recommendations were perfect. We will return (hopefully in the near future)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in early October for our 25th anniversary. We stayed in the Cedar View room which has a private bath. Had a fabulous view of the Potomac River out of our bedroom windows. Our hosts, Chris and Ed were attentive and thorough in catering to our every need without being underfoot. I ordered the "warm welcome" platter for dinner which Chris and Ed were kind enough to serve in our room. It was delicious and i would highly recommend this addition. We had access to a refrigerator plus unlimited coffee, teas, water. sodas and homemade cookies. The homemade gourmet breakfasts were served downstairs in the common rooms at our chosen time. Both mornings were positively delicious. We have not tried any other accomodations in Harpers Ferry and now we never would. It really could not be better.

Room Tip: Book the Cedar View room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Property: Laurel Lodge
Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-1011
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing