We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So good, it's hard to describe...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
Save
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good, it's hard to describe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I feel compelled to point you to pfbird's review below titled "We're Not Worthy", because he expresses much of how my husband and I also felt staying at Laurel Lodge. Chris and Ed are two of the kindest, top-notch B&B hosts we've ever met. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. Their B&B has so many special touches, such as their self-authored house-tour you can take at your leisure, a large assortment of brochures about the nearby tourist sites, a list of nearby restaurants and menus, a coffee and tea station, a huge wrap-around porch where one can sit anytime and enjoy the gorgeous views, and perfectly decorated, yet comfortable rooms. One of the most amazing things for my husband and me was how graciously Chris and Ed accommodated us regarding our food allergies. I let Chris know of our allergies right away when I booked the room and that we'd be glad with a few simple breakfast items. Chris very kindly followed up and consulted with us about specifics we could and couldn't eat. Each morning we were served a delicious multi-course breakfast custom-made to suit our dietary restrictions. This was more than we ever dreamed of, since we've stayed at many B&B's where they don't have the expertise or ingredients to safely accommodate gluten-free or lactose-free (plus vegetarian!). Chris and Ed are pros. We wholeheartedly add our 5-star rating to the others here.

Room Tip: In case you have any hesitancy about climbing stairs, it might be helpful to know that the staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlwaysLikeToGetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
104
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and son stayed at the Laurel Lodge on a trip to Harper's Ferry. They were both very pleased with the lodge and the innkeepers. Both enjoyed the breakfast and the convenience to Harper's Ferry. My husband wants to go back some day with me. Looking forward to the visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere, Kent
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Anywhere would be tranquil compared to New York where we had just spent four days but a couple of hours on the back porch watching fireflies in the gloaming was a true antidote.
Chris and Ed were welcoming and informative. Breakfast was served at the table in tasting menu fashion - a mystery until served together with Chris's detailed description . All "historic" as Michael Winner would say.
Restaurants nearby are OK but you won't find anything beyond burgers, pizza , the occasional steak and ubiquitous crab cakes.
Treat yourself to a stay at Laurel Lodge. We would return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joebelvedere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

What can we say except to heap more praise on Chris and Ed and their extraordinary B&B? They could write the book on running a B&B -- not just a book, but THE book.

It's all about details in this early 20th Century craftsman house perched on a ridge overlooking the Potomac. From the high thread-count sheets to the rich breakfast menu, it's service with a genuine smile.

Thoughtful touches abound. A fridge full of soft drinks, fresh-baked goodies to welcome guests arriving in the late afternoon, a book on Abraham Lincoln in our room, and a floor fan in the room to supplement air conditioning strained by the hottest weather in years.

But the icing on the cake is the thoughtful hospitality shown by Chris Craig. A story will illustrate what we're talking about. An hour after we had checked out after a one-night stay, my wife's eyeglasses got smashed by the car trunk lid. We drove back to Chris for help, and he hauled out tape, Crazy Glue and all but the kitchen sink in an effort to repair them. Finally, Chris wrote down directions to his optometrist's office, where we ended up getting new frames. Talk about going the extra mile.

Now, days later, we continue to savor the memory. Thanks, guys.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but they don't all have en suite bathrooms. You need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked the Laurel Lodge as a 40th Birthday getaway and were not disappointed. Laurel Lodge came recommended by a co-worker who couldn't stop praising the owners Chris and Ed and their amazing slice of heaven. I thought he must be exaggerating but I was wrong. Chris met us when we checked in was wonderful - you walk away truly feeling as if you are treasured guests. Hospitality like that is so hard to find. They really do think of everything - water in lovely glass jug in your room, lights on the keys so you can easily open the door, extra wine glasses, sodas & cold water in the fridge on the main server for guests to enjoy - even homemade baked treats.

The home is Craftsmen and is immaculate. The furnishings the fixtures - all of it was beautiful. The back deck overlooks the Potomac and the National Park. They have a totally unspoiled view - no homes, no roads -- just landscape and water. What a treasure.

The room we had was clean and comfortable. It even had a gas fireplace but since it was 100 outside we didn't check it out! The room we booked did not have en suite bathroom but it was just down the hall and private for us. Their other rooms do have en suite bathrooms but they were booked when we made this reservation.

The breakfast was truly one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Homemade biscuits, fresh butter and jam, homemade strawberry and blueberry parfait where the blueberries & mint were handpicked by the owner and a phenomenal egg dish with fried polenta with fresh herbs. We finished the breakfast where Chris & Ed gave me a beautiful card and two chocolates wishing me a Happy Birthday. The card was lovely – the front was a watercolor done by a guest their first year of their porch.

We do plan on visiting Laurel Lodge again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christie629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The lodgings, food and hospitality were all superb. Beautiful, clean, well kept B and B with the greatest porch ever. We recommend it to all. Chris and Ed are wonderful hosts.It was a great value. We stayed in the Walnut room and really enjoyed it.- Kathy from NJ

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leta1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I travel to Harper's Ferry once or twice a year, but this is the first time we have stayed at the Laurel Lodge; it will not be the last! It's in a beautiful location, it is full of history, it is clean, comfortable and the breakfast was over the top with plenty of local ingredients. Chris & Ed are great and are there if you need them, but do not hover over you. A relaxed atmosphere in a perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Property: Laurel Lodge
Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-1011
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing