We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Barbecue, Not So Good Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Southern Smoke BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Southern Smoke BBQ
Ranked #18 of 23 Restaurants in Harpers Ferry
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent Barbecue, Not So Good Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

Not sure why the terrible reviews. The barbecue was decent. I had pulled beef, my friend had pulled pork. Both were good. Prices were a little high but it is a tourist area. Not sure I would get much else on the menu except maybe a burger. Atmosphere is almost non-existent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waymart, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very good ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I shared a rack of ribs for dinner! They were delicious! smokey flavor and the meat fell off the bones. We also ordered potato salad as a side; very good too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mechele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just Don't!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am becoming convinced there are no decent places to eat in the historic Harper's Ferry area unless you stick to ice cream. They are just tourist traps and feed us rancid disgusting food. On an extremely hot day my husband and I were lured in by the smell of barbecue being grilled outside. We asked for iced teas which we took huge sips of only to discover it had turned rotten. My chicken sandwich had not been grilled outside but seemed to be a dried rotisserie chicken pulled off and put onto bread. They charged us up the wazoo for this very unappetizing, rotten (literally) disappointment. The health dept should close this operation down!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachykeen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Turned around when inside!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love BBQ. There was allot of enticing smoke from the grills (not really usable, it seemed-more for the atmosphere), but when we went inside, there was a decided smell of sulfur (maybe someone was eating eggs?), the place seemed less than clean, so we turned around and left. Can't understand why the strong odor of smokey BBQ would be entirely washed out with the sulfur smell.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunsup605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced, underwhelmed, flavorless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Don't let the great smell of wood smoke fool you into stepping inside and eating. We've eaten at dozens of BBQ joints all over the US and know how good BBQ should be prepared and taste and this was not our first trip to Harpers Ferry so we were expecting the prices. Our group of four had the pulled chicken with BBQ sauce sandwich, pulled pork sandwich and ribs. The ribs were tough, dry, and flavorless - no rub for flavoring,and had obviously been cooked at least a day before and reheated in the microwave. It was the same with the pulled chicken - no flavoring and the BBQ sauce on top was a horrible off the shelf brand. I expected the sauce to be mixed throughout not put on top. The pulled pork was the same. Side dishes included mac n cheese out of a can, coleslaw out of a can, and fries which were the only good part of the meal. The ice tea was old but soft drinks were mixed well. The service was good. Prices were typical for Harpers Ferry. Spend your money on better food at another establishment such as the Anvil or Secret Six.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Li R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Smoke BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Southern Smoke BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing