We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

When I wanted a couple of days away I looked into reasonably priced accommodations, I stumbled upon the canal house cottage online and was surprised at the price, considering it was essentially a home away from home. My experience has been wonderful!! It's a quiet private location, with an amazing restaurant right out front! The canal house staff are very kind and the food is amazing! Having a full kitchen at my disposal was also convenient for the times I just wanted to stay in. I recommend the cottage for a quiet gateway that's close to Harper's Ferry and other historic sites!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 193 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here while we were visiting Harpers Ferry. The owners and their family were just delightful. The breakfast was outstanding and the view was spectacular. Though the place needs a little TLC it was comfortable and appointed well. Bring your earplugs though, anywhere in Harpers Ferry you'll hear the trains constantly.

Room Tip: Suite 2 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retiredandhappy6563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just returned from a couple of nights at the Ledge House.The house itself is not the most elegant place in which we have stayed- BUT...the experience we enjoyed in staying at this B & B was one of the best (and we have been to dozens of b and b's). Carrie, the hostess, is a flexible, relaxed host, who makes you feel like you are visiting extended family members. You come and you go as you pleased...one guest even cooked herself dinner in the kitchen! You can walk to Lower Harper's Ferry, Bolivar Heights, Virginius Island, the C & O Canal, or hike beautiful (but a little strenuous) Maryland Heights! Stay inside and enjoy the beautiful view from the breakfast table or outside on the deck! You can come and watch trains go by, take a picture of the sunrise, or look for the hikers on the cliffs of Maryland Heights (or take the hike yourself)! The confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers is one of the most breathtaking vistas I have ever seen (as noted by Thomas Jefferson!).
We delighted in eating tasty breakfasts while drinking in the lovely locale; you can see both Virginia and Maryland from the Ledge (in West Virginia). The household chickens will delight you with their child-like antics or picnic on the deck for a relaxing rest after an exhilarating hike!

Within 45 minutes, you can enjoy day trips to Boonsboro (the 1st Washington Monument), quaint Shepherdstown (the 1st established town- eat at the Blue Moon Cafe where the stream runs through to the Potomac!), and Antietam Battlefield (Bolivar Heights Battlesfield is within 10 min.). I wish we had 1 more day to enjoy a slower pace, but we did it all! Drive through all 3 states in 2 minutes or take a few days to enjoy the beauty of God's creation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 3, which has the same beautiful view of the trains and confluence of the Shenando...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulalois99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in suite 1 on a Sunday and Monday nights. The house is charming and provides ample indoor and outdoor space for relaxing. The breakfasts were great. It was an easy walk to the trails, which is the main thing I wanted to do/see on the trip. If you are looking for a quick and very relaxing getaway, the Ledge House is the place to go.

Room Tip: If you want a private entrance, go with suite 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for a few days since I am a teacher and my spring break just started; he, unfortunately, doesn't get a spring break anymore. We found the Ledge House B&B online and from the moment we got there, fell in love. Carrie, the owner, is so inviting and an excellent cook. We had the smallest room in the house, but it was still roomy and had an amazing view of the river and mountains. It was great to be a quick walk from the town as well as part of the Appalachian Trail. The Ledge House is definitely a must stay in Harpers Ferry.

Room Tip: Smallest room is quite cozy, but the other two rooms have en suites which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for a Friday and Saturday night and couldn't have had a better time. The area is quaint and the Ledge House is charming. We were given delicious, home-made breakfasts in the morning and the owner provided great activity and destination recommendations. View was awesome in the mornings!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

very good stay in a wintry setting. cozy bed with private entrances. chickens kept on grounds for farm fresh eggs in morning. charming, friendly couple who runs establishment. walking distance to town attractions and restaurants. owners gave great recommendations on winery tastings and local events. highly recommend and will stay again in future.

Room Tip: the 1st suite was great even though it was on the ground floor, it had a priate bath and private acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
279 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
856 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
0.7 mi away
Light Horse Inn
Light Horse Inn
#5 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: $156 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing