We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
$113
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Charles Town(Charles Town)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$101
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Light Horse Inn(Harpers Ferry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armory Quarters(Harpers Ferry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cantuta Inn(Harpers Ferry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
126
45
21
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
45
21
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate balconyjefferson rocktrain loversdeep tubroaring firebed and breakfasttrain whistleeggs benedicthiking trailstwo nightssitting roomwonderful weekendother guestsbreakfast was deliciousb and bclose to towneach morning
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 209 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great Bed and Breakfast in Harpers Ferry. Just a 5 minute walk from all the shops and restaurants in the downtown area. The room had a very comfortable king size bed and a great balcony with views overlooking the bridges and rivers below. We stayed for two nights and both breakfasts were amazing. Chad and Carrie (the owners) were very nice and friendly. Over all a great place to spend a weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Ledge House in Room 3, the smallest of the 3 rooms available. It was lovely to lie in bed looking out onto the river gorge and feel the cool mountain air floating in over you from the windows at the head of the bed. However, no one has mentioned the numerous trains that run across the river and through the mountain tunnel in the viewshed of this B&B, including all through the night. The trains are required to sound their horn 3 times at this crossing. It is very loud! Don't expect to sleep through this if you are not used to it--perhaps with the windows closed and a/c running on high-? Otherwise, the house, the host, the view, the food,... all were lovely. Breakfast was hearty, homemade, fresh and the host was willing to accomodate food requests.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

If I had to imagine the perfect B&B, this would be it! The owners were friendly, warm, and welcoming. I loved my spacious, clean, and attractively decorated room. I also liked that this B&B had a more relaxed style and not the overly frilly decor that a lot of B&Bs have. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom spacious and ultra-clean. The views were outstanding and the location at the top of a hill overlooking the town and the rivers was so peaceful. My room overlooked a koi pond with a fountain and I loved the sound of water at night. I will definitely return here and recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet, peaceful, beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misspuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I went to the Ledge House for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. I have to say that the views from the breakfast table, and outside deck were really awesome. When we arrived we were surprised to find out that we could not lock our doors. The keepers assured us that we had nothing to worry about, and we didn't, it was just odd to hear coming from city living. :).. We had breakfast both mornings. If you have dietary restrictions be sure to wake up early to tell them. My wife and i have a pretty restrictive eating style so to base breakfast on us would be a little unfair.

We had suite 1 which had it's own private bathroom. The room was a nice room, with a comfy bed. The sun coming up over the mountains though will serve as your alarm clock, as there is no blind or dark curtain on the door in your room so, either plan on waking up early, or, bring a mask for sleeping ;).. The bathroom in our room had a distinct smell of cat, so if you are not a cat lover be sure to try the other rooms. I am not sure if this always the case, but it was constant for our two nights there.

The proximity to the lower town was really nice. If you are planning on visiting lower town, I would just leave your vehicle parked at the house, and navigate through the adjacent cemetery, down the steps to the Appalachian trail and head south. If you want a great view, and some exercise take the Maryland heights hike. It is about 6-7 miles round trip, and it is probably 15 degree grade all the way up, but once you are there.... it is very worth it.

Room Tip: I would try room 2
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The views off the deck of the Ledge House might just take your breath away. The property overlooks historic Harper's Ferry and offers a panorama that includes the intersection of the rivers, the railroad bridge and the Maryland Heights. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious and the atmosphere is absolutely relaxing. This feels light years removed from DC, though it's only an hour away by train.

The same folks own the Canal House restaurant, a quiet BYOB place that's just up the street. We had an excellent dinner on the patio there as a gentleman plucked away on an acoustic guitar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews