We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a good value” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a good value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The best part was the view from the deck. However, everything else was average/mediocre or just terrible. The room was OK although it would be nice with blinds. The bathroom was quite 1970s. It smelled moldy, the tub was cracked, and amenities just barely acceptable (shampoo taken from other hotels). The food was OK but certainly nothing special and not B&B standard. The worst was the owners. They were impossible to get a hold of to make the reservation in the first place. They did not have any information about the area (as typical for B&Bs) and they charged us the wrong price (which they corrected). The website contains minimal information and did not include the key information that there are two streets in town that have nearly identical names (so we went to the wrong street). Finally, they became enraged when we did not keep their dog inside despite the fact that they had not mentioned that they had a dog or what the rules are regarding their dog (they became so mad that they made move our cars cars from their parking lot where they had said they could stay while we were in town). Overall, not worth the money and the dog/move your cars episode was a very unpleasant end to our stay there.

Room Tip: The trains are very very loud all through the night. It probably does not matter which room you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarieHL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    39
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
9
103
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I just spent a couple of days at Canal House Cottage.

Pro: Canal House Cottage could be lovely and private. It was very clean.

Con: It has a terrible view of the back of a cafe. The real problem is that it just did not seem to be well maintained - burned out lights, non-functioning DVD player, no way to find out the password for the internet, no soap in the bathroom, no heat, etc. But what makes this a bad review is the fact that they just would not give us toilet paper.

When we arrived, we told the proprietor, Carrie, that there was no toilet paper. She apologized and said she'd send someone right over with some. 5 hours later, we begged the Canal House Cafe for a roll of toilet paper. They apologized and promised to get word to Carrie that we needed more. The next day: still no toilet paper. We spoke to one woman on the phone and left a message on Carrie's voice mail. No one ever even called us back.

Some amenities are luxuries - some, like toilet paper, are necessities. There is nothing romantic about saying, "Honey, I need to go into town so I'll have something to wipe with." Maybe we caught them on an off day?

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you plan on bringing all of your supplies (down to the toilet paper) with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UnpackYourAdjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the Canal House Cottage which isn't right in downtown Harpers Ferry, but it was still wonderful. The place is cozy and comfortable, and the kitchen appliances are all in great shape. What we liked best was that from beginning to end we were left totally alone, which isn't necessarily what some people look for in a B&B, but to us it felt like a true retreat. And we parked literally ten feet from the front door. Oh also, the jacuzzi bathtub was awesome.

Room Tip: Canal House cottage all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I spent our 10th anniversary here and had a fantastic time. The room was wonderful and the food was great. Sitting out on the deck overlooking the river and the training tacks was magnificent. The location of the house is just up the hill from down town Harpers Ferry. Just walk through the cemetery to Jefferson Rock and the down the Appalachian Trail and you are in town. No driving necessary.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, I think it is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kremere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked a room at the Ledge House for a girls' weekend, and the hosts were nice enough to relax the two-day minimum rule (which no other B&Bs in the area were willing to do). Unfortunately, we hadn't discussed the number of guests allowed, since the booking was done over phone, and were one too many for their double-bed suite. They immediately offered us accommodation in another of their properties close by (The Butler Burell House), which was a charming little cottage, very cozy, clean and spacious. We had a splendid time! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocochai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A few weeks back, a bunch of us were looking for a peaceful weekend getaway in the valley. We chose the Ledge house as it seemed like a quite place set in a serene backdrop.
It was such a pleasant feeling to find the place as picturesque as it was made to look in the pictures online. I would give the owners +10 for their hospitality and accommodating nature.
Thanks to them for making our stay so comfortable! I highly recommend the ledge house as a weekend retreat option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_yam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent place, really friendly place. Cozy and comfortable, plenty of amenities. They've thought of everything. Highly recommended for friends'/family get togethers. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnimalLovingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Light Horse Inn
Light Horse Inn
#10 of 12 in Harpers Ferry
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing