We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”

The Anvil Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual dining in a rustic atmosphere. Established in 1985, local produce featured in season. OPEN Wednesday - Sunday 11am to 9pm, bar and slots open later. Will open for private parties of 40 or more on Monday or Tuesday. Private rooms available for groups small to 100 inside. Tented patio for special outdoor events up to 150
Shepherd, Texas
1 review
“Great fun”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My wife and I were passing through while on a road trip, and decided to try out the anvil because of its "rustic" appearance. It was a late afternoon on a Thursday, and the restaurant was quiet. We were pleasantly greeted by a waitress, and after we were seated and ordered our drinks, she offered us information on the daily specials, and asked us if we had any questions. We asked her some questions about the entrees, and she answered them well. We ordered a crab dip appetizer, when it arrived, my wife and I were surprised at its size. it was hot, bubbly and delicious, and very filling, but as we had both ordered a steak special, we figured we would soldier on.
Our salads came out and we had both ordered the house vinaigrette, and it was very tasty and nicely tangy.
Our steaks were delicious, and they were cooked exactly as we had ordered them.
Unfortunately, by this point we were stuffed and did not leave any room for desert.
We have both determined that if we travel through here again, we will make sure to stop in again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    109
    62
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sad to say - Gone downhill”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Having been a longtime customer of the Anvil, I am sad to report that it has gone way down hill as a dining experience. We went on a Saturday night and the first thing I noticed is that it was pretty empty in the dining room. The service was terrible, the waitress forgot to bring out our salads, then kept our dinners under the warmer while we ate our salads. The crab cakes, which is their "signature dish", and which we've always enjoyed, were 90% bread!!! I have always recommended the Anvil to friends and family, but as of today, that will stop. It's a shame.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had lunch there recently. There was nothing special about the place. But I couldn't complain about anything either. If you happened to be in Harpers Ferry & needed a place for a quick meal, this would be one place to go.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles town wv
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Once very good- food quality has fallen”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

An old restaurant in Harpers Ferry. Once very good in the 1980's.Ate there about 6 months ago and was not impressed with seafood dishes. Lots of filler

Helpful?
Thank wv56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Really good food!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This was our first visit to The Anvil and we went there because the restaurant we expected to go to was closed. I had the chicken quesadillas and they were about the best I ever had. My husband had the black and blue burger which was a special of the day. He said it was delicious and juicy and really good. Great place to get a better than expected meal next time you're in Harper's Ferry.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anvil Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Anvil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing