We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small place big fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Tavern & Grill - CLOSED

Vista Tavern & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The White Horse Tavern in Harpers Ferry "Burger, Brews, and Bourbons", + wings, drink specials, daily happy hour, & satellite sports.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Small place big fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice restaurant tucked in the hotel...centrally located to harpers Ferry...good food nice staff. This place has a bar. And trivia on the tv it was fun

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bartender was extremely rude, unwelcoming.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Will not return again. Will not recommend. Bartender was extremely rude. Both staff members clearly had intentions of going home early therefore, treated us rudely and denied good service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Christinebarret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
292 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good Entertainment, Not So Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The décor is rustic and a bit out of date. I liked the vaulted ceiling, but overall the place can use a face lift. The Elvis tribute show was definitely an experience. Although the impersonator did not resemble Elvis in looks, he put on a great show as he captivated the audience interacting during various classic songs.

Unfortunately the food was not as good as the show. My split pea soup was so thick it could be spread on bread like peanut butter. The hamburger was over cooked and our ribs did not have the barbeque flavor even though the barbeque was outside blazing.

Service and value were alright. Drinks were reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Insbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Crab cake was great, homemade chips were excellent, steamed shrimp not so much slightly overcooked. Server was out of her element had no idea what was on her menu. And thanks to the loudmouth drunks at the bar had to shout at each other to be heard

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No one ever came to the table”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We decided to try this place out because of the Trip Advisor rating. Unfortunately, I think someone has been loading the reviews for this place. This was to be our final restaurant stop of our trip to Harper's Ferry and ended up being the only poor experience of our trip. We walked in and smelled stale tobacco smoke mixed with seafood. It was not overwhelming but didn't help with what ended up being a waste of time.
It was a fairly slow Sunday evening with about a dozen tables filled at most. A sign told us to seat ourselves so we did. It's a big wide open room, so it's easy to see anyone who comes through the door. Still, none of the staff paid us any attention. We waited for a while and when still no one came, I grabbed a menu left on another table and we looked it over for a while. We had everything picked out - drinks, appetizer and dinners - waiting for someone to come take our order, but every time a waitress came into the dining room she visited a few tables and didn't come near ours. The servers did not appear to be busy at all, they just didn't seem to care. I was a server for 10 years, I know it's not an easy job. This was not the case in this situation.
We started to assume that we must be invisible and were beginning to contemplate what fun things we could do with our newfound invisibility (trying to keep a light, positive attitude). Eventually, we decided it had gotten beyond ridiculous, so we walked out. We ended up going to Mena's Pizzeria, which got a bad review on Trip Advisor and we received super friendly service and some pretty good pizza. Go figure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Tavern & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing