We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fun Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harpers Ferry KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpers Ferry KOA
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another Fun Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We stayed for four nights over the holiday weekend and did not have any problems. There are plenty of things to do in the area. Crowded? Yes gotta expect that on a holiday. Noisy? Not anymore than you would expect. Rough roads? Yes- it is in the woods and is a rustic location which we love. The condition of the roads is what slows vehicles down which we appreciate as the grandchildren are riding bikes and walking around.no complaints about the staff. Some of the sites could be better but that's true everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandPat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    60
    41
    21
    27
See reviews for
101
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Harpers Ferry area is great. There are so many things to do. The campground is okay. Our RV site and those around us did not drain well when we had rain. They have a nice pool and several activities for the kids. The daily fee is near the highest we have paid anywhere and we have visited many nice campgrounds over the past several years. But it doesn't stop there. Add on daily activity fees for children and adults, daily pet fee, daily extra car fee, etc. It soon adds up to make a pretty expensive stay.They do not honor Good Sam and you pay the daily rate even when you stay for the whole week. Plan on it being crowded on the weekends. In spite of the high prices it is still pretty popular. Since it is the only campground this close to Harpers Ferry, we think it is worth it to visit the Harpers Ferry area. It is a pretty neat place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed seven nights, from Monday to Monday in Site 55, which is a roomy end site, pull-through, full hook-up with a nice patio. There is no shade at all in this site, which would have cut down on the AC use. The campground was very quiet during the week, except for the inconsiderate person who kept leaving on a motorcycle at 4 a.m. every morning. A lot of campers moved in on Friday and it did get very busy for the weekend, but cleared out and quieted down by Sunday night. There are many daily activities for both children and adults to participate in, and the staff are all very pleasant. I tie-dyed a KOA T-shirt; it came out perfectly and makes a great souvenier. My husband won the drawing to fire a Civil War cannon, which was one of the highlights of our trip. The wine tasting was fun. The Hunt Brothers pizza and Bavarian nuts at the snack shop were surprisingly good. It's a great location - during our stay, we visited downtown Harpers Ferry twice, three battlefields, the casino, a big flea market, local restaurants and several other nearby places. We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely return in the future if given the chance. Thank you, Harpers Ferry KOA!

Room Tip: The end site was great - lots of room with neighbors on only one side. If you want shade, you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Lover_13730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We used this site as a base as part of our expedition around America... we were there for 12 days, as members of our group were out hiking in a 100 mile radius. The manager and her team were wonderful, from booking to the settling of the bill on the last day they could not have been more helpful. The food provided was of a high standard, there were loads of things on offer to keep our large group entertained, I am very happy to recommend this site. I also strongly disagree with the other reviewer who said it was noisy, a hush and calm did descend around 10pm, with lots of little fire flickering…

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This park is a great place to camp and the staff was wonderful to be around all weekend we even stayed another night because we enjoyed our stay so much. The one thing that would cause we to rate this KOA below others I have stayed at is the Day use people this is the only KOA I have been to that you can pay a small fee and come in for the day even if you don't have someone you know camping there. These day use people were out of control at the pool and they were left unchecked on sunday evening and monday. Things that should recive 5 stars would be the people who work with the kids in the games and craft activity. The maintenance people also seem to be very plesant and right on top of things I had a cable break on my pop-up and my weekend was ruined but they did offer a tempory solution to my problem so it saved my weekend they could not help me fix it due to insurance but they did offer advice that worked great. The Food staff were the best on Sunday night I went to snack bar right before it closed orded 2 pizzas and the girl was very plesent and even brought out on the deck were we were waiting and the pancake breckfeast every day was a real treat Thanks agian for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwoods355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed Mother's Day weekend. It was a buy one night get one night free weekend. Bad, bad, very bad idea. The place was packed. This is not camping this is living like the Japanese stacked on top of each other. Because we got such a special rate (over $300.00 for a TINY cabin for two nights) many (not most but many) of the personnel treated us as if they were doing us a favor. For $300.00 I could have stayed in a hotel in Charlestown and had money left over to bet on the horses.
We stayed in a cabin that advertises room for four. Not four adults, I promise you! It's sad because we stayed here 10 years ago and had the best time ever but they have packed this place so full of cabins there is no way you can truly relax and enjoy yourself. I couldn't wait to go home Sunday morning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harpers Ferry hotels

North Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Out trip to Harpers Ferry pretty much centered around flatwater tubing. After a night of thunderstorms and folks coming back with safety issues, ALL tubing was cancelled by the local companies. We brought our kids, 10, 11, and 12 and we were not going to buck the safety recommendations of the local facilities. We considered Harpers Ferry National Park for the day instead but it was HOT, real hot. In my family, heat + history = unhappy, whining children. The KOA was WONDERFUL for them They could not get enough of the jumping pillow. We were at the KOA for a Sat and Sun. They woke up Sunday and said " Do you think the jumping pillow is open yet?" They also had great activities scheduled and a nice pool. We, the adults, enjoyed a little bit of wine tasting. We were also pleasantly surprised that our cabin was air conditioned! The KOA sort of saved the day for us. Sunday, we woke up early and hit the national park but the kids would have preferred to hang at the KOA.

On the negative side, the place was packed. I agree with other reviewers that it could be noisy at night. We were fortunate that our direct neighbors were not noisy so it was fine. However, a couple of other sites would have been rough to be sleeping next to. Also, we don't have an RV but those sites looked especially close together.

As an aside, the kids working at the tie-dye and children's activities were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: All of the cabins have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmcwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
1.7 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers Ferry KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Ferry KOA

Property: Harpers Ferry KOA
Address: 343 Campground Rd, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-5168
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Harpers Ferry
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Harpers Ferry Koa Hotel Harpers Ferry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing