We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but overpriced and terrible service”

Coach House Grill n' Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Find reviews on Yelp
NYC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food, but overpriced and terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The town of Harpers Ferry is small and a toursit trap. All the food places were crowded and overpriced. We finally got an outdoor seat in this restaurant and then waited forever to get hot sandwiches. When it finally arrived, it tasted good, or where we just starved?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyTTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    87
    55
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Lane, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had a pleasant dinner outside. Good food. Nice setting!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan18054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice to stop and have an appetizer here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I had the bakes brie with honey and pita slices. Amazing...especially after our long hike. We sat outside on their patio in the shade. Great to stop and snack here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SpanishteacherMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice spot to cool your heels.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had lunch outside at the street level patio on a beautiful day. The food was better than the other meals we had at other restaurants in town. Service was very good especially considering how busy they were. Portions were pretty good. I'd go back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maura5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
274 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Food okay. We should have eaten in the garden.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

We approached the Coach House from above, so we didn't know about the garden until we left. There weren't any tables upstairs, so we were one of two tables downstairs where it was a little damp and muggy. This meant our server came to check on us infrequently, and we were always in need of drink refills.

I had the wedge salad, which was pretty good but not blue cheese dressing. It was ranch dressing with blue cheese crumbles. Also tried the corn salad, which had a strange bitter flavor. My husband had the grilled pastrami sandwich, which was tasty but overdone and a tad burnt. Cole slaw was weird, runny and bland. Fries were hot but mushy more than crispy. Just an okay lunch. Had we eaten in the garden, atmosphere might have made up for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach House Grill n' Bar also viewed

 

Been to Coach House Grill n' Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing