We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great bed and breakfast!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great bed and breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed this bed and breakfast. The inn is quaint, clean, and in an excellent location. The innkeeper, Chris, is very friendly and helpful with points of interests in the area. He is also an excellent cook. Breakfast was fresh and delicious!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dackwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
478 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Once all the tourists leave you have the whole town to yourself. Chris and Cane are nice. The house is old so it is charming. It is nicely decorated. You can hear the trains all night so if you are a light sleeper then may be disturbing, but it didn't bother us. Gray and blue rooms share a bathroom. Best thing about it was where it is.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msa23_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We Stayed 3 nights at this lovely cozy B&B in Harpers Ferry. We had the 3rd floor room with the private bath. The bed was incredibly comfortable! Every morning woke up to the view of the Blue Ridge Mountains outside our window. Chris ( the owner) is a fantastic cook and the breakfast's he made - he topped himself each day! He has a wonderful friendly dog who always greets everyone good morning! This is the only B&B that is in the lower part of town which is where everything is located. Just park and walk to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nacho911pennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent two nights @ Stonehouse to relax, explore the history & river area of Harpers Ferry over Easter weekend... Great place to crash right in the old historical section of town / National Park. The park closes down at 5:00 PM & then the quiet of the river & trains lull you to sleep; but not til after a great dinner & ghost tour walking the dim lit streets. As usual, you met the nicest people at B & Bs & Chris, the owner, is a great cook & host: like visiting an old friend.
Hiked the Maryland Heights trail to overlook, went on toured & tasted at Bloomery Distillery in Charles Town, nice eatery places in Harpers Ferry, Shepherd's Town & CharlesTown

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wow...traveling up north with my boyfriend-someone I've known for 30 years, but recently reconnected with. Traveling on Valentine's Day, and looking for someplace historic, rustic, and romantic--in Harpers Ferry, WV. I found a number of nice places, and then came across Stonehouse B&B, and knew immediately that it was where we wanted to stay. An old restored house, with an absolutely fabulous Top Floor...wood floors, old stone walls, and a very interesting, well-informed Inn Keep, and his dog. :) Absolutely Loved it...and planning to return again sometime in the future. Highly recommended. :)

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms at the Stonehouse...the Blue Room, Grey Room, and the Top Floor. The first 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent a lovely three nights at the Stonehouse. It's a beautifully restored house ideally situated in the lower town. Chris is an excellent host--he's a great cook, gave us some good recommendations for the area, and made sure we were nice and warm during our visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Blue Room faces the river, and the Gray Room faces High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a night at Stonehouse during a bike trip from Pittsburgh to DC. This B&B is in a stunning old home right in historic Harpers Ferry. The innkeeper is an interesting young guy with an adorable dog. The room was very modern farmhouse chic, big clawfoot tub in the shared bathroom. Breakfast was hearty and healthy--fresh berries, greek yogurt, pancakes. Great coffee, laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1839, Stonehouse B&B is the only bed and breakfast located in the lower town of Harpers Ferry, WV and the most recent to open. We offer a laid back and relaxing stay in the heart of the historic district and are located the closest to the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers, the Appalachian Trail, C&O canal, the train station, shops, restaurants, ice cream places and Harpers Ferry National Historical Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing