We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool, frosty break from the heat”
Review of Scoops Ice Cream

Scoops Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Harpers Ferry
Price range: $2 - $7
Description: Scoops prides itself as a premium supplier of Ice Cream treats whether it is one or our home made ice cream or our Gold Medal winner soft ice cream. We are so sure that you will love your ice cream we will back it up with a money back guarantee. Your complete menu includes classic items as: • Shakes – made from any of your premium Ice Creams • Sundaes – with a wide range of toppings to choose from • Blizzards – a much thicker version of your Shakes • Floats • Banana splits • Hand Made Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches • Classis Malts • Fresh Baked Cookies • Angus Beef Hot Dogs • Beef and Vige Burgers • Fresh Ground Coffees ( we only use locally roasted coffee beans) • Fresh Made Lemonade ( only made from fresh lemon and Raw Organic Sugar) • Fresh Brewed Ice Tea
Restaurant details
Description: Scoops prides itself as a premium supplier of Ice Cream treats whether it is one or our home made ice cream or our Gold Medal winner soft ice cream. We are so sure that you will love your ice cream we will back it up with a money back guarantee. Your complete menu includes classic items as: • Shakes – made from any of your premium Ice Creams • Sundaes – with a wide range of toppings to choose from • Blizzards – a much thicker version of your Shakes • Floats • Banana splits • Hand Made Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches • Classis Malts • Fresh Baked Cookies • Angus Beef Hot Dogs • Beef and Vige Burgers • Fresh Ground Coffees ( we only use locally roasted coffee beans) • Fresh Made Lemonade ( only made from fresh lemon and Raw Organic Sugar) • Fresh Brewed Ice Tea
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A cool, frosty break from the heat”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A nice, clean, refreshing break from the hills and the heat. The ice cream was yummy. The banana shake was fantastic! I wish I had enough room to try the strawberry shortcake shake.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimmers U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    58
    35
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took a long time to order, because they were out of almost half of there ice creams and toppings. There wasn't an ice cream that especially appealed to me, as a chocolate lover. I ordered a scoop of coffee ice cream with brownie bites on top.

My husband ordered the largest banana split I've ever seen. But he had to get two weird flavors that he did not enjoy together. My father ordered two scoops of different ice creams, but after being told there was one more scoop left of each, was told there actually was none left.

It was expensive, the lowest at $4.00 a scoop.

I would go to Swiss Miss, a few shops down. Better ice cream, better prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good ice cream”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

One of the biggest selling items in Harpers Ferry is ice cream. Scoops Ice Cream is a nice place to get your cravings satisfied.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had been excited to try Scoops as we are huge ice cream fans and try new ice cream shops on every trip. The prices were really high (3.50 for one scoop or a small soft serve and then 6.50-7 for a second!) and the service was very slow (and there wasn't a long line). The hot dogs we had were fine, though my boyfriend's roll fell apart. But the ice cream was just average. I didn't get a lot of sprinkles (I'm used to the beach where they roll the cone in the sprinkles) and the taste of the soft serve was fine, but not wow and then the chocolate chip cone was kind of plain and there were holes near a couple of the chips just large enough for the ice cream to seap out of. His chocolate cookie ice cream sundae wasn't what we were hoping (a cookie at the bottom like a brownie). It was basically just a sundae with a not-chewy cookie stuck in that you couldn't even break with a fork! So everything tasted fine, but we were disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good variety”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Scoops has a good variety of hand-scooped ice cream. They provided discount coupons for passers-by when the power went off.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackFromDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoops Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Scoops Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing