We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”

Harpers Ferry Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpers Ferry Guest House
Ranked #11 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just across the street from the AT office in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Al and Alison were friendly and accommodating. Very comfortable beds and clean rooms. Tasty breakfast nicely presented!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaCreeper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Lovely property with a great breakfast, good location and they are really helpful and friendly people.
We were from the UK and were doing a section hike of the AT from HF to the end of the Shenandoah Park. As we were from the UK we couldn’t bring any supplies into the USA and so they went out of their way to help us kit ourselves out in the short time we were there.
Harpers Ferry is a nice town, small enough to walk around, not far from Washington and with easy access by train (MAC and Amtrack). Its got a bit of history (only a bit as Im from the UK and we have a lot) and so makes a nice day or two stop.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buskerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband did a little research on the B&Bs in Harper's Ferry. We agreed that we were so lucky to have chosen the right one! Not only have they thought of everything that a traveler might need, including any amenity, but between their amazing hospitality and the spacious comfortable, and quiet, peaceful rooms, the stay was better than we could have hoped with. We looked forward to getting back to the room after the various activities we did all day in the area. It allowed us to do just what we needed--to recharge our batteries over a nice weekend. It's worth staying with Al and Alison even if you have no other reason to be at Harper's Ferry.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theofitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20008
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Our hosts were wonderful!!!! Apart from the things that everyone else has said about the B&B, they have their own mini-theater downstairs and make great movie suggestions. Al & Allison were gracious enough to offer us everything we needed to be comfortable and enjoy our time there—and more!

The B&B is right across the street from the Appalachian Trail Conservatory.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwdcresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Al and Alison are wonderful hosts. Al is a fantastic chef and had breakfast ready each morning- amazing blueberry pancakes and fresh fruit were especially wonderful. Rooms were spacious, immaculately clean, and the beds were heavenly soft. I slept so well I almost missed my conference. A short walk to town and centrally located for area attractions, this charming bed and breakfast is the place to stay in Harper's Ferry.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MainerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We arrived on bicycles at about 6:30 PM after a long, hot day. Al and Alison graciously let us store our bikes inside and immediately served us some refreshing watermelon, a nice touch after a long day. Very friendly, great breakfast, can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This wonderful Guest House hosted my twenty-something daughter and me as we redezvoused to hike on the Applachian Trail. I booked the B&B by chance and our stay there became one of the highlights of our weekend. The service was outstanding with our hosts taking a personal interest in our comfort and welfare. It was like staying with family! The accomodations were extremely clean and very comfortable and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. We could not have had a better lodging experience.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo-inOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
825 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers Ferry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Ferry Guest House

Property: Harpers Ferry Guest House
Address: 800 W Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-6910
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing