We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy and Delicious”

Bisou Bistro at The Canal House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in a charming 1790's stone house in historic Harpers Ferry-Bolivar, Our Menu is seasonally changed to offer classic New Orleans Cajun & Creole French cuisine. We focus on, fresh, delicious, local food in a friendly and casual atmosphere. While holding true to our South Louisiana Heritage, we also have developed gluten free and allergy sensitive versions of most items. Owner & Executive Chef Kevin Plunkett, a New Orleans Native and Classically trained French Chef, is passionate about sustainability and supporting local producers whenever possible. Together with his wife Amanda, they have made a commitment to transform a little slice of West Virginia into Cajun Country with a dash of South Louisiana Hospitality and traditional New Orleans fare.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Very happy we chose the Canal House. The service was excellent. Our server was attentive and polite. Food portions were more than enough. The featured dinner was vegetable lasagne made from organic products. It was delicious. My husband favorite strawberry rhubarb cobbler hot with organic vanilla ice cream was excellent and just right in portion. A definite stop in Harpers Ferry.

2  Thank BackMtnDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 355 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had dinner at the Canal House, both of us having the nighty special, pulled beef with cheddar sauce, sweet potatoes & mushrooms. While I enjoyed the sauce & beef, the sweet potatoes were not done, I could barely cut them with a knife, and the mushrooms were non-existant. The sandwiches some of the other patrons were having looked like a better bet. Also, they do not carry any diet drinks, so diabetics must choose between water or tea.

1  Thank tagnrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, Owner at Bisou Bistro at The Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thanks so much for your feedback. We value all of our guests' insights. Please come back again; let us know about your past experience so that we have a chance to make things better for you next time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Open Thursday-Sunday; eat outside of Harpers Ferry if visiting early in the week. There are few decent restaurants open, though that might just be the off season.

This place looks quaint from the outside and based on TripAdvisor reviews, the menu looks decent. Including opening times would be a useful addition to TA.

Thank ibcgg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, Owner at Bisou Bistro at The Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

We plan on expanding our business hours soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

You want a home away from home
When you to Harpers Ferry roam?
Canal House, that will be the spot
And savory all that’s in their pot.

There Ruthie serves with glee and style
She has for every guest a smile;
Cuisine like Mother used to cook
The locals all the tables book.

And while the evening breezes hold
Sitting outside is not too cold -
A pleasure ‘tis for one and all
To sit beneath that ivied wall.

This lovely and historic jewel
That sits itself within a jewel
Cannot yet pour you their fine wine
So BYO or you taste mine.

The Hungry Poet
October 2013

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheHungryPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

First of all, it's BYOB so don't expect a wine menu. The squash soup was good, tasty and cozy but unfortunately followed with salmon that was dry, lifeless and tasteless. The asparagus were too tough to cut or chew. Highlight of the meal is the bread that is served along with your appetizer...it has a biscuit consistency and served warm with butter. Place is small, artsy and the service is fine but the food was overall disappointing.

1  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, Owner at Bisou Bistro at The Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

We are new owners as of April, 2014. We hope that you will give us another chance if you pass through our lovely town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bisou Bistro at The Canal House also viewed

 

Been to Bisou Bistro at The Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing